We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, clean, convenient property with lots of nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent a 2-night getaway at Villa-Sinclair with two friends during a gloriously warm January weekend recently. The four of us have traveled together before so we decided to share one room. We made our reservations by phone with the owner, Mr. Hughes, and arrived late afternoon on a Friday.

Our host was gracious and welcoming and checked us into our suite, #1, called the “Suite Matisse.” The private bedroom is adjoined to a common kitchen/living area with private bath, and a futon folds out to a second queen bed.

The rooms are fully furnished and heavily decorated. There is a long, long list of standard amenities, and an even longer list of optional, additional-charge items. We came prepared with our own beach towels and sheets and a comforter for the futon queen bed, and so did not incur the additional charge for the extra linens and bedding for the other couple in the room. We were charged the $10/person/night add-on charge for the 3rd and 4th guests in the room. That charge is not unreasonable, but it should have been quoted to us in our rate when we made the reservation by phone since we told Mr. Hughes we’d be four to the room.

We enjoyed the visit very much. The location is outstanding — less than 150 feet from the Hollywood Broadwalk. On-street parking is handled through a city-wide parking pass ($15/stay additional), and allows you to park one car in any city-owned street side space, city garage or city lot. We found parking hard to come by during the busy Saturday afternoon and nighttime hours, and wound up parking a few short blocks away in the city garage at Michigan Street. Not a big hassle, but be prepared to spend some time looking for parking during busy weekends.

The common areas of the Villa-Sinclair are very spacious and inviting. Mr. Hughes welcomed us with a free champagne by the outdoor fire pit on Friday night. We spent part of the following night playing cards and watching movies and the NFL playoffs on the outdoor big screen. It’s a wonderful place to relax, meet your fellow guests, have fun and enjoy refreshments or food from you room. And the Organic Brewery is just steps away at the corner of Polk and the Broadwalk, so there’s plenty of fresh craft beer close by as well!

Mr. Hughes runs a nice property. He could make life simpler for his guests with these changes:

1. State the required Wi-Fi connection/phone/fax fees ($20 + tax per stay or per week) in the quoted rate; we were charged this fee even though we did not use the Wi-Fi, fax or phone at all during our stay.
2. Simplify and condense the email reservation confirmation sent to guests. Our confirmation ran to 9 very-hard-to-read printed pages. There is no reason a hotel confirmation needs to be more than a single page: guest contact info, date in and out, number of rooms, number of beds, rate per day, taxes, and any special required fees (parking, resort fees, etc.). Nine pages is just too too much to deal with.

We recommend the Villa-Sinclair if you want to stay VERY close to, but not ON, the Broadwalk in Hollywood. The property and guest rooms are very nice, clean, safe and fully-appointed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Suite Matisse facing Polk Street. Quiet and sunny in the mornings.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreeInFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

The location of the villas is great. Right next to the beach and a short walk to many cafes, restaurants & bars.
The hospitality of the host and his partner was great, very friendly and helpful. The villas have a kitchen and all amenities that you require, which well found very useful as we had been travelling for some time.
However beware there are a few unexpected additional costs, such as wifi which wasn't properly displayed.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Travis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Sinclair, Owner at Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2013

Dear Travis,
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Villa Sinclair,
as we include the Most Freebies in the Hospitality Industry
Contrary to many other Hotels which are charging for Local phone calls, Long distance calls, Fax service & Fast Internet with Data Port & Wifi
Villa Sinclair caters for Leisure & Business Travelers & offers in each suite, Phone/Fax & Fast Internet Access with UNLIMITED Local & Long Distance calls in the USA, UNLIMITED Fast Access Internet access Cable Data Port or WIFI & UNLIMITED Fax in each suite & IPad Rental also available.
For a Flat Low Fee of $20 for all your Unlimited Communication/Stay or per week, which ever come first.
We try to be as clear & forward as possible, with Bar & Menu of Services you signed & agreed upon check-in showing on 1 side all the FREEbies included & on the Other side, the additional Mini bar & services for a minimum fee; the same Bar & Menu of services is posted on your kitchen's fridge & wall during your entire Stay & remitted to you in hands at check in, a laminated page posted on your Phone/Fax in your suite next to the Internet Password access shows the flat low unlimited communication fee with Unlimited Phone/Fax & Internet Services offered & it's also on your the back of your entrance door.
I m sorry, you missed it & it retained your attention to include it in your review...
I m Very glad, you enjoyed our 3 Diamonds AAA Villa Hotel, for it's cleaningess, Amenities, Dedicated daily services & great location by the Beach & Hollywood Boardwalk, surrounded by 16 Restaurants & Bar within 3 blocks either on the Bay or on the Beach...
Looking forward to see you soon again at the Villa,
Sincerely yours
Hughes Longelin
Owner & Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Charming in general but had to wash everything before i could use it and was appalled when I opened the dishwasher for the 1st time on the 2nd night to find it full of washed dishes AND the toilet brush. Could not find anyone to complain to or check out with before leaving so left keys and parking permit in room. Rang owner when I reached next destination to voice my issues. He did not seem concerned just said he didn't know about it and it wouldn't happen again then thanked me for telling him. A very blasé and indifferent response to a very disturbing issue!!!!
Also noisy air con kept us awake!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 999lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Sinclair, Owner at Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

your remark was very important to us, we investigated & find out that our previous guests from Ottawa had placed & wash the toilet brush in the diswasher & runned it to wash it?????
Except that your suite was splot less & if you had asked & adjusted the AC in F1 instead of F3, it would have been much more silent, I was at the villa 23H a day to respond to your needs, instead of posting it, any issue could have been brought to me, nevertherless I appologized as we missed it after the check out of our previous guest & as a result, we waved your final Bar, Parking & additional services Tab. at the time of check out, we were on the beach & we were back 10 minutes after your call,
Sincerely yours
Hughes longelin
Owner & host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My name is Chris C, and this hotel is extremely clean prices are very reasonable after all its less than a minute from the boardwalk and there are plenty of FREE amenities..

The kitchen has the necessities to cook anything you need, saving money on food..

There's an outdoor villa to relax before and after the beach. There are outdoor grills, comfortable couches to lounge, subtle warming music, a hammock to tan on, and a nice sized jacuzzi first come first serve.

The owner is nice and responsive as well. He's friendly and will take care of you during the stay..

Nothing but good reviews for this place, enjoy your stay..

If interested go to villa-Sinclair.com where I went

Room Tip: There's no fitness room only reason for bad review
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had verbal and email confirmation for my reservation from, Hugh, the owner 2 days before my arrival date. Later than 10 PM on the night of my late arrival an email was sent to me saying my room was not available. I called and Hugh said a guest stayed an extra day so my room was taken. If this was true, then why did he wait till 10 PM to make contact when check out is 11 AM and the information would be know?
It was spring break weekend and it took 3 people 45 minutes on the phone at midnight to find another room at cost of 50% more. See my glowing review of the Marriott on Hollywood beach!
This was not a low paid flunky making a decision; this was the owner that left me on the street at midnight on a spring break weekend.
Look at my past reviews, I’m a positive easy to please traveler. The Villa Sinclair failed me.
Oh, he did offer me a 50% discount on a nights stay in the future. The odds are zero I will “attempt” to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa-Sinclair, Owner at Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Sorry, with only 6 suites double booking happens once or twice a year
& this time it was YOU.
Booking.com had made a mistake on the departure date
Of guests staying a week before you.
We offered you 50% off on your next stay
With no restriction, no expiration date
In case you ever change your mind
Sincerely yours
Hughes Longelin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

PROS: friendly and accommodating management, near beach, clean
CONS: nickeled and dimed to the tune of $275.00 in extra charges (and we were SO careful!),
leaky aero-mattress, broken blender, torn lampshades, sheets that didn't fit the sofa bed, broken upholstered armchair...
Currently, construction obstructs view of and access to beach down the street.
The video made the place look so appealing. We were disappointed and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I would most definitely stay there again and recommend it to others. The place is very intimate. The kitchen is fully equiped and stocked with food and drinks for sale. You can tell that there is a lot of love put into the place not only by the way it is decorated, but also by the service from the owner and the innkeepers. It is steps from the beach. There is a sauna and a jacuzzi on the patio. Friday nights is movie night on the patio where there is a movie projected on a screen and there is champagne. I love love love this place. My home away from home with a little piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.3 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.9 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#25 of 71 in Hollywood
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa

Address: 317 Polk Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range: £94 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated 3 Diamonds AAA,3.5 Emeralds SSHVW, SEH, HBBA & first & Only BBB A+ Rated Hotel Rating since 2005 in Hollywood Beach Florida. Villa Sinclair offers oversized Studios, 1 & 2 Bedroom Beach suites very well appointed all with Full equipped Kitchen, full Bath, 32" Flat Screen TV-DVD-CD-IPod-IPhone Docking-Phone-Fax-Fast Internet. Rates include a lot of free goodies like complimentary welcome pineapple, chocolates on the bed, sun cream lotion, Beach towels, Beach chairs Cooler, Coffee, Tea, Creamer, Coconut Shampoo & conditioner & Soap, Candles, 200 FREE cable Channels, 40 FREE Dvds movies in suite, 2000 to exchange, 10 FREE Cds to listen to & 1 Hour per day/suite detailed FREE Daily Maid Service. 100 Feet from the Beach & Boardwalk, Property features 6,000SQF of Tropical Lounge, Hot tub, Sauna, 2 Outside Showers, 5 BBQs, 2 fire places, 2 Hammocks, 5 Beachside Cabanas, Outside Bathroom & Sundeck, a covered IPad Cafe Beach Lounge with FREE WIFI, IPad Rental, Espresso, Cappuccino, Teas, Bar d'Eaux, Soft Bar, with 50" Flat Screen TV Outside with cable & Netflix, 6 feet Wide Movie screen with Projector, Bicycles Rental, Free Beach toys for the kids, Laundry with washer, dryer & Iron & Iron board, VIP City wide Parking Pass or VIP Reserved Parking on Property & Property owner on site almost 24/7 to respond to all guests needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Sinclair Beach Suites And Spa
Villa Sinclair Beach Hotel Hollywood
Villa Sinclair Beach Suites & Spa Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing