We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Riptide Hotel(Hollywood)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hollywood Beachside Boutique Suites(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Rooms Inn - Hollywood Beach(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hollywood Beach Suites and Hotel(Hollywood)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$585
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$559
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
210
17
3
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
17
3
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairstropical birdscovered tableshollywood beachliterally stepsfull kitchenhalf blockold floridacoffee makerfree bikeswe loved our stayhome away from homeevery morninglittle thingsa king size bedcouple of nightslauderdale area
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Wanted to share this experience. We recently stayed with Steve & co and I managed to lose a pair of old shoes during the trip. No big deal, but after arriving home I received a $50 gift card from Steve so I could replace them. In no way was it their responsibility but they chose to send a gift anyway. I'm as amazed by their hospitality after the trip as I was during it.

I believe other guests have said enough about the place itself. The room was perfect and we loved the courtyard where you can sit watching all kinds of wildlife. The free bikes, chairs and beach umbrellas were a perfect addition. You're less than 2 mins walk from the beach. Steve told me he's owned his place for 30 years and it shows. They're committed to the environment and the use of solar power and full recycling.

I'd love to come back and wouldn't stay anywhere else in the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thehouseoflard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Innkeeper at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks guys for the wonderful review. We hope you were able to find a good replacement for your missing flip flops, and that you think of us now and then when you slip them on. Running the inn has been a joy over the last 30 years, and it's guests like you that make it great. Thanks again, come back soon! Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beautiful scenery. Just steps from a semi seculded area of Hollywood Beach. With the feel of a private beach,a marvelous garden teeming with tiny wild geckos and monarch butterflies landing on your door, this hotel will absolutely give you the feeling of a true escape. Furthermore, the customer service is excellent with no extra questions or waiting check-in was a dream. Bike rentals, sunscreen and umbrellas all included in your stay.

Bottom line if you want to stay in a truly serene environment and enjoy the simpler pleasures of life the DeSoto Oceanview Inn is the place for you.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
extraclean, innkeeper at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you so much Brandon, I love that you call it a "slice of paradise", because that's just how we feel about it, it's paradise, the garden of eden, a tropical oasis, and we are happy that you were here to share it with us. Hope you all come back soon, and thanks again for such a swell review, it makes all of our work worthwhile. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

I stayed here for five nights, and wish it could have been for a month!

Clean. Clean. Clean.

The owners are super nice and helpful. It felt "like coming home". It's not even a block from the ocean, which was not crowded at all when we went. Plenty of local restaurants to bike or walk, too. The courtyard encourages people to interact with each other, if you want.

Im hoping to go again next spring, and stay for a week. You could easily live here for a few months, too. Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachnbum, Innkeeper at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you so much for the beautiful thoughts you expressed in your review. I am so happy that you felt like you were "coming home", that's what we hope all of our guests like about the inn, and that, by the way, is why CLEAN is our motto. We win awards for clean and green, and we do it all for you. Thanks again for taking a few moments to tell us what you liked, your review motivates us to keep the inn your home away from home.
Come back soon, Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

This was our third stay at the Desoto, and we are already booked for next year. The Desoto is comfortable and very clean, located just a few short steps from Hollywood Beach. The beach at this (north) end of town is very quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, and we love it! The inn has a beautiful and peaceful courtyard, and there are tropical birds; one is a parrot that talks. The hosts, Steve and Josias, are wonderful, and they can't do enough for you. As long as the Desoto is in business, we won't stay anywhere else

Room Tip: Units E, F, and A are all nice.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvdcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

We can't get enough of our guests, and we look forward to their return from the moment they leave. Thank you so much for the wonderful review you took time to write. We are humbled by your kindness, and we will always work to keep you coming back. We're going to do our very best to stay around, and it's reviews like yours that will encourage others to give us a try. We're always committed to exceeding your expectations in some surprising way. Thank you again for your kindness, and for being a part of our very special Desoto Oceanview Inn family.
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Three months after making a reservation through Trip Advisor, Steven cancelled our reservation at the Desoto Inn only 1 week before our trip, giving the reason that he "sold the property" two weeks ago.
Completely unprofessional. I would not recommend staying at one of Steve's properties because I do not trust him.
Steve has his excuses and justifications, but he is corrupt so if you want to avoid dissappointment, stress, and a bad experience... AVOID!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
5  Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

We are terribly sorry that Jessica V was inconvenienced by the sale of our sister property, The Ocean Spray Inn. The sale was finalized on Friday, May 12, 2017. On May 17, 2017, the new owners informed us of their decision not to accept daily, or short term rentals, a decision completely beyond our control. We IMMEDIATELY began contacting the four impacted guests, including Denise, the registered guest who Jessica V was a guest of, to inform them of the situation. We also IMMEDIATELY contacted TripAdvisor, and began searching for accommodations for these guests. When Jessica V angrily contacted me, I repeatedly asked her to calm down, and be patient with the process, but she was unwilling to accept our word that we were doing everything to make sure all of our guests had a place to stay. We are happy to say that all of the guests who trusted that we would do the right thing were happily accommodated for the holiday weekend. We hope that Jessica V found accommodations for her one night stay in beautiful south Florida. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews