We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return vacationer, but never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Resort
Ranked #60 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Let me start by saying my first review was deleted because I told the truth about how shady this hotel is. It never used to be. Resort fees are out of this world. $10/day resort fee, parking $15-$18 (valet is extremely rude. Get a parking pass from the city. $21 for a week.) $50 a day for incidentals. No breakfast, no view, no newspaper. Stove didn't work, plugs didn't work, we also couldn't get any fresh towels from room service unless we let them in. She was rude and shady. Checking in, out and asking questions, the employees were all very rude. Breakfast used to be free, not any more! No one cared about out complaints or concerns. Like I said we have stayed here before when none of this was a problem. never again. never. High way robbery! don't stay here. you will go broke.

Room Tip: make sure everything in your room works. and if you pay for a view, make sure you get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollywoodpalms1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Be careful what you are booking! Looks like the same as Historic Hollywood Beach Resort but it is NOT! Bedside light in our room did not work. Thermostat in room did not work. We were told to shut the breaker off and if we got hot to turn it back on (leaving us to believe that this had been brought to their attention before), but the problem was that the room was freezing and we could not adjust the heat up. Tried to warm the room with the oven in the room, but it didn't work. Tried to warm it with the stove burners and they too didn't work, only made the room smell like gas. We booked an ocean view room and were given a side room that overlooked the neighboring hotels pool and beyond that (if you looked at an angle) you could see the ocean. The free continental breakfast that we received was the worst excuse for a breakfast ever. We walked out one door and into the next (same building) and it was the Historic Hollywood Beach Resort. Got a room almost identical the one we were in but for $80.00 less per night which had a full on direct view of the ocean and... EVERYTHING worked. When we complained to the Cruise Port side we were not offered any type of discount for our inconvenience and were pretty much told...sorry about your luck! It is very deceiving how they are advertising this. Its seemed to us like the owner of the entire facility was farming out sections of the place to different companies just to keep the place open, and some of the compainies care about thier guests where others are just stealing your money, and the Cruise Port side, in my opinion, is just stealing your money!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 758jamiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Overall We were very happy with our stay. People need to be realistic with what they expect- We used to stay at 4 star hotels but my income fell apart when the economy dropped in 2008 so our family has learned to live with less. This is an old hotel, The rooms are a little dated but the A/C worked fine, it was clean, the bed was good and the location was great-there are several things on the boardwalk that you can walk too. The beach is cllean and nice. You can buy food at the local market and fix meals in your room. I think it is a very good value-the only reason I didn't give them a top score is because some kids had removed all the pins from the exercise equipment in the work out room so I couldn't get in my daily workout. We will stay at this hotel again in the future.
Mark from indiana

Room Tip: Ask that they check your room prior to staying-make sure you get in an e-mail from the hotel that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We flew in a day early for our cruise and were booked into this hotel by our travel agent.
It was an absolute disgrace and at first it was shock/horror that we were in this place then that changed to laughter as we saw more and more laughable features of this dump. We got charged an additional "hotel fee" of $10 on check-in that should be included in the rate if it is required to pay. They also charge a hold fee of another $30 to your credit card for the room cards, beach towel cards and a plastic bag they put them in.
Two check in desks - rude staff at both and, although quoted as being "a refurbished ocean-view room" it looked like it had not been updated in years (in case anyone denies this review I have photo's of flaking ceiling, stained floor, rusty/chipped bathtub, filthy closet, non-functioning clock, etc).
It was 10 pm when we got there (having been travelling since morning) and had already paid so cancelling and finding alternate accommodations was not an option. Not a good night's sleep since the fridge and a/c system took turns in making strange, and loud, noises.
In the morning were told that the included breakfast was not really included so had to pay for a barely passable breakfast.
Went outside and saw non-functioning "water features" on the way through the hotel - most were filled with all sorts of garbage and the gardens outside were simply beds of weeds (again have photo's).
The only saving grace is the close proximity to the beach where we were able to paddle in the Atlantic in April at 0800 in the morning.
The final straw was when transferring to the Cruise port with 6 other passengers we were stopped by the Sheriff at the port entrance because the driver (who also appeared to be the "concierge") did not have a 'hack licence'. Only out of the goodness of the Sheriff's heart was he allowed to proceed to the ships but was told not to come back without the appropriate licence.
Overall we had to laugh because it was so bad - at least once onboard our cruise ship we forgot all about it for the duration of our cruise but now feel obliged to warn others about this godforsaken place.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Although I'm sure this was once a lovely, grand hotel (the corridors had a touch of the 'shinning' about them) the owners have not paid a penny on maintenance and as such the place looks like somewhere a public service would place the homeless or destitute. We did not even drink a coffee in the place let alone the 'continental breakfast'. The room was shabby but functional- we stayed there just before getting the cruise- it however was still a 20min/ 40usd cab fare. If there are alternatives- take them!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Unfortunately the many negative reviews we read (after booking this room) were true. The place is run down condition over all with very dirty carpeting in halls and a dark dingy feel. They do not make it clear when making reservations about several things. PARKING is in a garage and fee is additional $15 per day. I understand being close to the beach that many other people may want to use this garage, but this should be included for hotel guests. We entered the elevator in parking area to look up and find a really disgusting vent with thick dust and grime that looks as if it hasn't been cleaned in years. We were redirected to a separate hotel check in upon arrival. We get charged an additional "hotel fee" of $10 on check-in that should be included in the rate if it is required to pay. They also charge a hold fee of another $30 to your credit card for the room cards, beach towel cards (only 2 for a family of 4), and the little plastic bag they put them in. The fees are returned when you bring it back to check out. We had requested an extra cot ($15 fee that we did know about and agreed to pay in advance) for our reservation and it was not in our room, so we had to call down to see if they had one for us. Again, directed from the main desk to a separate area (run by separate company) and the gentleman working was polite, but alone, and stated he had to wait for his last customer to check in before he could locate a cot for us. It was already nearly 1 am. So we did get the cot at 1:30, but it arrived with no blanket or pillow. We politely asked for a blanket and never did get one. Our room was okay, looked like the photos on the website, and seemed in much better condition than other areas. I have no specific complaints about the room itself, other than to be aware this is a historic hotel, which means that there will not be enough electrical outlets to use a medical CPAP, and charge your devices at the same time if you have more than 2 people in your room.

My last issue was with the breakfast. When you search a hotel website for reservations for a family of 4 that includes breakfast, and find out upon check in that your continental breakfast includes only two tickets and additional tickets will be approximately another $7 each, it certainly is not an acceptable finding. We decided to wait before buying additional tickets to see if it was worth it. Continental breakfast was cereal, toast, danish, stale plain bagels, and coffee. Nothing that would have broke the bank for the hotel to allow the additional 2 members of our family to have breakfast. Very glad we did not buy extra tickets so we could put that money to a real breakfast somewhere else. So overall, with the extra fees we incurred adding up to nearly $50, I WOULD RECOMMEND SPENDING THAT MONEY AT A NICER HOTEL THAT IS HONEST ABOUT THE COST UP FRONT. I am very thankful we only booked one night here. The next place we stayed at was half the price with no hidden fees. This hotel is hardly a resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricAngie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I do not know where to start!!! This was the absolute worst hotel i have ever stayed in in my life. I would only stay here if it were the last room in all of hollywood.
First things first there are two check inns. The main one in the main lobby of the hotel will help you with NOTHING!!!! They wouldn't even tell me where the breakfast was located. All they would say is, "I do not work for that part of the hotel." Really!!! all i want to know is where the breakfast is located. So after waiting in the check in line for one we found out we were at the wrong one. You would think that if this were a continuing problem they would post a sign or something to help.
The hotel(s) have coin laundry but have no change machines, ANYWHERE!!!!! Neither front desk would help with the finding of quarters. They actually told me i should get in my car and go to the nearest arcade to get quarters. Really!!!! What hotel with good customer service sends their guest elsewhere to get what they need. How about treating us like a valued customer and finding us some flipping quarters.
Next you have to load into the worst smelling elevators which have inspection reports in them that expired two years ago. WOW!!!! Someone call the elevator cops!!!!
The hallways are freezing cold and in need of some new carpet.
The pool closes at 7pm!!! And the hot tub produces no bubbles.
At check in they want you to take a room key holder lanyard. Then they make you sign a waiver saying that you will pay $10 if you fail to return it. REALLY!!!! How pathetic.
You have to pay for parking every day!!!!!!
Breakfast is worse that the one you get at the Motel 6!!!!
The bathroom, where do i start. Toilets that were built for hobbits, shower heads at chest height, old school three handle shower water temperature handles. the air vent in the bathroom was so full of lent that it would come out in patches when you opened and closed the door.
Traveler beware, stay somewhere else. Both I and the person i was traveling with commented that this would be the first and last time we stay here. The kids even mentioned how much it sucked!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatherRON859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
1.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#37 of 72 in Hollywood
278 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#30 of 72 in Hollywood
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#24 of 72 in Hollywood
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Resort

Address: 101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-1728 (Formerly Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £47 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hollywood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Resort Cruise Port Hotel Hollywood
Ramada Hollywood Beach Hotel
Ramada Hollywood Beach Resort
Hollywood Ramada
Hollywood Beach Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing