We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overly Harsh Cancellation Policy”
Review of The Seagull

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Seagull
Ranked #22 of 25 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked this hotel through hotels.com because we stayed there a few years ago and really enjoyed the experience. For the holiday weekend we booked five nights as we were running the Ft Lauderdale marathon and wanted to stay a few more days. NYC had a blizzard and our flight was cancelled and no flight was available until Tuesday, one day before we were scheduled to come back. Although hotels.com was very accommodating, they informed us that the hotel wanted two nights fee for canceling. Considering the conditions, we felt this to be overly punitive. Next time, it looks like we'll have to consider another place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chasechette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Arrived to stay at The Seagull but manager suggested The Seaside across street since there were people who stayed up late and partied.

Stayed in an efficiency with a AC that never cooled things down, just circulated air.

Room was ok, need to ask for clean sheets and replace garbage but only a 1 minute walk to boardwalk which is the reason I chose this location anyway.
Housekeeping and maintenance kept busy doing constant chores.

May stay here again, but most likely find another Place around here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were greeted by inexperienced desk person 1 who charged us for parking but then informed us he could not guarantee that we could park again on the hotel property. Why did we pay for parking then? The room had "issues". The key we were given didn't work. The bathroom door didn't have screws in a hinge so it didn't shut unless you really slammed it. The shower was mounted so low that you had to bend over to get a shower. The pilot light was not on in the stove. We wanted to cook. We had to corner inexperienced guy 1 and finally got him to light it. Next day we tried to use oven. Inexperienced desk person 2 said he had to send the maintenance man to light it... courteous, but it never happened. Needed to corner guy no. 1 to get towels. Danger tape draped over pool... and the rest of grounds and outside had potential but were just not maintained. The windows had paint on them. At one point, we were given keys to other rooms to get dishes and realized we had gotten the worst room. Just a mess-- one gets the feeling the staff is always on the edge of crisis! On the good side... you walk 1/2 block down the street and you're at a nice beach with lots of activity on the boardwalk. Undoubtedly the (only) benefit of picking this property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCtravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have stayed at many hotels this year, in many different cities. This was, by far, the worst.

The staff acted like I was inconveniencing them any time I visited the desk.

The building itself is old and not well maintained. The room was tiny, and it was difficult for the two of us to walk around each other.

You have to pay $10 extra to park.

They have no ice machine, so if you want to fill your cooler, you have to pay them for a bag of ice.

The free "breakfast" looked more like the contents of a vending machine... prepackaged snack foods.

And the worst thing was the bathroom. The floor of the shower was cracked and felt unstable. The shower head sent a stream of water up and over the shower curtain, created a puddle on the floor, that went under the bathroom door, out to the bedroom, and under the bed. The floor is tile, so it became slippery and very dangerous, not to mention extremely inconvenient.

Furthermore, the bathroom was extremely tiny and only had a very small mirror, and no electrical outlet. So if you want to use your hair dryer, you have to use a plug in the bedroom and stretch to the bathroom doorway so you can see the mirror.

I will never, ever stay here again, and I strongly urge you to find an alternate hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we love it here, this is our second time here! we will not go anywhere but here we love it ! we are staying in a 3 bedroom that has everything we need and more ! the KIDS are HAPPY:) They have 3 pools to swim in and they love !very friendly !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Good to average experience with everything but morning personnel that serves continental breakfast...definitely not friendly to the point my wife thought she was going to get bitten by this particular lady...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hmarrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stopped to stay here because the outside was so cute! We were pleasantly surprised by friendly staff member John and adorable room! There is also a great little convenience store in the lobby with everything you'll need! It was at a great rate and includes breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#30 of 72 in Hollywood
518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceanside Boutique Hotel
Oceanside Boutique Hotel
#5 of 32 in Hollywood
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Wave Hollywood Beach
Blue Wave Hollywood Beach
#54 of 72 in Hollywood
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Europa Hotel
Villa Europa Hotel
#2 of 25 in Hollywood
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort Suites
Caribbean Resort Suites
#14 of 25 in Hollywood
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Flamingo
Flamingo
#18 of 32 in Hollywood
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagull

Address: 333 Oklahoma St, Hollywood, FL 33019-3442
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range: £69 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Seagull 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A complimentary breakfast is served each morning. In addition to multilingual staff and tour/ticket assistance, Seagull Hollywood Beach features a grocery/convenience store. Wireless Internet access is available in public areas (surcharges apply) and a computer station is located on site. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, a picnic area, and ATM/banking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Seagull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagull Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing