We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I really wanted to love this place. The room we had was a single room with a small kitchen in it. Nice to have a fridge and sink. The shower was large and the room overall was really nice. We loved that you could walk out right to the beach. Literally, across the street.

But, those were the only good things. The parking situation is a nightmare. Its a small lot in the back of the hotel where if you drive anything larger than a smart car, its impossible to get in and out. We had the staff block us in and were annoyed when we asked them to move. When we came back from the casino, we couldn't park and had to pay to park over night in the parking garage.

Not the end of the world. But what really got us is the cute little tiki bar opened around 4pm. The music was blasting; I mean bumping through the walls. And if that wasn't annoying, the music was straight up hip hop with all the swears and sexual language just blaring through the walls. The song that was on when we left was, " we don't give a F*#@ about your feelings". How can they play that? What if there were families with children? Very unprofessional. It was a party for the staff, not the guests.

I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCaribbeanResort, Guest Service Agent at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry for the lack of service you experienced during your stay. Your experience is not one we want for our guests. We have since addressed the issues and spoken to the staff members in question to ensure that our guests are provided with optimal service during their stay. This incident is not one that will reoccur on our property.

The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    159
    65
    26
    33
See reviews for
140
225
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We rented a two bedroom apartment for one night's stay after our cruise and found the apartment a very nice respite. The bed in the main room seemed the most comfortable, but unfortunately the kids took that bed and so my husband and I were left to sleep on the rather uncomfortable bed in the separate room. The kitchen had enough supplies to make a decent meal, unfortunately there were no grocery stores within walking distance. But, all that said, the staff was absolutely wonderful and they even got us into our room well before the check-in time...and with a smile!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here two nights. The room was clean, well equipped and modern and for this price you can stay very close to the ocean. There are mediocre restaurants in the neighborhood, and the crowd is very mixed, cruise people, families with small kids, old people.

My only complaint: Their office is only open from 9 am - 11 am and 2 pm - 5 pm. We could only get there at 7 pm, so our key was in a lockbox on the doorknob and they emailed us the code. We were told to check in the next morning. Therefore we didn't have much word in the room selection. My fear came true when I saw the room. It was #125, which is located on the corner of the apartment complex, looking over a playground and the back of a restaurant. It is not soundproof at all, so if you are planning to sleep, bring earplugs. I felt like because we could not pick our own room, they just gave us the worse one.

I would stay here again, but would make sure to pick my own room.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 125.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCaribbeanResort, Guest Service Agent at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We apologize if the room you were given did not adequately fit your needs. Room 125 is the closests in proximity to the playground and Broadwalk as well as in a very private spot of the hotel making it a favorite for many of our guests. The office is open from 9am to 10pm Monday through Friday and till 5pm on weekends but we cannot guarantee placement in a particular room as it depends on availability. We hope that your future stay with us will be absent of any inconvenience.

The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the accomodations to be very nice. The unit had been remodeled so everything was new and very clean. The unit was small but how much time do you spend in it anyhow? The location is perfect - we walked to restaurants, bars, etc and the bike rental was next door. The beach was steps away and it was very convenient to go back to the hotel if necessary. The tiki bar was great and we loved the bartender. Everyone at the resort seemed very helpful and eager to recommend attractions nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PATRAVELER54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed here from 5 days before we left on a cruise . After travelling all day Christmas fro Los Angeles we were more than ready to just plop into bed.The staff had emailed me about our late holiday arrival and made arrangements for us to get in the room and to park our rental car (right behind the room). 4 people in a studio was a bit tight but the room was new, efficient and perfectly situated on the Hollywood Beach and broadwalk. Steps out the door were restaurants and bars. Outside the room were tables, bbqs and the tiki bar. While I was a bit disappointed the bar only served beer and wine it became our before bed wind down spot. Wi-Fi worked throughout the property. Location location, location, great staff, cute modernized hotel, couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Perhaps this place would be great for the young singles or couples, but as retirees, this was not what I expected when I saw the words "resort". The building is older, we stayed in a unit next to the Tiki bar and the noise of the patrons and the TV carried into our room. There was linoleum on the floor and no rugs, nothing on the walls, no place to put suitcases. Parking was a small lot in back of the building and there was a daily fee. No hair dryer in the room, but one available from the front desk. Close to the boardwalk and beach. Our room had a small kitchenette. So spare and sparse that it felt very uninviting to me, and that is, of course a personal opinion.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamaromanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCaribbeanResort, Guest Service Agent at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to have fallen short of meeting your expectations. We try to accommodate our guest’s preferences as much as possible. We invite you to stay with us again in the future, perhaps you may find a room farther from our Tiki Bar area that fits your needs.

The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We just got off a cruise ship and decided to stay in the area for a few extra days so we rented a car and ended up on Hollywood Beach. We were looking for a place to stay and stumbled on the Caribbean. Lucky for us they had one room left and gave us a very warm welcome. The front desk staff were great and got us in right away. The room was more than satisfactory for us. It was renovated and had a nice kitchen and bathroom which were very clean. The owner Boris went out of his way to make us feel at home there.
Jim and Deborah Oakville Ontario

Room Tip: Ground level room seems like a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Property: Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Address: 313 Hayes St, Hollywood, FL 33019-3348 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean offers Newly Renovated Studios and One Bedroom Suites with all the modern comforts featuring luxurious kitchens adorned with custom wooden cabinetry and granite counter-tops, tiled bathrooms and showers, wall-mounted flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi Internet.Located in Historic Hollywood Beach Florida, the Caribbean Resort is just steps away from seven miles of white sandy beach and the famous Broadwalk offering 2.5 miles of paved walking, jogging and biking path lined with restaurants, nightlife and all kinds of shopping.Hollywood Beach, Florida is known as a sportsman's paradise, offering all types of water sports imaginable. Go fishing, boating or even kite-surfing nearby. How about a round of golf? Or maybe try your luck at Gulfstream Racetrack and Casino, Dania Jai-Alai or The Hard Rock Casino. World renowned South Beach is just a twenty minute drive south and and beautiful Fort-Lauderdale is only a few miles to the north. All this excitement within minutes of the Caribbean Resort!The only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribbean Resort by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Apartments Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Resort By The Ocean Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing