We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under new management - Terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Turtle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Turtle Resort
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under new management - Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Based on prior reviews my family stayed at Sea Turtle Inn over the 2012 Christmas Holiday. What a terrible experience. The resort is now being managed by Hollywood Beach Hotel. Although I had made the reservation in October and paid a deposit in November we arrived to a building that was under renovation. The unit was filthy when we arrived. All counters, floors and dishes were covered with dust. No internet (we used the Marriotts guest internet), three TVs only one was working. No broom/dustpan, no blender, no dishcloths - we had to spend $70 at Target to just get the place clean and stocked, No linen service or housekeeping in a 9 night stay - had to wash my own towels and sheets. Dishwasher was inoperable. AC did not work on Christmas day and temps were in the mid 80s. Unit serviced on 12/26. Parking inadequate for number of tenants. Trash everywhere outside of building as additional renovations were being made. "Management" offered us perfume on day two or to have us move to another crappy building on A1A (no thank you). But actually clean up the place -not so much.

Thankfully the weather was beautiful and we were able to avoid the place except to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pm122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    6
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This place is just off the Broadwalk in Hollywood Beach and located near plenty of bars, restaurants and t shirt shops. The beach was no more than100 feet from the door to our room. Everything we were looking for was very convenient. Our room had one bedroom, a small living room with a fold our couch and a small kitchen. The place itself and all of the fixtures are old, but well maintained and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albanymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

The stay at Sea Turtle was more than excellent!! My family stayed at the Resort the middle part of December 2011. With the beach only steps away from our front door the kids usually rose out of a deep sleep with "Can we go down to the beach?" The weather is more than desirable! We live in the Pacific Northwest where temps above 50 is "a beautiful day". There is just something about Sea Turtle that you don't find most places. Anything you can think of they have it, from beach chairs, umbrellas, sand buckets ect. The comforts of home in this tightly knit community style resort set your heart at ease. The kids can play in an enclosed area around the resort while you sip on your beverage of choice right outside your door while listening to the waves crashing on the beach. By the time your vacation is over you will have made life long friendships, many cherished memories, and isn't that what traveling is all about. I am recommending Sea Turtle so not only myself but others will have the opportunity to share friendships, along with great eats, beautiful weather, endless activities to entertain any age, and diversity. We are looking forward to the next vacation and the new additions to the resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawligarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

We stayed at the Sea Turtle in Nov. 2009 for just a few nights. Steps away from the beach & broadwalk. The owners, Mike & Diana, were absolutely wonderful!!! It was like staying at a friends place. It's not very fancy (very retro) but very clean. It had everything we needed, even beach chairs. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

We stayed at the Sea Turtle in September 2009. In November we returned to Florida for a few days and obviously stayed there again. The location is fantastic!!, literally steps from the ocean and the Broadwalk with its shops and restaurants. The one and two bedroom apartments are not luxurious but very comfortable and there is a very nice terrace where we would dine on the days we chose to eat in. They also have a BBQ area around the back which is available for the guests. The owners, Mike and Diana live on the premises and are super great and very easy going. Over the past 5 years, this is the 4th time staying there and it feels like "Home". I would definitely recommend the Sea Turtle.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowbird055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth Tx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Right on beautiful Hollywood Boardwalk and beach - very laid back atmoshpere - loved the decor and hospitality

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Bit93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

We discovered the Sea Turtle Resort in late July 2008 while searching online for a convenient and affordable beach-hotel with free parking in the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. The Sea Turtle, which was conveniently located between the Ft. Lauderdale airport and Miami, seemed to fit the bill as we also had friends to meet in the Hollywood area. We took the 6-night package from August 12th and were delighted with our choice. One of the attractions is the well-maintained Hollywood Broadwalk—lined with restaurants, hotels, shops, and bars on the side opposite the beach—that begins a little further north and extends south for about 2 miles. Though only a minute’s walk from the beach, which we could see from our corner apartment, the privacy of the resort is preserved from the evening bustle and noise of the Broadwalk. The apartment was adequately furnished, and there is a self-use laundry at the back. Mike Gomez, the proprietor, is very laid back, discreet, and trusting, so much so that he simply counted on our honesty to drop by his other hotel to pay the rent as we were driving away on the last day.

The Sea Turtle was naturally our first choice when we decided in early July 2009 to take a 10-12 day summer vacation in the Greater Miami area. However, Mike offered the apartment for less than half-price if we committed to stay a full month (eventually from 20th July), an offer we could not refuse. By now, Mike and his wife Diana were themselves staying at the apartment just above us, and were ever ready help with any unexpected problems. Moreover, with free Wi-fi is now available, we no longer had to carry our laptops to the nearby Marriott hotel for Internet and email access. We spent our days swimming, jogging, walking, visiting museums, and exploring the coast, nature parks, and other sites around Miami and the Gold Coast, including a 3-night excursion to Key West: the Sea Turtle is indeed well-located. Living in cold Chicago, we enjoyed the summer and could retire into the comfort of the reliable AC to read and work when the heat became unbearable. The complex is well-managed, decorated in a lively fashion, and the surrounding compound kept clean.

Among the highlights of our stay was the unexpected and sad beaching, just near the Sea Turtle, of a beaked whale and her 6-month old calf that vacationers attempted in in vain to save. I was able to videotape for about 5 minutes this rare event that happens only once or twice a year along the whole Florida coast:

[--]

[--]

[--]


We already miss the Sea Turtle and are sure to come back soon!

Elizabeth and Sunthar

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svAbhinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.7 mi away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#27 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hollywood By The Sea Hotel
Hollywood By The Sea Hotel
#7 of 27 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marlin Beachside Hotel
The Marlin Beachside Hotel
#1 of 27 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seagull
The Seagull
#24 of 27 in Hollywood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Beach Inn
Sun Beach Inn
#14 of 27 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Wave Hollywood Beach
Blue Wave Hollywood Beach
#48 of 66 in Hollywood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Turtle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Turtle Resort

Property: Sea Turtle Resort
Address: 315 Roosevelt St, Lutz, Florida, Hollywood, FL 33019-3535
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Turtle Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the BEACH~Getaways, Birthdays, Golf Excursions, Family Reunions, Spiritual Reunions, and any Getaway place you need~ Sea Turtle can meet your needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Turtle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Turtle Resort Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing