We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price. That's about it.”
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sheldon
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel was under renovation so the prices here are lower than any other oceanfront hotel in the area. The room was nice, but the elevator didn't work and I was on the third floor. The front desk girl Chelsea was helpful she carried our luggage, let us use the phone in the lobby (there are no phones in the rooms!), spent an hour helping us connect to the internet (WIFI DOESN'T WORK IN ROOMS! you have to sit in the common area on the 2nd floor to get wifi) and printed out maps and directions for all the places we needed to go. She was almost worth the fact that the housekeeper never touched our rooms, we had to ask for towels and coffee and make our own beds empty our own trash. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants a place to sleep and spend the whole day out and about. If you're expecting a lot of accomodations from the hotel, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmoz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2011

The location is superb and the service from all staff was fantastic! Yes, they are under construction, but never did it get noisy or interrupt our vacation. Yes, it is an older, smaller hotel, so we didnt' expect a 5 star facility, we really can't stomach paying 5 star prices just for a bed, so we wanted value and good location. It was moderately clean with comfortable beds and the location on the Hollywood boardwalk can't be beat! The attentiveness and willingness of the staff to accomodate any requests we had is what makes up for any construction inconvenience or lack of top notch quality facility!! And it's staffed 24/7! A lot of smaller places to stay on hollywood beach are not. We look forward to coming back a few more times, with our 3 kids sometime, and maybe with a few other couples for a beach getaway some other time!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelermagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We arrived at about 3:00 pm on Monday , Feb. 21. Even the street are under major construction!! You must park up the street. The picture you see here is a lie! I will post my pics as soon as my sister sends them to me! Boarded up windows and holes Blue Plastic covering windows. Exposed wires and buckets of tools all over the hall ways! no elevator . When I called to ask about the room they did not say anything about renovations taking place not even on this site!!! Yikes! They charged me for a night because I refused to stay at all! Due to the condition of the place! Gross! When I send my cc company the pic on here and the ones we took that day we will def win!!!! We were staying near the water as we came to visit our mom in the Hospital and hoped the beach would bring a little sun to our trip! If you never want to sleep and be close to the beach it is right there. Way too congested! If your looking for something quite ,uhhhh no!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sherrybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Awesome location and friendly day staff at front desk are about the only positives I have. Parking was difficult, no elevator, toilet barely flushed, sink leaked, my daughter's mattress crinkled as if there was a plastic cover over the mattress. With some big $$$ invested this could be a 3+.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexlanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

If you are 18 to 25 and looking to be right on the boardwalk, expect little comforts from a hotel , and are just into partying... then this is the place for you... All others beware. I will say that the woman working during the day at the front desk is great, but the evening and morning people were very young and seemed inexperienced. The location and price are great (right on the boardwalk), but the rooms are small, they are renovating the place right now, the water pressure in the shower was nonexistent, the sink was clogged, don't drink the water out of the tap, the noise from the restaurants below kept me up well into the night, the walls are paper thin, the doors don't have deadbolts or chain locks, the elevator does not work, the wi fi does not work in the room, the rooms don't have balconies, they dont have breakfast.... Have I said enough? On the up side, you are walking distance to some great bars and restaurants, 15 minutes to Ft Lauderdale Airport, and it is pretty cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stayed on 1/8 before cruise and on 1/15/11 post cruise. Sheldon is in the middle of being rehabbed so the elevator did not work, but the desk person, Nichole, lugged one of our suitcases up the short staircase to our 2nd floor room for us. Thank you Nichole! All completed rooms seem to be on the second floor at this time. The hotel should be very nice as an older art deco hotel once rehab is completed. The rooms that we had were done and were fairly nice. No fans in the bathroom however (it's and older hotel) so the newer paint on the ceiling was already peeling. The heating/cooling units were new and worked well. The new owners of the Sheldon seem to be making an effort to make it a good hotel, but keep in mind that they are in the middle of the rehab so things are not yet as they will be post rehab. With that said, it was a good value (they even upgraded our room to a "partial ocean view" for the second night) given the superb location on the beach and boardwalk. The beds were comfortable and the rooms adequate in size. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Although it is being redone, it was worth the stay. I am looking forward to the elevator working. great place on the beach, our room was one with the balcony, that was great! close to everything. It was very clean, staff were wonderful and actually met the owner.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaconsofthenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.1 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#29 of 72 in Hollywood
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,618 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheldon

Address: 1000 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-1299
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £124 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sheldon 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean view rooms with private terraces, full bathrooms, and free parking are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Sheldon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheldon Hotel Hollywood
Sheldon Ocean Resort
Hotel Sheldon Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing