We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, modern hotel with good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here for three nights in November. The room is large, there is a microvawe owen and fridge in the room. Room service even did the dishes.

The pool area is exceptional for this range of hotel. Pool service serves all the dishes of the restaurant.

I am a Platinum guest at Crwone Plaza and thus got free valet parking and an upgrade for the room (better view, but similar rooms I believe). We had a marvellous view over the pool area and waterway including draw bridge.Thank you!

Breakfast was, for this category of hotel, below expectations. I compare it to Crowne Plaza Key west, which is substantially better. Then again, I am European, and my idea of a good breakfast is not the average American's idea of a good breakfast. However, there is a 7 eleven next door, so no problem fixing your own breakfast.

Staff were very kind and friendly. then again, I never have any issues with hotel staff. And I often wonder why others have. Then again, I am still European and have perhaps low expectations on service, whereas Americans have higher expectations???

All in all, a VERY good hotel. We paid 180 $ incl. breakfast, and as a Platinum guest we got some free extras.

On the negative side, it is far from South Beach. Some 30 minutes by car at least. Then again, similar hotels on South Beach are more expensive.

Room Tip: A corner room such as 514, 614, etc. offers a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSnowSto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Dear SunSnowSto,

I love the European comments on the breakfast and service expectations :)
I'm glad to hear that you were pleased with the hotel and received the great amenities as a Platinum member with Priority Club.
I wish we would have known you wanted to be closer to South Beach so we could have inform you of the distance prior to your arrival but it sounds like you enjoyed Hollywood Beach just the same. I hope we'll see you the next time your in the States from Sweden. We'll have to save you one of those rooms with the great view!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,785 - 1,791 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Went there for a conference nearby. Spacious room and bathroom, always clean, decent breakfast and dinner. Efficient reception staff.
Free Internet connection but too slow, specialy late at night.
Some problems with expenses wrongly added to account, but quickly corrected by front desk.
Will come back any time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmbcouto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear jmbcouto,

Thank you for the positive review and it's great to hear we were able to make the business trip pleasurable :) Your tips on the internet will be relayed to our Executive team.
We'll see you soon!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Having stayed in 4 - 5 star hotels across Europe and North America, I arrived at this hotel straight from a high end hotel in NY Times Square. I was here for 13 nights in November. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. There are huge postives. Rooms are spacious with good self-catering facilities. Delightful, huge and warm swimming pool with superb views of canals and boats cruising by. There is a nice beach 5 mins walk across from the hotel. The hotel was ALWAYS clean, and the staff excellent. Our room was changed on request to a quiet room, and the Latino concierge (I forget his name) was superb. He found me stamps for some mail to Europe, called the post office to confirm the postage was correct, and called me on the beach to verify that my numerous letters/packages had been sent !!!. I plan to return !!

The few gripes I read about this hotel before booking all turned out to be a bit overblown. The restaurant is over-priced but the food is nice. There are numerous shops, pharmacies and restaurants within 10 - 20 minutes walk or a $5-10 taxi ride. I walked all the time in pleasant autumnal sunshine. You walk through the large lobby to/from the pool which is good for checking out hotties but bad for large bellies!!! It is not a high end 4**** hotel and you do get a mixed crowd from professionals to handy men. That is reflective of the excellent value. If they added a little bit fancy wallpaper, thick carpets and gold trimmings they could charge 2 -3 times the current rates. My main gripe was Holywood beach. A huge let down in comparison to my home beachfront - Venice, Manhattan, Santa Monica, and Malibu in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcao c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear falcao c,

Hopefully you will stay with us again just so we can read another one of your reviews :)
Thank you very much for the great feedback and the special mention of the concierge service. They are definitely key players here and it's always nice when their service is recognized.
Your comment on the walk through the lobby from the pool was hilarious! You definitely cannot compare Hollywood Beach to Malibu but I'm glad you enjoyed Hollywood anyway :)
We'll see you soon!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This was a combined holiday and business trip. Corner room was spacious with microwave, fridge and coffee maker.No bathtub and the sink was in the bedroom, inconvenient if your partner wants to sleep in! Pool was lovely, except to get to it you had to walk through the lobby. The problem being that after spending an hour at the pool, the lobby, and floors were frigid. We wore our robes but both ended up with colds.Took advantage of the "early bird" special after a long flight. Amazed to find the exact same menu 10 days later. The best meals were the chicken on ciabatta roll and the club sandwich.The water taxi stops at the hotel ( nice day on the Intercoastal) and a $1 trolley can take you down to a tacky beach boardwalk. Front staff were helpful but do not change $100. bills so bring change. A short taxi ride to Billy's Stone Crab restaurant which was a real treat.as was the water taxi ride to Los Almos and to " Les Bonne Crepes" for an amazing lunch.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a corner room with 2 balconies,you will get the sun at some point. It will cost m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear MarilynBurrows,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the chance to address any concerns with your stay and will review your comments with my management team.
Hopefully we'll see both of you soon. We'll save you a corner room :)

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I have been at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach on November. Having booked it through Priceline, I called the hotel to ask for a king bed, as it was our wedding anniversary. I also asked for a quiet room, and all our requirements were met.

Pros:

- Front Desk is efficient;
- The hotel is very clean and well- maintained;
- The rooms are very quiet, one of the quietest hotels I've ever been to;
- Rooms are large, which makes you feel comfortable.
- There's a microwave and a refrigerator in the room, which makes things easier, considering that eating at the hotel is expensive.
- The location is good, provided you have a car. It's very close to a Walmart, to Aventura Mall, and to many stores, such as Marshalls, Burlington Coat Factory, etc
- There's a very nice pool area.
- There's free wi-fi at the rooms (very convenient).

Cons:
- The concierge service, well, you cannot call it a service, but it's there... if you have any question you might, eventually, get any answers;
- Parking is expensive (in Miami parking is always expensive anyway). The self-service parking lot, which we chose, is a bit far from the hotel entrance, and there isn't a close elevator for you to access the hotel. In a rainy day (we faced many), be prepared and carry an umbrella.
- Food is expensive. Our rate didn't have breakfast included. One day we decided to order it from the hotel and found it extremely expensive. The following days, we decided to buy our stuff, instead.
- The beach is not exactly conveniently located... you have to cross the street, cross a narrow patch, and you'll get to a stretch of the beach (which is not a very interesting stretch. Prefer the Broadwalk Stretch instead). Take your things with you, otherwise you'll have to pay for facilities (you have to pay for everything!).

All in All, we considered it a very nice hotel, even considering the cons above mentioned.
We would come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sitraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear sitraveler_11,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We strive to provide the best service and always need feedback from the guests on their experience so thank you very much. Your comments will certainly be reviewed with our Executive committee to see where improvements can be made.
We're certainly looking forward to having you all stay with us again!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Excellent hotel. I'm not going to repeat all the positive details from the other reviews, but I agree with them. We preferred the South side since it had afternoon sun and no breeze on the balcony. We were lucky in getting room a room in the middle of the 8th floor since by moving to the very ends of our balcony, we could see both the sunrise over the ocean (okay, there was a hotel and tree blocking parts of the ocean) and the sunset over the drawbridge while drinking coffee and wine respectively. Plus you can see your rental car in the parking lot from the middle of the balcony and the colorful Hallendale Beach water Tower.. We found the Staff to be very pleasant and housekeeping efficient..
The infinity pool had a cool optical illusion that the Intercoastal side row of chairs were floating in the water. We found the sink in the room convenient since it's right next to the bathroom and does have a little privacy curtain if you wanted one. The vertical toilet paper holders, not so convenient.
Plenty of parking space in the self park and for the area, $15 for unlimited in and out per day, is very reasonable. Even the public garages in Hollywood Beach charge $1.50 an hour , 24/7
We did not eat there nor use room service since we preferred to drive 10 minutes to Hollywood Beach to eat with a view of the ocean or 2 minutes over the drawbridge to Padrino's cuban resturant.
Now I personally find totally positive reviews somewhat unconvincing given the imperfect world we live in. So here is my one complaint: The driveway entrance is dark and unlit at night plus curves to the right . By the time you have driven up to the lighted Crowne Plaza sign/pedestal, you have already driven PAST the driveway entrance. In daytime, it's easy to see. Better lighting or moving the sign/pedestal to sit before the Driveway instead of After it would be an improvement in my opinion.
Still I am giving it 5 circles (Excellent) because of how clean and nice the rooms are.plus we had the nice sunrise breakfast and sunset happy hours on the balcony. Be sure to join the Priority Club to get one free Starbucks coffee and a complimentary room upgrade if available.

Room Tip: South side balcony is sunnier in Nov in the afternoon so warmer to sit out on. Higher up the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARM2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear CHARM2017,

THANK YOU for your feedback. It's great to hear how much you all enjoyed the views from the balcony and the features of the hotel. The illusion with the beach chairs floating in the intracoastal gets them every time. :) I hope you enjoyed your meals at the Broadwalk. The view from those restaurants really are incredible.
As for your driveway entrance recommendations, we will certainly address them with the Executive committee and see what we can do to make it a bit more convenient.
Again, we greatly appreciate the detailed review and surely we'll see you soon!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I selected this hotel based off other reviews and was not disappointed! Rooms, pool, staff and food were amazing!! Believe all the positive reviews you read!
Location was not directly on beach or in the major hub of things to do...Had to walk across street to get to beach and take a 2 minute trolley to get to broadwalk for food and shopping...trolley is easy and convenient to use and this hotel was much nicer then the other hotels right on the broadwalk. We absolutely LOVED that the hotel pool was right next to the intercoastal waterway. While basking in the sun we watched beautiful yahts and sailboats cruise by. We ended up spending 3 of our 5 days at the pool instead of the beach! I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try a room facing the waterway! Fun to watch the bridge go up and amazing boats sail by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mistypfllso, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Tiffany S,

Thank you for the great review and sharing you experience. It's great that you had a chance to enjoy the area. Let's us know the next time you'll be in town and we'll definitely set aside a room facing the waterway :)
See you soon!

Tana F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
2.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 73 in Hollywood
1,608 reviews
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hallandale Beach/Aventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach

Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £137 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Doubletree Resort Hollywood Beach, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Port South Bar & Grille or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza
DoubleTree Resort By Hilton Hollywood Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing