We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful treat!”
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2007

We (two couples) were going to visit Hollywood and Ft. Lauderdale for
a quick overnight trip. I read the reviews of Manta Ray and was impressed with the description. I called that morning for an arrival in about three hours, hoping they had something available. Luckily our trip was mid-week, off-season and in the summer so they had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom oceanfront available for us. The rate was $189 a night - which is a great price since we were splitting the cost with another couple. What a pleasant surprise. Thomas (the owner's son?) greeted us in the office, registered us and then escorted us to our 2nd floor room (what a great view) to make sure everything was in good order. When he noticed that the bed in the second guest room had not been pushed together to make one large bed (since we are a couple) he immediately sent his maintenance guy to remedy the situation. The room is great - very clean with a full kitchen. Both bathrooms appear to be recently renovated and were spotless. I can easily see families staying here for a week or more. The hotel is right on the beach and has all kinds of beach amenities available for use by the hotel guests (beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc.). There is even a gas grill and outdoor tables. We are planning to make another trip to explore Hollywood and will definitely stay at
the Manta Ray again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Manta Ray Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2007

I wanted to reward my son for graduating from college and for his acceptance into med school. I decided to fly my family of five to Florida for a week. We love the Hollywood area as it has been a favorite spot to stay for years but we have never stayed at the Manta Ray until now. We stayed in room 201, a two bed apartment with an excellent view of the ocean. The apartment was well decorated and cozy. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The beach was outstanding. In fact we went to South Beach only to be dissappointed, it did not hold a candle to Manta Ray's beach. We enjoyed having a reserved parking space. We were close enough to the Broadwalk we did not have to move the car. This is our new home in Hollywood.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ramoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2007

If you want to see what you are getting visit their web page --- what you see is what you get. The location is excellent as it is located off the broadwalk, thereby very quiet—yet close enough to walk to all amenities. If you plan to use the kitchen facilities and do not have a car the convenience stores within walking distance do not offer much selection. The restaurants along the broadwalk provided a good selection of food however don’t overlook the restaurants along the inter waterway ---especially the bakery. We found it interesting that from the minute you arrive everyone knows you are the newcomers. Many guests have been coming to the MantaRay for years which in itself speaks for the location and friendliness of this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank T_L_VernonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Manta Ray for 4 days during a recent business trip to Florida. We booked it because it was right on the beach and had gotten an excellent rating in TripAdvisor. We weren't disappointed. The suite was clean, large and had a refrigerator, bar, TV and nice beds. The only room problem we had was the shower, which sprayed out limply even at the highest setting.
The surf was rough after our first day, because a tropical storm was passing over the Carribean, but that was bad luck--the beach was wonderful. The hotel was close to downtown Hollywood, where we needed to be, and easy to find. It doesn't have it's own pool, but shares one with the hotel behind it, and we swam there quite a bit. Nobody asked for ID at the pool--it's a laid-back area.
The hotel does have a few problems. There's nobody there at night, so if there's a problem you have to use a phone. We did so our second night, when we came back to the hotel and somebody was parked in our assigned space. The hotel was full, and no other spaces were open. So I called Thomas, the manager, and he came over promptly and fixed the problem, but it was still a nuisance. More seriously, the man who changes the beds came over twice while we were on the beach in the morning and HADN'T yet put out our "ready to clean" sign. The first time he came in my wallet and my wife's purse were in clear view on the bed. Nothing was missing but I was quite annoyed.
Since the business we came down to take care of was extremely stressful, we needed some relaxation to balance it out, and picked the right place. These small, family run beach hotels may not be around too much longer in areas that have been "discovered" by big developers, so we should enjoy them while they are here!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowrefugees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2006

This place was wonderful!!! From the minute I called ,I got great directions from the one of the family members to our arrival. He walked us around to make sure we were happy. We stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday night. This place could not be any cleaner. Friday night after we checked in , we went down to South Beach just to drive around and look at the old buildings. When we came back to the hotel, it was fun to watch the families that were staying at the hotel. There is a grill and patio setting that encouraged an old family style. Saturday we walked to the boardwalk, minutes away. When it started to rain, we went back to our room which was very comfortable during the rain (I was born and raised in Hollywood and I came back to reminise. You are in Florida, it always rains in the summer about 3:00, plan on it) But when it quit, we drove up to Fort Lauderdale and hung out at the Las Olas area. We came back to the hotel, grilled dinner, went to the boardwalk afterwards. Came back early about 9:00 and took chairs,a small table and a bottle of wine down to the water and again the family atmosphere was great. My husband and I are in our 50's and we still like being around kids, so it was fun to watch the kids Sunday we got up early to do a last bike ride up and down the boardwalk, came in late for check out but the owner's son was great. We can not wait for our next visit!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beachdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2006

My son and I just spent 4 nights at the Manta Ray over Mother's day weekend. We had a room on the second floor. The room was decorated nicely and it was spacious with the living room, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The view of the ocean is beatiful and the beach is nice. Good for swimming, sitting and long walks. The staff was friendly.
From the chairs outside your room it is a side ocean view not a front view. There are however beach chairs facing the ocean at the back of the motel. The place was kept clean. The bathroom was a bit small and sort of had a slight sulphur odor. The beds were comfortable. Air conditioning is only in the bedroom so leave the door open so the whole place can be cooled.

Only complaint about housekeeping was every morning they forgot to give us our package of coffee and I had to keep asking.

In the yard you can barbecue and there is a tree full of parrots which was quite nice. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Hollywood Boardwalk and not a far drive from restaurants.

The place is very low key and relaxing. It is not fancy but comfrortable. The price is right. Parking is right there with no extra charge.

I would definitely stay there again.

PS. It was nice sitting on the lounge chair as dusk and looking at the ocean but beware of mosquitos - I got bitten up.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindafromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Westwood, MA
11
Reviewed 20 April 2006

We just returned, having spent 6 nights in the Manta Ray. Children swam, placed soccer, watched free movies - couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
1.5 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marine Villas
Marine Villas
#15 of 71 in Hollywood
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £154 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel
Manta Ray Inn Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing