We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful 2 Month Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caroline-Ocean Beach Hotels
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We rented a unit for the months of June and July 2010 for my wife's mother to stay while she watched our newborn every day. Our house isn't big enough, and the price and location next to the beach was too good to pass up for the summer. Since we are local, we had the ability to take our time and walk all over Hollywood beach looking at tons of buildings and units, and were able to visually inspect units before deciding on where we would feel comfortable with the in-laws and a newborn to stay. While the building is older (as are ALL of the buildings in that area), the units are kept immaculately clean by Tammie and her staff. We would not have had our child stay in an unclean unit.

We dropped our son off every morning, and the location was perfect and allowed the in-laws to walk him on the beach before it got too hot, and again late in the day before we picked him up.

As I previously mentioned, the building is old, and during the two-month stay, there was an electrical problem once where late in the evening (at the height of electric usage) there wasn't enough power to run everything off of the circuit. Some of the outlets from some of the units were affected. Tammie came out right away, even though it was after hours, and was able to run an extension cord to power the air through another outlet that ran off of a different circuit, and had the electrician out early the next morning. Problem solved.

To me, there are things that may go wrong during a stay, and it's not so much that they go wrong, as certain things are outside the control of management, but how management deals with them. Tammie was incredible when it came to fixing that one problem right away, and was a pleasure to deal with regarding any other questions that arose during the summer. She was engaged with her guests, and always wanted to make sure that everyone was enjoying themselves.

We are alreeady planning for another lengthy stay next summer, and probably a shorter stay during winter break.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewofuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

This place is a well kept secret, I will always return here. This has already been my third experience. I feel safe, it is clean, well-maintained and yet reasonable. Also, it is accessible to the beach and many fine places to dine, but thats not the best of it. Tammie, the manager, sells this place, she is awesome. She's funny, friendly, and totally professional. I could stay here forever. Thanks Tam - you're the absolute best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailprioleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We had a great time at this motel: spacious and well equipped, well located -few meters from the beach and Route 1 -and finally: the manager! A great person. funny, kind and very helpful.
One default: near the main road so it's can sometimes noisy .... but this does not prevent us from sleeping :p

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caskos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

You will be welcomed by the manager Tammy who is just nice, friendly and a bundle of laughs. Visiting Florida for the very first time and staying at the The Caroline was an experience we will cherish forever. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and no noise is heard from one room to another. The courtyard outside your room is as welcoming as Tammy with its Tiki hut, huge BBQ grill, comfortable lounging chairs for everyone to enjoy and socialize. For those who can't walk very far, your truly enjoy the short distance to all your needs such as the beach, boardwalk, restaurants, shops, bars and outside entertainment. For those who enjoy long walks well there is a great boardwalk along the beach with sights all around. Our stay was absolutely so great that we have already booked our next trip back to The Caroline for a month in 2011. Thank you Tammy for making a little girls dream come true. Gloria & Yves Bethiaume

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madoune1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2009

With a crying baby on our hands upon arrival to Hollywood Beach, my wife and I booked into something else for just one night out of complete desparation. Knowing that there just HAD TO be something better out there, we spent the next whole day searching up and down the whole area of Hollywood Beach and struck gold upon finding The Caroline. It is exactly what we were hoping for when we came here--1) complete and total cleanliness we could trust for our baby's health & hygiene (not to mention ours), 2) phenomenal proximity to the beach without the raucousness of being right on the boardwalk, 3) right on A1A and easily reachable by car, bus & taxi, 4) a place non-guests can not easily meander through at night, 5) a great, clean, roomy kitchen, 6) high-speed RELIABLE wi-fi internet, 7) easygoing come-and-go-as-you-please atmosphere.
We are DEFINITELY booking ourselves in here in advance of our return to ensure our happiness and comfort.
Tammy, the manager, is a doll and a gem.

The Caroline IS the place to stay in Hollywood Beach.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Tammy is wonderful! She is always happy and making everyone feel comfortable. This place is very clean. I love the Tiki Hut! Walking distance to all bars, restaurants, and stores. This place is in the heart of everything and still nice and quiet! The other guests are also very pleasant!

I am glad that I read the reviews and choose this place!

I recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SexDriveEnergyDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Tammie helped us out when we could't find no place to stay. She's a warm lady full of positive energy and her apartments are very aesthetic and nice. Just a few steps away from the beach. Like it a lot...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatjaMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WalkAbout Beach Resort
WalkAbout Beach Resort
#14 of 73 in Hollywood
248 reviews
2 mi away
The Desoto Inn
The Desoto Inn
#11 of 73 in Hollywood
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#7 of 73 in Hollywood
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caroline-Ocean Beach Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caroline-Ocean Beach Hotels

Address: 1515 N Ocean Dr, Hollywood, FL 33019-3316 (Formerly Hibiscus Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range: £77 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Caroline-Ocean Beach Hotel Hollywood
The Caroline-Ocean Beach Hotels Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing