We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These people have it right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“These people have it right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Sadly, we were only able to stay one night on our way south. However, this was long enough to form an opinion. Nice staff, thoughtful touches, clean and great location on the beach. I only hope that they stay and don't sell out to some giant high rise, as we'd love to come back some day for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Can't speak for the others, but 101 was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeypants08205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Wow!! We are so happy that you enjoyed your very, very, very short stay with us and hope that the next time you will make the Manta Ray Inn your final destination so that we can really show you some very old fashion hospitality!! Stay in touch and come back as soon as you can!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    34
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
126
150
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our first visit to the Manta Ray and hopefully will be the first of many more to come. We were pleasantly surprised to find this homey location further enough away from the broadwalk to be quiet, but close enough to walk there. We had a second floor apartment with an excellent view. Almost every room has a great view as far as I can tell.

The best thing is being right on the beach. Waking up to the sunrise with the first cup of coffee of the day and spending the day at the beach were the best! Having a cocktail at night overlooking the ocean isn't shabby either!

The owners and staff were wonderful! Great hospitality and very welcoming! They tried to make us all feel like we were a part of the Manta Ray family. The guests were great and it was nice to meet and chat with folks, most who have been coming annually for years. The only downside to this is I'm afraid we won't have a room to stay in come next year because the competition is so stiff!

I researched many locations, and this one of the very few who had daily housekeeping, a free parking space, beach towels and chaise lounges, and free wifi. You can eat out or stay at home and cook on the grill or in your own kitchenette. The management organizes a "hot dog lunch" weekly for the guests and an occasional courtyard cookout in the evening, which unfortunately we were going to miss because we had to go home ( to the cold, snow and wind).

I hope we are fortunate enough to visit and stay again next year. I already miss the warm sunshine, sound of the waves, and swaying palm trees! Hope to see you all again next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
It was lovely to have you stay with us and get to know another part of the new Manta Ray Inn Family!! Perhaps you will hit it right next time and there will be a barbeque!! Please remind us as you check in so we can see if we can make it happen. Having such wonderful and easygoing guests really makes our job a lot of fun and the staff were thrilled to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Our fourth stay at Manta Ray Inn and once again everything exceeded out expectations. Beach is perfect, apartment is clean and well-furnished, staff is competent and friendly, Broadwalk is close with all the restaurants and tempting activities. We'll be back again next year. It's our home away from the cold north.

Room Tip: second floor looking out on the beautiful beach is our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Well it was another great year and it is so important to all of us here at the Manta Ray Inn to hear that we "exceeded" your expectations again this year! Always some type of surprise in store for
part of our Manta Ray Inn Family! We miss you already and everyone is counting the months until your return!! Keep in touch and stay warm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Manta Ray was recommended by another inn owner who couldn't accomodate our request. What a little gem. Beautiful beachfront units that are immaculate and well maintained. We arrived when they were having a pizza party for two of the families who were leaving and had been there for weeks. Everyone was friendly and helpful and welcoming. Just sorry we were only there for two nights and didn't have more time to spend there. Donna, Dwayne & Thomas really made sure we felt at home. Thank you so much for all your hospitality. We enjoyed...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 869JAM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We are so happy that you found the Manta Ray Inn and that we lived up to your expectations! It is always fun to have new guests stay with us and meet our return guests that are now more like family and that is why we say that the Manta Ray Inn family just keeps growing and we hope that you now feel part of that family!!! There is nothing that pleases us more than to put a smile on the face of a weary traveler! Thank you for sharing your very short getaway with us and we hope that you will return for a longer stay next time!!! Keep in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee, wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great place. Great Location. Great management. Leave your worries behind. This is the place to be. Rooms are very comfortable. Casual. Cleaned every day. Kitchen. Living area. Bedroom. 25 feet from the ocean beach. Just step out your door. We have been here now several years and we plan to go back this year once again. The family that owns and operates Manta Ray Inn are very nice. Easy to be with. Always concerned about their guests. Very friendly and very professional. I could go on and on but won't. Do yourself a favor and make reservations now for 2014.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bethjehudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Wow, it will not be long until you are back again!!! The Manta Ray Inn family misses you and we definitely miss the joy that you bring to our little piece of paradise! Hurry back so we can relax and catch up!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our first visit to the Manta Ray but won't be our last. We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor before renting which all gave it 5 stars.
Now we know why.
Perfect location for quiet time but close enough to the broadwalk for dining/entertainment.
Very clean and well maintained.
Just steps to the ocean with easy access to chairs/tables.
The other guests were so kind that we felt like we were meeting up with friends.
And the owners & staff, what can we say; except they were great!!! And we have reserved a time for next year.
Howie & Wanda H

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkOne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
The pleasure was all ours!!! It is so nice to have people come and join in to our Manta Ray Inn family. You really got that everyone likes everyone and that it is very laid back and we are here to take the worry out of your vacation and pamper you if we possibly can. I am passing your comments on to the staff because the Manta Ray Inn team really has turned into something really special and so it makes it easy to have great people such as yourselves stay with us. Cannot wait until your return, stay in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Glens Falls, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My Family and I have been staying at the Manta Ray for the last 6 years, I just could not imagine being any were else. It's like coming home for a visit. We started out with a 2 week stay and are at 4 weeks now. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the Boucher Family and their staff go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as they can. The get togethers provided by Donna. And Dwayne are so much fun and a great way to get to know the other guest, we have made so many friends that we are in touch with throughout the year. And then there is the Beach you just open your door and there it is... My Family and I truly believe that the Manta Ray Inn is THE BEST ON THE BEACH!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and have a great view of the Beach but my favorite room is 106 because I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Well now that you are up to four weeks and it is almost at a close I think you should consider five next year!! You definitely need a little more sun and relaxation and we know the track will miss your other half soooo much!! We are blessed to have such wonderful people become part of our Manta Ray Inn family and so it is great to hang out and enjoy your company!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#7 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Property: Manta Ray Inn
Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel
Manta Ray Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing