We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel....until the homeless people showed up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel....until the homeless people showed up”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. It was an nice place we thought just north of Miami. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. We enjoyed their delicious Christmas dinner. I was really disappointed that while we were relaxing in the nice pool and hot tub it was obvious that this couple who showed up with huge bags at the pool were not guests. They were both obvious drug users and my fiancé was in the pool seeing them wrapping up their legs with ace bandages before they came into the hot tub. The gentleman came in first and I missed his ace bandages but I could help but see her as she was in her old lady big underwear and bra with her legs all wrapped up. It's apparent that security doesn't monitor this type of activity and as we wre leaving the hotel the next morning we even saw a homeless man sleeping in a doorway outside near the gate to self parking. After seeing this I won't be going back there. We did really enjoy Hollywood Beach and the boardwalk and will definitly go back to that area but will NEVER stay at this place again!

Room Tip: Quiet zone rooms are good if you want to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latzylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Latzylove,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us.
We are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you encountered during your vacation. Please be sure that we had 24 hour security on property during the Christmas holiday. Unfortunately, this incident was not reported to hotel authority or security by any of our guests. We would have escorted those people off the property immediately. This is the first time an incident like this has been mentioned to us. We will be sure to follow up and ensure it does not happen again.
We would like the opportunity of hosting your next Hollywood vacation. Please email us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com with any questions or concerns you would like us to address.
Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    873
    395
    140
    119
See reviews for
729
790
125
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
410 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a beautiful property on the south end of Hollywood Beach, FL. NOTE: This is on the south end of the Hollywood Beach - which means the GOOD end. Hollywood Beach is a little seedy north near Ft. Lauderdale. The entire area is surrounded by beautiful landscape and large highrise condos/hotels. Very upscale. The hotel does sit across the street from the Atlantic Ocean - which means that you are going to have a view of the ocean from across the street from your room balcony - but not on the ocean direct. The hotel sits on the inner coastal waterway which is beautiful and as a resort pool area along that side. Very nice.
Parking is free but outdoors and there is a valet if needed. The hotel entrance is small and tight - so larger vehicles (like trailers/RVs or trucks) could have some difficulty at this property to park.
The rooms were well appointed and beautiful.
Very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank td397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear td397,

Thank you for sharing this detailed review with us.
We are honored that you chose our hotel for your business accommodations and thrilled to know that your enjoyed the mini-vacation. Hopefully you'll be staying with us a little longer on your next visit from St. Louis. Please feel free to contact us directly should you need assistance with reservations or have any general questions. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After spending five days at this hotel, our entire family was thrilled with the experience. The staff was attentive and extremely helpful even though the hotel was full. The rooms were in excellent condition, both clean and comfortable. If you can tear yourself away from the hotel's infinity pool on the Intercoastal Waterway there is plenty to do. The Crowne Plaza is conveniently located - a very short walk to the beach; a short (5-10 min) $1 trolley ride to downtown Hollywood and the boardwalk. There are also a variety of very good restaurants along the trolley route if you tire of the hotel restaurant. We tried several of them, along with the boardwalk and beach. We had a blast and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lloydie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Lloydie 2,

We are so glad to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us,
It sounds like you got a chance to explore our city too. The next time you stay with us you have to try the Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi. It takes you from our hotel all the way up Fort Lauderdale and the view along the way is unforgettable.
Thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff services. We truly appreciate your time and look forward to welcoming you back to Hollywood real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Found a great deal for this hotel via Priceline.com. Easy walk to the beach. Nice that the room had a fridge and microwave. Would have given 5 stars, but found it noisy - sound traveled too easily from the lobby to the room.
Overall this is an excellent value for a South Florida hotel with close beach access.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffChing88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear GeoffChing88,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business accommodations.
We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

we stayed at this hotel from Dec 27-th 2013 to Jan 1-st 2014. Our room was at the 7-th floor .

Pros : nice view from the balcony, clean and large room , LG TV, fridge, micro-wave, coffee machine , a beautiful outdoor pool , friendly staff at the Tiki bar ,taxi water stops at the hotel ..
Cons: a noisy A/C , a bathroom sink in the room ,old furniture, not on the beach...

however we enjoyed our stay, we would come back .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy_Ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Cathy_Ned,

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We are so pleased to know that your enjoyed your vacation and will be returning soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com should you need reservations assistance. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I booked (3) rooms at The Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel in Florida. Several days before my arrival I attempted to cancel my bookings. I was informed that only the Central Reservation Department was operating and that I would need to call back the next day to speak directly with the hotel. When I called back I was informed that only ORBITZ could cancel my reservation. ORBITZ requested that I call back at 3:00 p.m. so that they could speak directly with the front desk manager (Monica) I again called back and was informed that the hotel would not permit me to cancel my rooms as it was now too close to my arrival date.

I feel that this was a deliberate bait & switch on the part of ORBITZ and the hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear ColleenA,

We appreciate you taking the time to share this review. It's unfortunate to hear of the inconvenience you encountered when trying to cancel your reservation. Please be aware that reservations made through third party websites such as Orbitz.com must go through the agency directly. Should you need future reservations assistance, we would be happy to help. You can contact us directly at sales@cphollywoodbeach.com. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Not on the beach, but across the street, though I've never been to their beach. Huge pool overlooking the Inter.Coastal where the yatchs pass all day. Nice view. Lobby nice, as are rooms and resto. Good breakfast buffet. Location is primo near shops and restos. 10 mins to Aventura Mall. Hotel and area r not for college party crowd. Fat chance getting a check-in before 3pm. Staff friendly though resto staff are slow. 1/2 the tables were empty but needed cleaning. Front desk, valet and house keeping were all friendly and good. Food is also served at pool. I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tana F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Mike K,

Thank you for sharing such a pleasant review with us. We truly appreciate your loyalty to us and hope we continue to receive feedback from you like this one. Have you signed up for our rewards program, IHG Rewards Club? If you haven't yet, you should do so and start earning points with our stay. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Address: 4000 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve a welcoming stay at the Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Resort, one of the premier Fort Lauderdale hotels. Our ideal location among Hollywood, Florida hotels situates us conveniently between luminous beachfronts and stellar Ft. Lauderdale attractions like Gulfstream Park and Miami Dolphin Stadium. Experience lodging that befits the stunning surroundings. Utilize our state-of-the-art fitness center, taste South Florida hotel cuisine at Elements Bistro or sip a cool cocktail from Lava Tiki Bar & Grille. After a spectacular day of fun in the sun, retire to our richly-appointed guestrooms at one of the leading hotels in Hollywood, FL. Don t miss a gorgeous sunset from your balcony, and take advantage of amenities including complimentary high-speed Internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, microwave and free premium cable. Upgrade to one of our three elegant suites and enjoy the comfort of a private bedroom and the refreshing feel of modern design. Plan your South Florida travel around a luxurious stay at one of the newest Florida vacation resorts. Discover chic, yet affordable waterfront lodging with one of our Hollywood, Florida vacation packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, IHG, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing