We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta love the Manta Ray”
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Waterville, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You gotta love the Manta Ray”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Fantastic location. Clean rooms and friendly people.
Their lawn ends and the beach starts.
Good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
So happy that you enjoyed the best kept secret in Hollywood! When you return you will find an additional gas grill for easier grilling and a few more tables so you can relax with that cocktail and enjoy the sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    34
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
128
151
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2011

We've stayed here 3 or 4 years in a row now. We love the peace and quiet, but yet not being far from the Broadwalk. We prefer smaller places as opposed to large high rises, or being closed inside air conditioned rooms. Nice accomodations with kitchens, (and yes, they are air conditioned, but also have windows if you like the fresh air), fantastic staff, nice beach with lounge chairs, patio with grill available. If you're looking for a place to go and relax on the beach, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 369keywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
All ways a pleasure to have you at the Manta Ray Inn and we definitely look forward to your next
visit with us. The Manta Ray Inn staff love to have you and so until the next getaway take care!
Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

My family has been staying at the Manta Ray for several years. When we arrive, it feels like we are "coming home". The location is fantastic- our room is only about 30 steps to the beach! Lots of lounge chairs at the beach, as well as a heated pool across a small lane way. There is a BBQ and tables, so you can enjoy what you barbecued while gazing out at the ocean and palm trees!

This family -run business aims to please their guests- Donna, Dwayne and Thomas host a BBQ for their guests periodically over the season. The food is delicious and this is a great way to meet "your neighbours". Gerry, the housekeeper, is hard-working- it is always a pleasure to see him each year. A newspaper is delivered to your door each morning for you to enjoy while you have your morning coffee (or tea!). There is free Internet in each room, free parking, and on-site laundry facilities. For families with young children, there is an assortment of shovels and pails for the kids to use. The hotel is within walking distance to the board-walk- a great way to keep up your exercise.

We love the Manta Ray and hope to return for many years!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavestoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
By now I bet you are missing the Manta Ray Inn and although spring has sprung up north it is not 90 degrees! We miss you all already and cannot wait until your return, stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Great superior small lodging with an outstanding view. The place was cleaned daily by a very busy and hardworking gentleman. Beach towels were provided every day and a newspaper was delivered every morning. The sunrise each morning was spectacular. The owners had a barbecue one night for all the guests which was a wonderful way to meet others who were staying there. Our room had two bedrooms, each with a private bathroom. There was a small kitchen and a living room with rattan furniture. It was a perfect getaway from the snow and cold in the North. The owners were very accommodating and made everyone feel right at home. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relaxed321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
246 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Spent a week with my wife at the Manta Ray. Weather was superb for February, and being directly on the beach doesn't hurt. Mgmt is very accommodating, but Hollywood is not a very lively town.

Only negatives were:
- No A/C in the living area!? and the bedroom A/C annoyingly kicks completely on/off throughout the night rather than leaving the fan on, and just starting/stopping the compressor. Not conducive to a light sleeper.
- Floors are all ceramic tile, so when the folks above you begin dragging things around at 0630, you're up as well
- Some of the workmanship (tile, molding, caulk, etc) was evidently done by a do-it-yourself novice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbojbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed the fabulous weather at the Manta Ray Inn on your getaway!
The beach definitely was unbelievably beautiful while you were here and so rest and relaxation was a must. We are looking a different A/C options to make your next stay with us more comfortable although if you had mentioned the noise factor when you were with us we could have suggested that you leave the A/C on the non-energy save cylce so it would not go on and off during the night and disturb your sleep. For another stay with us I would suggest that you request the second floor instead of the ground level. The ground level is all in ceramic tile but the second floor apartments are carpeted so reduce the noise level. As a light sleeper we will make a note for your next stay to make sure that you are on the second floor with no one above you. Also the view on the second floor is great! We definitely will be looking to make corrections so that you can enjoy your next getaway! Thanks for the information and comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

this is our 4th year at the manta ray and we return each year (and plan to continue to return) because it is a wondeful, relaxing, quiet, small and personalized place. the owners (donna, duane), the manager (tom) and the housekeeper (gerald) go out of their way to all make everyone's stay very comfortable and enjoyable. the beach at the manta ray is beautiful, quiet and clean and the sunrises are spectacular! hollywood is a charming paradise in south florida - it's like old florida probably used to be.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverABeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
We miss the two of you already! You missed another great cook out where Dwayne out did himself! Great fun was had by all and we really missed having the two of you. Gerry is sorry that you are gone home to shoveling snow but we look forward to having you back with us next January and do hope that we are going to get the opportunity to meet the newest addition to your family after his or her debut this summer. There is always laundry to be folded so if you feel lonely come back and help us out!! The beach is looking particularly beautiful this week with very low tide. I have never seen it so low but it is awesome and the kids are having a wonderful time play in the ocean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This place is perfectly located in Hollywood. It is literally on the beach and a short stroll away (under 10 mins) to Hollywoods lovely boardwalk. Where you will find a great choice of places to eat, drink and soak up the atmosphere this quaint town has to offer. We stayed here before joining a Cruise from Fort Lauderdale and it was just right. We fell straight into holiday mode and were completely relaxed. The Inn is extremely comfortable and Donna who owns it is very friendly, it really is a home from home. It has everything you need including a nice large flat screen TV, kitchenette and the beds are so comfortable I did not want to get up!

I thoroughly enjoyed the Manta Ray Inn and would recommend it to couples, friends and families. It has a great outdoor space where you can chill out in the evenings and a BBQ which you can use. It is therefore fantastic if you are on a budget or as I mentioned earlier so close to the restaurants and bars if you want to go out. It really has everything you need to enjoy this lovely beach front location, beach towels and chairs are also provided. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did and we are hoping to go back in the future!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie_Budgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Manta Ray Inn. We definitely miss you already and hope that you will return to our "home away from home". Our guests are like family and we definitely appreciate all you do for us and wish you were here to enjoy the sun, fun and happy hour with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
1,525 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
701 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Property: Manta Ray Inn
Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel
Manta Ray Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing