We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresher & More Creative Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Hollywood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Hollywood
Ranked #78 of 591 Restaurants in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresher & More Creative Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I have had several meals at China Hollywood. We go back because we both agree that the vegetables taste crisper and the food fresher. Even a dish as common as hot and sour soup somehow taste better than the one I have gotten used to elsewhere.

To make the meals exciting we always try to order at least one of their daily specials. Their salt and pepper crispy shrimp and lobster dishes are amazing! We have always found the service friendly and fast.

We live on the beach, but find it worthwhile to pass other local Chinese restaurants to go to China Hollywood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveAtBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft. lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“wife got food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

we have been going there for over 10 years. Always had a good meal until today. Right after we left, my wife felt sick, it turned to violently sick, ended up in e.r., probably the shrimp she had. They are now off our list forever.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swarttz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This strip mall restaurant is an excellent choice for well-prepared Chinese food and friendly service. Any restaurant that serves those wide, crisp noodles on the table is worth looking at in my opinion. The hot and sour soup and wonton soup are flavorful, the egg rolls are crisp, the shrimp in any dish are good size and good portions, and the beef dishes are tender and well seasoned. We often do take out here and after a 10-15 minute drive home the food is still hot. We have recommended this restaurant to many friends who have thanked us and added it to there list of favorites.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susanjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Competent Americanized Chinese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have come here primarily for lunch over a 15 year time frame. The food is well-prepared, if at times a bit bland. The service is very quick and the restaurant is immaculate. I suspect "true" Chinese food eaters might find this too "Americanized," and one seldom sees Asian eaters. But the food is healthy and reasonable. It is not a place to impress friends or dates...but if you want some good hot and sour soup or steamed chicken with brown rice--this is A OK.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese Restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We live in the area and eat out frequently though out Broward & Dade counties. My wife and I, eat at China Hollywood at least once a month and often bring others with us. We have eaten there ffor the last 10-years or so.
It is a very clean, well lit and well taken care of quiet place. Always has a good patronage. The food is very good, tasty and the correct quantity. The help is friendly and trained to provide good service and the owner seems to be always present and greets the patrons and also those he knows like us.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jphuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Hollywood also viewed

Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to China Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing