We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice place, nice people. Shelley at Tiki bar very professional and pleasant. However if you are coming from out of town, be real specific in what you need. For example my husband and I took a motorcycle ride up the weekend prior to make sure both our room and my sisters were next to each other and to assure they were on the ground floor. We also reserved a parking space at that time. My sister and I rode up early, thank god because nothing had been arranged we had to make arrangements at check in. Although property has been remodeled beds are not comfortable at all. Location is very central, close to everything. I recommend it but if you are from out of town be very specific to staff as to what you need.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiamiBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
There are newer reviews for Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

The room was about as big as expected, although the bed seems smaller than the pictures entail. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is onsite parking, which was very convenient, however, the spaces were very small and some spots made it unable to open your car door. Unfortunately the Tiki bar was closed the entire weekend we were there. They usually only offer new towels for your room 3/7 days of the week, although they did make an exception when we really needed new towels on an off day. There are no ice cube trays in the freezers and they have no onsite ice.
All of that being said, for the price and location, the place met expectations and the staff was very friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I has been in the hotel before, and it continues very good, nice ample rooms and great service.
The implement a late check out time up to 5:00 pm, for additional $50, I believe is a great idea, very handy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastor54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed on a Friday night before a cruise. The first room we were given looked nice, but it was very hot since someone had messed with the remote control air conditioning settings. Luckily the office was still open and while the attendant came in and fixed the problem for us, she gave a us an alternate room just so we wouldn't have to wait for it to cool down. The lady who helped us was very helpful and friendly.
Our alternate room was almost as nice as the first one. Both rooms were small with modern touches. Both came with a tiny kitchen area with a full size fridge. For a couple that doesn't like to eat out all of the time, this room is probably great for a long weekend if you do not have too much luggage. Our room was near the Tiki Bar which had me a little concerned since I had read some negative reviews regarding noise from the bar. This wasn't an issue for us despite going to bed around 11 pm. I did hear some noise on the streets after the bars let out, but it passed quickly and I returned to sleep.
The hotel arranged our transportation to our cruise terminal for the morning. This turned out to be fantastic for us. Since a few other people needed transportation for different cruise ships, we were sent a small bus. This ended up costing half of what we expected to pay for a town car.
I really find no reason to focus on room quality when it comes to this hotel. Yes it would be nice if the room was bigger or if there was one full length mirror, but the hotel room was clean and updated. We were here for the location and after walking the entire Hollywood Broadwalk, I could find no other hotel with as tropical a feel with such a central location as the Caribbean Resort by the Ocean. We were steps away from a fun day time and night time beach scene. Staying here was a great way to kick off our vacation and left us wanting to return to Hollywood sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resrchtrvlobsesvly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice place...very clean room . The room was small but very modern everything was up-to-date,nice little kitchenette with a tiki bar right outside the door. Bathroom was extremely small I am 6-5 so it was a tight fit but adequate. About a 30 second walk to the boardwalk with a few restaurants and bars that are a short walking distance. About a 5 to 7 minute walk to the intercoastal where you can pick up a water taxi to go up to Fort Lauderdale, or take the Hollywood trolley to bring you downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This mini resort hotel was the perfect spot for me and two friends to kick back and enjoy a relaxing week in Hollywood, Florida. Steps from the boardwalk and beach, the hotel was in a great location. We stayed in the standard suite with a bedroom and a pull-out couch. It was very modern and clean inside. For three young ladies in our 20s, the suite had everything we needed and we felt completely safe. The full kitchen in the suite was great because we were able to cook instead of eating out for EVERY meal. We bought steaks at the grocery store (a short bus ride away) and were able to use the BBQ in the hotel courtyard to cook them. It was great! The tiki bar in the courtyard was a great spot to hang out and meet other people. We made some friends! On our last day, we had to check out at 11 a.m., but our flight home wasn't until 7 p.m. The hotel staff allowed us to leave our baggage in their office for the day while we soaked up the sun on the beach. They even offered to call us a cab to the airport when it came time for us to leave. When our cab driver didn't show up, we started to panic that we were going to miss our flight, but the owner of the hotel GENEROUSLY offered to drive us to the airport himself!! He wouldn't accept the cash we offered him in return, and said the fact that we chose his hotel for our stay was thank-you enough. We made it to the airport on time and felt so grateful that he saved the day! Overall, it was a lovely experience and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

stayed at the Caribbean Resort by the Ocean for 5 days. The rooms seem to be all newly renovated, they are bright and a little small, but you're staying by the ocean for a reason, and that is usually to visit the ocean.
The Bed was a little firm for my likes, but not intolerable. As Melissa L. mentioned there were no washcloths, but we found some at the local wal-mart that worked wonderfully. There was a small kitchenette that only one person can fit in at a time, and the same goes for the bathroom, but they were perfect for the two of us. There was a small table in the corner that is affixed to the wall, with 2 chairs which makes it difficult to eat there, but there was a large table outside our room that we could eat at anytime we wished. The shower head was up pretty high on the wall, but there is a button on the shower head that enables you to turn off the water periodically. Reminded me of a Navy shower. New windows that shut out some of the surrounding noise..(I could only imagine what it was like before they renovated).
The motel has a small parking lot for visitors and we always managed to find parking for our vehicle, but I wouldn't recommend a large truck or SUV though there were a few on the premises. Access to the motel is on a one-way street and the pictures on Google maps don't do justice to the renovations that have been done. There is a Tiki Bar in the central area of the motel too, it seems to be very nice, but we didn't use it during our visit. We stayed next to the one way road that runs from Hayes St. to Buchanan St.
The motel is about 100 feet from Hollywood Beach which seemed to be crowded regardless of the day of the week. It is a beautiful beach with many businesses and restaurants on the boardwalk. People walk and bike on the boardwalk, and there are some chairs that look like palates on the beach that you can rent.
The weather was beautiful for the most part with the exception of a few thunder storms which we always enjoy.
Overall it was a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harddriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,565 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#11 of 71 in Hollywood
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Address: 313 Hayes St, Hollywood, FL 33019-3348 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £71 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean offers Newly Renovated Studios and One Bedroom Suites with all the modern comforts featuring luxurious kitchens adorned with custom wooden cabinetry and granite counter-tops, tiled bathrooms and showers, wall-mounted flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi Internet.Located in Historic Hollywood Beach Florida, the Caribbean Resort is just steps away from seven miles of white sandy beach and the famous Broadwalk offering 2.5 miles of paved walking, jogging and biking path lined with restaurants, nightlife and all kinds of shopping.Hollywood Beach, Florida is known as a sportsman's paradise, offering all types of water sports imaginable. Go fishing, boating or even kite-surfing nearby. How about a round of golf? Or maybe try your luck at Gulfstream Racetrack and Casino, Dania Jai-Alai or The Hard Rock Casino. World renowned South Beach is just a twenty minute drive south and and beautiful Fort-Lauderdale is only a few miles to the north. All this excitement within minutes of the Caribbean Resort!The only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribbean Resort by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Apartments Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Resort By The Ocean Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing