We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!!! As a nightmare...”
Review of Rooftop Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rooftop Resort
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Wow! I've never been on a place that nasty. If you were planning to go there... I will save you some money and time. There is no way to make the nightly rates comparable to what you get. Beginning with the fact that the building is an old structure with very low or almost no maintenance, this place is dirty big time. And the fun? I have no idea where it was. I'm sorry, but there's no other way to describe this place. And I have not say it all.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Miami305L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had not been to the Rooftop in a couple of years and remembered it as a dirty, rundown hotel from the 50s that had seen much better days. It is still an old hotel from the 50s, but many improvements had been made to the rooms since our earlier visits. The other reviews we have read here were correct on our earleir visits, but not this time. It is an OLD place and they can do a lot better, but the imrovements they have made were impressive and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It ain't no Hilton, but you can't usually see naked ladies by the pool at a Hilton. There is no resturant at the hotel there are several good ones within walking distance and the beach is one block away, (clothing required) It's not fancy folks, but it is fun!

Room Tip: Go late week befor the weekend arrives or make reservations well ahead of time for the room you desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjsharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

$160+ night. As another said, just walk across the floor and step in the tub. You'll be amazed at all the black dirt coming off your feet. Waiting a long time at bar just to get a beer top popped. When I saw an opener and picked it up I finally got attention as the bar girl grabbed it out of my hand and told me to wait until she was done. Asked if we could print our boarding passes. NO! Know a place? "Yeah, should be someplace near the interstate 95..." - Maybe in NJ???

In fairness, a lot of the staff are very friendly and apologetic for management. Not their fault policy is They DON'T make the beds, and changing the towels/emptying garbage is the only room service. (No cleaning at all!) Paid extra for kitchenette. NO utensils, received a few plastic forks after we asked.

Room Tip: Don't plan to sleep before 3am on friday or saturday. All rooms face the inside courtyard/disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Antonio W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Last time we were there the pool was so cloudy you couldn't even see bottom. I asked why and was told that they had a lot of people the day before... You know that is bull. I use to be in the pool business. I know what keeps a pool healthy. They are just dirty. They seem that they just don't give a dam. Pay your fees and come in . if you don't like what they offer then leave..That's their mentality .
My wife like to go relax in the nude and play a bit, which is excepted there..you can watch and be watched ..whatever you like goes. The real fault they have is this, They allow single guys there and they'll think nothing about coming and pull up a chair in front of you and start to stroke. I almost knocked the guy out. I was in the pool with my wife and another guy standing on the stairs started to do the same thing..Discussing ..
The hotel clerk doesn't give a dam and he never smiles, will never answer an email. Just about talks to you when you enter. The black guy who cooks the burgers and dogs, is just miserable..Not to mention that if there is 30 people there, for some unknown reason he'll only put about 8 dogs on the grill and 10 burgers...by the time he starts cooking which is past lunch time and the first batch is done, then there isn't enough for all.. So you have to wait til he puts another batch on the grill. If you want seconds, you better be prepared to wait. It's a very small home type grill, and it's doesn't cook fast by no means.
This is a BYOB's place. I took my own wine and they didn't have an opener..I had to leave and go buy one. Sheeeesh.
This could be a real gold mine if someone took interest..They would first have to listen to the peoples complaints, Clean the rooms, Clean the pool, Clean the entire Place. If you sit by the pool and talk to many couples they will tell you the same thing. The single guys are discussing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank friendlycouple346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights , asked for a upgraded room, was told they all are, lie. this resort could be great if it was managed. fun to go to , just not to stay the night, My room was filthy dirty, floor turned my feet black, you could see that piles of durt and dust under all furnature, a used condom under the edge of the bed, need I say more, Just plan lazy housekeeping, one guy at the front desk was very nice the other theats you like dirt. The owner is not on site, probally would not matter. Dought the owner or management ever read these reviews. Scrub the place and get some people that are friendly.

Room Tip: wish I could
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at Rooftop Resort for four nights over a weekend in mid March. We weren't sure whether or not to book there in the first place because of some of the older sketchy reviews that we found. But a couple of newer reviews mentioned that it was under new ownership and we happened to meet a couple of people that had been there and said it might be worth visiting.

We were looking for a sexy place to stay for a few nights at the end of a two week vacation in Florida... maybe a place a bit along the lines of Hedo. The original plan was to stay there and visit Trapeze Club in Lauderdale one night and do some naked sunbathing at Haulover Beach during the daytimes. Turns out, we liked it enough that we never made it to either Trapeze or Haulover.

Rooftop is ideally located right on Ocean Blvd in the centre of Hollywood. It is an easy one minute walk from the beach and the fantastic broadwalk that runs for about two miles along the beachfront. The broadwalk is lined with shops and restaurants and Ocean Blvd is the address of many other restaurants within easy walking distance. There's lots of people-watching to be had on the broadwalk as it is filled with walkers, joggers, and bikers during the day and diners and sightseers at night.

The hotel itself is very nondescript from the outside, in fact, it doesn't even look like a hotel and could easily be mistaken for an old office building. It is constructed in the old Spanish style of a completely enclosed courtyard with four stories of rooms (I think about 28 in total) on the perimeter. On the rooftop there is a swimming pool, BYOB bar, and about 40 or so chaise lounge chairs. The rooftop area is all nude and nudity is permitted in the whole hotel. The bottom floor in the courtyard serves as a dance floor and party area. But just to be clear... this is a swingers/lifestyle hotel so if you're not into that this place might shock you. The dance floor is for the swingers parties that happen on Friday and Saturday night. (These are free for hotel guests to attend but they also draw an outside crowd.) The pool area on the roof could probably be equated to the hedo pool area. Saturday and Sunday afternoons are full and busy with a pretty good party atmosphere. While signage says that sexual activity is restricted to the playrooms that are located adjacent to the dance floor, the pool area has plenty of PDA's happening during the daytime. Friday afternoon was pretty busy on the rooftop but I think that the rest of the weekdays are likely pretty quiet.

Everything, day and night, is BYOB but they throw in free mixes and ice and provide bartenders on weekends that work for tips. It's a great deal if you are staying at the hotel. Also included was a basic continental breakfast and free parking for hotel guests. All that adds up to some pretty good value compared to other hotels in the area.

The staff are all great, friendly, attentive, and helpful. The other thing that we liked a lot were the guests. It's a bit like Hedo in that respect... people are going there to party and meet other people so the guests are generally friendly, outgoing, and easy to strike up a conversation with.

If you are a germaphobe this may not be the place for you. And that's really the only downside we saw to the place. The rooftop itself is clean and in tidy shape and the pool is sparkling clean but some of the rest of the hotel just needs to have another staff member to do janitorial duties. Some daily mopping and sweeping would go along ways. We had a studio room so it had a microwave, fridge, and dishes in it. These could have been kept a bit cleaner as well. We didn't use them, and I could see why others might not.

The rooms themselves are large... our studio was about double the size of a room at Hedo and had two queen beds with a sitting area and a kitchen area. We thought it was great value for what we paid -- especially considering the location and all the bonus stuff of being a lifestyler's hotel. The rooms are probably about the age of Hedo's and seem to function about the same... a few small things don't work but they can be overlooked if you're not too fussy like us. For example, in our room the shower diverter didn't work, the bathroom window was tricky to open and the sink didn't drain well. But they weren't make or break it things for us.

Overall we had a good time there and thought it was quite good value. In fact, like I said, we were having such a good time we didn't make it to any other clubs or even Haulover while we were there. We're swinger nudists, not naturalist nudists, so this was much more up our alley than a nude beach. We probably wouldn't stay for two weeks at a time but would definitely return for a long weekend party of three or four nights. If you are Hedo fan, you'd probably like it at Rooftop. If you're fussy about accommodations you might not like it so much.

Room Tip: A room on the 5th floor is closer to the rooftop and farther from the party music on weekend nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank d b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were there for the weekend after Thanksgiving, it was a little slow and we had rain both Saturday and Sunday. But that didn't stop the fun and the parties, everything moved indoors under the awning. The staff was especially nice and helpful. It's an older hotel and the accommodations are basic, but adequate, the water was hot and the place was clean. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Parties on weekends go on until 1-2am, plan to stay up late and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdwpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.5 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.3 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftop Resort

Address: 1215 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range: £139 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rooftop Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult only clothing optional Hotel featuring a heated rooftop pool, free wifi, premium tv channels, weekend nightclub, recent renovation of several rooms and common areas 1 block from Hollywood Beach and Boardwalk.15 Minute drive from Ft Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rooftop Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooftop Resort Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing