We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not done yet”
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sheldon
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 7 March 2010

It was OK but most of the rooms are not finished. There is significant construction going on. Our room was OK but not worth the money even though the location is excellent. The construction starts early in the morning causing significant noise. Had more than one incident of having to walk to the other end of the hotel on the second floor as the construction blocked the stairs. Would be better off staying at the St. Maurice right across the street for the same money. I am thinking once the construction is complete the cost will go up significantly. If you can get in (which we were unable to do) stay at the Angel Fish Inn 1/2 block up Buchannan St. Much better facility and significantly less expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budgetcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

Hotel Sheldon's web site, makes it look 100 times better than it is! There are NO phones or Ceiling Fans in the room! The coffee maker and TV look over 20 years old. Our mattress was new and had the store plastic on it??? We had an Ocean Front Room,& had to use a stick to keep the window open!The Elevator does not work either. Shops & Restuarant noise and smells located below the hotel very annoying. No dead bolt on hotel door.They left the security back door open at night so anyone could come in to the hotel. We had to contantly shut and lock the back door ourselves every night! Did not feel safe.
Staff friendly,Hotel clean,great ocean front location. We will stay a block back next time @ different hotel and walk to the beach.
This hotel could be soooo neat, bulit in 1949 etc...needs alot of work or torn down! They do have a building permit and look to be working on the Hotel @ this time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleybrookln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

This place is disgusting! Checked in and went to our room, and the towels and wash clothes in the bathroom were dirty and refolded. Every bed linen we had was stained. We asked for a rollaway and extra blankets, and they brought one blanket that looked as if it had been used on the ground to sit on, and refolded for use. Do not expect a good nights sleep, as the plastic is on the mattresses, and it is uncomfortable, and makes noise everytime someone moves. No phones in the room, so if you had a complaint, you had to go find someone. Desk was not manned around the clock. People hooting and hollering all night.....No elevators. I would not stay here again if it were $5.00/night!!!! The beach was nice across the boardwalk. Photos are very misleading!! Almost forgot the lovely construction and noise all day long!! Huge disappointment!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lemonhead5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Okay first of all this is not the Ritz. POS. +Ocean front rooms right on the beach. Only a walkway in between hotel and beach, Great views from rooms, free parking, nice manager,

Recently sold which was refreshing becasue all of the bad comments were directed at the old owners/managment.

@ $100 a night there are some drawbacks. Its an old hotel, built in the 1940s or 50s. Still there is alot to say about waking up and checking out the ocean.

We stayed there for a week and went to the orange bowl at landshark stadium. It was easy to navagate through the city. Located in Hollywood it is real close to Ft. Lauderdale. About 1/2 and hour to Miami.

If you stay at the sheldon make sure you eat at Georgios (two blocks away) it has the best breakfast, sandwiches and pizza. It is a bakery/bistro. VERY GOOD. Me and my entire family (6) loved everything we ate.

Le Tub also two blocks away have 13 oz. angus burgers. Real nice, They have been published for their burgers from print and tv all over the nation. One of Operas favorites. PS, count on pretty raw service. They are known to be a bit rude. Its part of the fun of it.... Go to both places for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LETMPLAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

my boyfriend and i stayed her to celebrate the new year and were quite taken by this charming hotel on the beach. we wanted to be away from the craziness of south beach and this was totally perfect. we had a picture perfect view from the second floor.....we didn't even need to go downstairs to feel like we were at the beach! the hotel was sparsely decorated and very clean and fresh, bed was comfy...had a fridge and microwave. a couple of nice meals at restaurants on the beach and bay, and a bike ride down the strip made for quite a romantic and relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank mara74ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista mara. Os laterais também tem boa vista e são mais baratos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cosme Lemes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#29 of 72 in Hollywood
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 72 in Hollywood
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Address: 1000 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-1299
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £104 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort
Hotel Sheldon Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing