We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,446)
Filter reviews
3,446 results
Traveller rating
1,527
1,094
487
181
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,527
1,094
487
181
157
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree front desk pool area hollywood beach water taxi intercoastal waterway trolley stop self parking corner room great pool the inter coastal aventura mall beach access hotel restaurant fridge and microwave per day palm trees
Filter
Updating list...
2,026 - 2,031 of 3,446 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the concierge, Kevin, who was gracious and courteous--a real class act. Kevin went above-and-beyond to help everyone who needed it. He is much too good for this hotel.
The rooms face north and south and the water is to the east and west, so if you want a room with a view, you need to reserve the corner rooms on the west side of the building, where you will have a nice view of the Intercostal Waterway. (The hotel photos are deceptive about this.) But for the added expense you might as well stay at the Diplomat.
The rooms are nicely updated, but room service staff has lots of "attitude" and made me feel uncomfortable. When I reported this to housekeeping management, they were unapologetic.
There were a lot of problems with the rooms. My air conditioner stopped working after the first night and I had to be moved to a room with a view of the highway, when I had reserved a room with a view of the Intercostal months in advance. There were never enough towels or coffee. The wifi did not work in my original room. On the other hand, the bed was nice and firm without being hard, and the pillows had some loft rather than being utterly flat as is often the case at average-priced hotels. No special amenities here. If you want a spa experience, you have to walk down the street. Mandatory valet parking is $10/day.
The front desk manager was incompetent and disengaged. The late-night valet was enthusiastic and welcoming, but the daytime valets seemed lazy and shiftless. The restaurant smelled like day-old seafood, and the indoor bar was boring---no music, no TV screens, and no customers. The tiki bar looked nice but the weather was bad so I did not get a chance to find out.
Kudos to Kevin for his outstanding professionalism, but I will not be returning to this hotel and do not recommend it to others.

Room tip: Get a corner suite on the west side or go elsewhere.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsVickF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear MsVickF

Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
We appreciate your wonderful comments about Kevin, our concierge. He is truly one of our gems and we'll be sure to review your commentary with management team. It is unfortunate to hear of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. These types of incidents are not common at our hotel. We will be sure to discuss them our management team and take necessary action to ensure they do not happen in the future. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Good value in Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood
Nice location near to Miami and Fort Lauderdale. On the intercoastal.
Excellent pool overlooking the intercoastal waterway. Watch the yachts come and go.
Nice rooms, well maintained. Not on the beach however. Limited food options, small coffee stand, and small restaurant which seemed expensive to us. Easy valet parking $19/day.
Very popular with South Americans and Europeans vitisting south Florida.

Room tip: Our room did not have a view, though some of them must have ocean or waterway views
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Bruce4fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It's so great to know that you enjoyed your vacation and enjoyed the pool. :)
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Hollywood in the near future.
Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Crowne Plaza looks a bit tired from the outside and in the lobby but the hotel works hard to make up for that with great service. The valet team is polite and responsive when you want your car (hint: call from your room before you venture downstairs). The front desk team was pleasant, the breakfast hostess and servers were helpful, the pool bar waiters knew how to balance being there for you without being there too often. The gym is larger than I expected but dated. The aerobic equipment is just treadmills and bikes with no elliptical machines. The pool is nice and overlooks the intracoastal waterway (unfortunately, there's a large construction project under way across the water that is pretty noisy but you get used to it after awhile)..

I recommend leaving the hotel to visit the Boardwalk in Hollywood for some exercise and some breakfast or lunch..

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear 7thinnstrtch,

Thank you for sharing this great review.
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us and appreciate all of you kind feedback on our staff services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood soon.
Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The Crowne Plaza Hollywood exists in the shadow of the flashier, nicer Westin Diplomat. I stayed for three nights recently. The outside of the hotel definitely doesn't look like much and the lobby has absolutely no charm. My room, however, looks like it had a attention from someone with taste: the design motif was surprisingly attractive. One big drawback: the sink was in the room and the shower sprayed water all over the bath room floor. There were zero amenities in the bathroom and the towels were too small. My view was south, overlooking a highway. Anybody who thinks they are getting waterfront property should stay at the Diplomat: the CPH is on the other side of AIA and it really doesn't have a view of the water. The service was pleasant. I had no complaints with the friendly and competent staff. Lastly, my room rate was ridiculously high for this sort of property: $259/night. Poor value for the money.

Room tip: Stay away from the ice machine (near the elevator). That thing made a lot of noise.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear philwhit,

We appreciate your time in writing this review.
Your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for your compliments on our hotel as well as the area where there is room for improvement. We certainly hope for the opportunity of having you stay with us in the near future. Should you need assistance with reservations or have any questions, please contact us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were in Hollywood for a conference and stayed at the Westin Diplomat for three nights before transferring to the Crowne Plaza for the weekend because there were no vacancies at the Diplomat. We thought we would be let down but that was absolutely not the case. I cannot remember feeling so welcome at a large hotel. We arrived very early hoping to check our bags until the room was ready but they allowed us to check in early and even gave us an upgraded room. Our room was very nice and had a lovely view of the waterway and pool garden. It had a microwave, refrigerator, coffee service and sink. The pool area is very nice with lots of tables and lounges available. Drink prices are on the high side - $23 for two cocktails. The water taxi stops right at the hotel dock.

On our check out day our flight was in the evening and we were allowed extra time to check out and then stored our bags. The concierge arranged for a driver to the airport that was less than a taxi.

The only negative was the bathroom set up. I really, really dislike having the bathroom sink/vanity in the bedroom and next time will ask if a different set up is available.

Was it as nice as the Diplomat? No, but it was more than $125 less per day, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We did not have a car so I can't comment on the parking service. However the Hollywood Trolley ($1) stops right in front of the hotel and we made use of them several times to go to dinner and to stroll Hollywood Beach.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingal15644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Travelingal15644,

Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback about our hotel and staff services. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like your business trip was a little pleasurable as well. :) Glad you had a chance to explore the city with the Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi and Hollywood Trolley.
Thank you for sharing this review and we look forward to seeing you soon. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews