We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Downs and the Bougainvillea
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa
1 review
“Wonderful Christmas vacation”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We loved Sea Downs . Our room was fantastic,amazing view, very clean and comfortable. We stayed in one bedroom,and loved it. Manager Claudia went above and beyond to make our stay an unforgettable time. She also has her husband Karl,Miss Leslie,Trudy and Sue helping her make our stay complete. What a wonderful way to spend our Christmas vacation. Thanks to all of you

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    28
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
63
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krun, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

From the very first beginning we were looking forward to our first vacations alone. After the arrival the herzog family invited us really friendly and lovely and we had a warm welcome. Our vacation apartment was simply awesome and had everything we needed. The service of the employees was always helpfull and friendly... we also get some insider advices where to eat or go the best and this made our summer vacations pretty spectacular. We will never forget our trip to Hollywood, Florida. The beach was as close as you could possibly think of and also the evenings were always a new highligh. The beach promenade includes some really nice restaurants, sport activities, bars and live music acts. Everything we made was a new adventure... seeing Flipper, watching football and baseball live or a trip to disney world, orlando.
All in all we can say that this were the best vacations we ever had. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This (fully furnished) apartment style rental was just like home (if not nicer. I don't get fresh towels at home everyday....except on Sunday service ;-) Debbie/GM was SO hospitable. Its got all the conveniences (microwave, oven, pots & pans...full kitchenette.). Walk outside and you are 20ft from sand & beach; a less than quarter mile from restaurants & shops. If you don't like sea water the pool is right next to the office. I AM DEFINANTLY COMING BACK HERE....THANKS DEBBIE :-)

Room Tip: If possible ask for an upstairs unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for almost a week in a one bedroom unit. It was the perfect setting for our vacation. The Bougainvillea was so quiet and peaceful. Steps to the beautiful beach and fun Broadwalk. It was nice to have the kitchen as an option for meals. We enjoyed using the outdoor grill and patio for most meals. The most amazing part was how quiet it was. At times it was like having our own personal beach and pool. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. We are already thinking of returning next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soleilshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My family, including myself, husband and our preschool aged daughter, stayed in the Bougainvillea for a week mid July. We stayed in the 1 bedroom apt. with a futon and absolutely loved it. The property itself was very clean and quiet. It was nice not having people running around all hours of the night or out in the pool screaming like you often hear in a hotel. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. We like to stay in nice places, but also don't like to pay lots of money for amenities we will not be using. The property looks like it has been updated recently and is very nice. Some of the other places around the Broadwalk were more expensive and charged for everything from internet service to parking while being more expensive and where not right off the beach. The best part is you are less than a block from the bleach. We absolutely loved our stay and will visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I pray the landlords maintain their fine standard of keeping unmanageable children, noisy boorish guests, and other general riff-raff away from this place because everything else about it: service, cleanliness, parking, location, is perfect.

Please, if you think the world revolves around yourself and you have the right to be idiots, don't come here, you'll ruin it for the rest of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoshuaMConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I frequent Hollywood beach about 4-7 times a year. We have stayed at several different properties at various times....including the #1 rated property. Truth be told we feel this is, without question, THE best of the bunch. We are referring to "Sea Downs" which is directly on the Broadwalk, and beach front. (Bougainvellea has same owners yet not beach front....different property all together) The rooms all have ocean views. Very clean (Sue, house keeper terrific). Beds very comfy, a/c worked great. Kitchen very nicely equipped, GREAT coffee maker. Room quiet at night, no noise from activity on the Broadwalk. Location can't be beat. Close enough to the main drag and hub of activity should you desire ....or far enough away to be at the quieter part of the beach. You can walk in a short time to get to any part of Broadwalk or ride a bike. The outdoor patio area is lovely. Great tables and loungers to relax. Enough room for all of the quests. In addition,each room has an outdoor table and two chairs should you crave a bit more privacy. Sea Downs provides beach chairs and umbrellas for the guests. The owner was kind enough to bring us an umbrella as when we arrived they were all in use. A very kind gesture. Nothing is provided, other than small bars of soap, as far as toiletries go.......which is smart. So bring your own stuff. Also nothing provided as far as coffee, paper towels and so forth in your kitchen (other places do provide these things). No big deal as these things are easy to obtain two seconds away, at a reasonable cost should you desire them. They do however provide dish towels for washing of glasses, cups etc. The pool is a plus.....right behind the property... clean, nice temperature, loungers. The owners are on site, which is a plus. They are great. We loved the fact that they were in the vicinity yet they were not vying for everyone's attention, as we have found in the past (at another property)....which was a major turn off for us.
We certainly look forward to future visits at this property. It is obvious from the moment you arrive at the property the owners truly care about the guests and the property.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbbyBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
WalkAbout Beach Resort
WalkAbout Beach Resort
#14 of 71 in Hollywood
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#29 of 71 in Hollywood
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#23 of 71 in Hollywood
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 71 in Hollywood
717 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marine Villas
Marine Villas
#15 of 71 in Hollywood
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Downs and the Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Downs and the Bougainvillea

Property: Sea Downs and the Bougainvillea
Address: 2900 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3704
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sea Downs (And The Bougainvillea) Hotel Hollywood
Sea Downs And The Bougainvillea Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing