We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sheldon is a great hotel.”
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sheldon
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The hotel was under construction when we were there, but it didn't bother us at all. They only worked during regular business hours and we were out on the beach usually at that time.

The hotel was clean.

The view in the Elvis Presley room was AWESOME.

Waking up to that sunrise over the ocean was indescribable.

The staff was great. Very helpful and nice people.

The only down side was we couldn't get wireless internet in our room so I had to go to the lobby. But that wasn't a big deal. They are working on fixing that during the remodeling.

Our vacation was fantastic and big part of that was Hotel Sheldon. It's a great place I highly recomend it. We will be back there next year.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MikeBuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days at the end of our trip and when I say stayed, it was literally a crash pad. The room was very uninspiring visually and had this weird ceiling that made you feel like you were sleeping in a polystrene box, but that aside were clean and functional. Bed was comfy, shower hot and a coffee machine in the room. Was about all we needed, there was free parking . Never saw/heard this construction noise others have mentioned. Its only steps to the beach but it lacks that seaside relaxed quality, so I wouldn't pick it as a holiday base.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We thought we were going to have peace and quiet during our trip.... Think again! The hotel is under construction and we got woke up numerous times during the early morning. This was our vacation we at least wanted to sleep in till 8 or 9... Boy were we wrong.. The construction began early and woke us up... The room was ok for the price expect it was old looking and the paint was coming off the walls. The bed also had an annoying mattress plastic cover on it which was aggravating whenever we moved on the bed. The hotel staff was ok but when we checked in the front desk girl named Nicole couldn't find our reservation. She was very young and seemed very inexperienced. Took us forever to get checked in, and parking was a joke as was the wifi, since it didn't work. When we contacted the front desk, she didn't know how to fix it.
Never again, next time we'll stay somewhere else... Also the pics on hotel.com does not look like the hotel sheldon we stayed at.. Don't be fooled.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonezyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We got there early Sunday (9am or so). They gave us our free parking pass even before we checked in, which was great since check in isn't until 3. The desk staff was very friendly.

We had a beach view room that was huge and clean. The bed was pretty hard, and had some weird plastic cover on the mattress (under the sheets of course) that was kinda annoying. But luckily I like my mattress a little firmer, didn't really bother me.. If you require a soft bed, you'll probably be disappointed.

The place is certainly under construction, and on the weekend it doesn't cause a problem, unless you're the kind of person that complains about the outside of a hotel looking like it's under construction.

On Monday morning we were woke up by construction noise at like 7:30, which was annoying after being up until 1am. Tuesday the construction didn't start until about 9:30am, which was fine for us since we generally get up at 9 or earlier.

The elevator is down right now, but seriously the hotel is 3 stories. TV was small..

Okay, here's the other great parts. It's a very reasonably priced hotel, literally on the beach. From your room, it takes two minutes to have your feet in the water. There are plenty of restaurants and bars both ways you walk, and a small convenience store a 1/2 block away. We had alot of fun. (Hint; Capones on N. Ocean, right behind the hotel, was amazing at 2am!)

If you're look for 5 star, this is not it. That's the hilton down the road and is gonna cost you $200-$400 per night. But if you're looking for an affordable hotel on the beach, that's clean, this is your place.

But if you're staying on the week nights, call and check on the construction, and bring your ear plugs.

Room Tip: Partial oceanview, king was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quota10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

So here's a realistic experience of my recent 4 night stay at the Hotel Sheldon. I say realistic because after reading some reviews from people who nitpic just for the sake of it, you realize how unhelpful of a review it can be. Yes this hotel is undergoing construction and not finished yet, they say that on their website so nothing to hide there.

What's good: Clean room, clean beds (this is a big one as I'm a health inspector back home and trained to look for bed bugs and found no traces here). Quiet room as new windows are installed. New A/C unit that worked great. Very friendly staff that have beach chairs/towels/umbrellas free to use for the day. Location is amazing. Cable tv with lots of channels for movies etc.

What's normal for an older hotel: Hot water takes a while in the shower, loose faucette, some paint peeling in the washroom, older key style locks... etc but honestly this doesn't affect the quality of the stay.

Ammenaties that would be nice: The wifi didn't work in the room but there's lots in the area so found another one. Room phone. That's it.

This place will look amazing once fully done and the rooms have mostly been done already. Expect to hear some work outside during business hours as the exterior is being re-finished. Don't be turned off by everything you read on this site (for this and other places for that matter). If people expect a five star hotel when they are booking a two star and then complain about every little thing, just be glad you're not the one who has to be on the trip with all their negativity.

Hope this review helped, Cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Midnightcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel was under renovation so the prices here are lower than any other oceanfront hotel in the area. The room was nice, but the elevator didn't work and I was on the third floor. The front desk girl Chelsea was helpful she carried our luggage, let us use the phone in the lobby (there are no phones in the rooms!), spent an hour helping us connect to the internet (WIFI DOESN'T WORK IN ROOMS! you have to sit in the common area on the 2nd floor to get wifi) and printed out maps and directions for all the places we needed to go. She was almost worth the fact that the housekeeper never touched our rooms, we had to ask for towels and coffee and make our own beds empty our own trash. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a place to sleep and spend the whole day out and about. If you're expecting a lot of accomodations from the hotel, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmoz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

The location is superb and the service from all staff was fantastic! Yes, they are under construction, but never did it get noisy or interrupt our vacation. Yes, it is an older, smaller hotel, so we didnt' expect a 5 star facility, we really can't stomach paying 5 star prices just for a bed, so we wanted value and good location. It was moderately clean with comfortable beds and the location on the Hollywood boardwalk can't be beat! The attentiveness and willingness of the staff to accomodate any requests we had is what makes up for any construction inconvenience or lack of top notch quality facility!! And it's staffed 24/7! A lot of smaller places to stay on hollywood beach are not. We look forward to coming back a few more times, with our 3 kids sometime, and maybe with a few other couples for a beach getaway some other time!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelermagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#29 of 72 in Hollywood
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,618 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Address: 1000 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-1299
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £124 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort
Hotel Sheldon Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing