We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool, boring neighborhood.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice pool, boring neighborhood.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The pool here is nice, and it is across from the beach. Other than that, I wouldn't suggest this neighborhood because you can't walk to anything interesting, and I think the parking is $17/night which is crazy because they have their own parking lot. Having free wi-fi was nice.

CON
The looked nice, but had some annoying features (stains on couch, no cold water available in the shower or tap - always too hot, bed was sagging in the middle). The fridge was a nice addition. Overall, not a huge fan or this area and would suggest staying elsewhere. Food at the pool bar looked pretty pricey, but I didn't eat there.

Room Tip: ask to face the canal not the entrance to the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Jill W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We truly appreciate your compliments on our hotel. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy the area. While there is not too many restaurants and activities within walking distance, we do have direct access to the Hollywood Trolley where for $1 you can explore the city. Hopefully our concierge was able to assist you with recommendations during your stay.
We also appreciate your comments on where there is room for improvement. We will be sure to look into these items with our management team. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    897
    411
    150
    124
See reviews for
797
820
131
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

My family of five enjoyed our stay two night stay while working our way through South Florida. One of the nicest pools I have ever seen at a hotel which accommodates anyone with shallow, deep ends, and a shallow walk in, hot tub, and poolside bar, free towels, and menu service. The rooms were large and we were able to rent a cot for $30.00 per night to accommodate my third child. The toilet and shower are in a separate room from the sink and mirror in the main room. Breakfast was included with our package for up to four people. Gorgeous view at the rear of the property there is a river with nice boats and a water taxi that pass by while you are sitting at the pool. Most upper floor rooms have a partial view of the ocean between buildings across the street. As an IHG member we had a free room upgrade and two complimentary coffees at Starbucks each morning. The beach is a five minute walk across the road. Only complaints I have are the beds and pillows were not comfortable and there is not many restaurants near by without driving for ten or twenty minutes. Recommend this hotel for anyone.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Al P,

We truly appreciate your loyalty to us as an IHG Rewards Club member!
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us. We strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations so it makes us smile a little bigger when we receive feedback like yours. We are pleased to know you will recommend our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood in the near future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were two adult couples that stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Hollywood Beach from November 24 - 28th. We arrived at 4 pm (which is their listed check-in time) and our rooms were not ready. Although the woman at the front desk was very nice and told us that if we wait about an hour she could get us two rooms on the same floor. It was disappointing to have to wait but she handed us a key to one room within 15 minutes and we could go up there while we waited for the other, a slight inconvenience but we could live with it. We stayed at this hotel a year ago and had an average experience. We decided to give it another shot because of the super great price we got on Priceline. Well.............I don't think we'll be coming back. The place is starting to look a bit run down, and certainly is not worth of it's 4 star rating. I would give it a solid 3 stars but no more. The room appeared clean but if you took a closer look at things it could really use a more thorough cleaning in the bathroom, especially the shower. The little sofa in our room had many large, visible stains (which looked like dirty water stains) all over and it was not something I wanted to sit on. We used it to place our luggage for easier packing and unpacking, but they need to replace it. There were always people at the front desk but they never exactly went out of their way to be helpful, just sort of answer your question unenthusiastically, and hope you'd be on your way. The pool area was nice but the towels are old and raggedy. We had lunch by the pool once and the food was actually pretty decent. We also had breakfast once at their restaurant but that experience left much to be desired. Overall I would rate this place a 6.5 on a scale of 1 - 10, but I guess at the rate of $79/night + tax you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenVictoriaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear QueenVictoriaBoston,

First off, thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
We greatly appreciate your feedback on where there is room for improvement. We will discuss your concerns with our management team and take necessary action to improve these items. While we are sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory, we hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Please feel free to contact us directly should you have any questions or further concerns at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

When we arrived to check in the first words were, "We don't have any rooms available." I said you better because I have a reservation. That's when she explained that the check in time was not until 4. She could have greeted with something else and explained the check in time. But, there was a room available anyway. There was some incompetence in trying to get the self parking code too.

We were here for a wedding at the hotel. The wedding went fine, but the appetizers during the cocktail hour were pretty bad. Bacon wrapped scallops that did not taste at all fresh. Chicken marsala that looked like it was covered in a pancake. Mashed potatoes that were like a hockey puck on the plate.

I went to the restaurant the next morning for some coffee. It had funny smell that I could not make out. The coffee tasted like cardboard.

The room was clean and looked to be recently renovated. It had a fridge, microwave, cabinets, and sink. It was fairly spacious too. But, the setup was a little. The bathroom contained the toilet and shower, but the sink and mirror were out in the bedroom. It would have been better to have these walled off in the bathroom too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear skline2,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this informative review with us. We are sorry to hear of the service you encountered upon check in. We will be sure to discuss this with our management team as well as your feedback on our food and beverage. These incidents are out of the normal for us and we will be sure to make necessary improvements to ensure they do not happen again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the concierge, Kevin, who was gracious and courteous--a real class act. Kevin went above-and-beyond to help everyone who needed it. He is much too good for this hotel.
The rooms face north and south and the water is to the east and west, so if you want a room with a view, you need to reserve the corner rooms on the west side of the building, where you will have a nice view of the Intercostal Waterway. (The hotel photos are deceptive about this.) But for the added expense you might as well stay at the Diplomat.
The rooms are nicely updated, but room service staff has lots of "attitude" and made me feel uncomfortable. When I reported this to housekeeping management, they were unapologetic.
There were a lot of problems with the rooms. My air conditioner stopped working after the first night and I had to be moved to a room with a view of the highway, when I had reserved a room with a view of the Intercostal months in advance. There were never enough towels or coffee. The wifi did not work in my original room. On the other hand, the bed was nice and firm without being hard, and the pillows had some loft rather than being utterly flat as is often the case at average-priced hotels. No special amenities here. If you want a spa experience, you have to walk down the street. Mandatory valet parking is $10/day.
The front desk manager was incompetent and disengaged. The late-night valet was enthusiastic and welcoming, but the daytime valets seemed lazy and shiftless. The restaurant smelled like day-old seafood, and the indoor bar was boring---no music, no TV screens, and no customers. The tiki bar looked nice but the weather was bad so I did not get a chance to find out.
Kudos to Kevin for his outstanding professionalism, but I will not be returning to this hotel and do not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite on the west side or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsVickF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear MsVickF

Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
We appreciate your wonderful comments about Kevin, our concierge. He is truly one of our gems and we'll be sure to review your commentary with management team. It is unfortunate to hear of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. These types of incidents are not common at our hotel. We will be sure to discuss them our management team and take necessary action to ensure they do not happen in the future. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Good value in Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood
Nice location near to Miami and Fort Lauderdale. On the intercoastal.
Excellent pool overlooking the intercoastal waterway. Watch the yachts come and go.
Nice rooms, well maintained. Not on the beach however. Limited food options, small coffee stand, and small restaurant which seemed expensive to us. Easy valet parking $19/day.
Very popular with South Americans and Europeans vitisting south Florida.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a view, though some of them must have ocean or waterway views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Bruce4fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It's so great to know that you enjoyed your vacation and enjoyed the pool. :)
We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Hollywood in the near future.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The Crowne Plaza looks a bit tired from the outside and in the lobby but the hotel works hard to make up for that with great service. The valet team is polite and responsive when you want your car (hint: call from your room before you venture downstairs). The front desk team was pleasant, the breakfast hostess and servers were helpful, the pool bar waiters knew how to balance being there for you without being there too often. The gym is larger than I expected but dated. The aerobic equipment is just treadmills and bikes with no elliptical machines. The pool is nice and overlooks the intracoastal waterway (unfortunately, there's a large construction project under way across the water that is pretty noisy but you get used to it after awhile)..

I recommend leaving the hotel to visit the Boardwalk in Hollywood for some exercise and some breakfast or lunch..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7thinnstrtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear 7thinnstrtch,

Thank you for sharing this great review.
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your vacation with us and appreciate all of you kind feedback on our staff services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood soon.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing