We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem on Hollywood Beach”
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riptide Hotel
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Definitely go to Riptide in Hollywood. It's right on the boardwalk and the tiki bar is so much fun. Tarah is an amazing bartender - always happy, smiling, a hard worker and just fun to be with. I know I'll be back! Great live music too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beautiful escape from reality...wait, this beach is my reality!

Tarah keeps the energy so beautiful and the music is always on point. The staff is extremely pleasant.

Great music, Great people, Lovely beach

Tony T

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The coolest Tiki Bar in town. We are regulars and Tarah is an awesome bartender always wearing a big smile. The Cuban sandwich is delicious and their tuna salad sandwich. Wait! I haven't had anything from the menu that wasn't delish! Great prices and great view too ice cold drinks served with a smile. Live music all day everyday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Derek,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this amazing review about the Riptide!

We are currently working on adding even more delicious items to our menu for you to enjoy!

Thank you so much for your business!

Regards,

Jeremy Noy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have been in Holly Beach many times since 3 years, and I would say it s the best spot on the Beach, good music, excellent service, I ll be back in may to see my prefered bartender Tarah!!
Eric Joyal

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Eric,

Thank you so much for this amazing review and for your business!

We are all looking forward to seeing you again in May!

Until then, a bientot!

Jeremy Noy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We were on our way from North Florida to the Keys and needed a place to stay for the night. After looking online at several hotels in the Miami area we became discouraged by the price but then saw a room available at the Riptide. After reading previous reviews, it became a no brainer that this was the one for us...small, charming, right on the beach.
Getting there was easy and parking was not a major issue since there is parking on the premises with a permit you get upon check-in. Check-in was quick and simple and we found our room without a problem. My first impression was good. It’s a typical small beach hotel (maybe 28 rooms), with a laid-back atmosphere and Tiki bar out front. There were lots of people in the small courtyard next to the bar, and all seemed to be having a good time drinking a few beers and listening to the guy playing music on the side. The bar had very reasonable prices and good friendly service, but many of the guests brought their own drinks which didn’t seem to be an issue.
We had a double room (#24) on the ground floor, with a full kitchen and sitting area with couch, table and chairs. The room was basically a stand-alone building with no rooms bordering any side, however there was one above us on the 2nd floor. The room was a quite dated but clean. All main windows (three walls) had blinds instead of curtains that helped to brighten the room. The beds were comfortable and the AC worked perfectly. The bathroom was a little small but had a full tub/shower, and sink (with unfortunately little to no counter space). The water pressure was pretty weak, but not really a problem unless you have really long hair. The view from the room was the Atlantic…just across the boardwalk, with a wide sandy beach and turquoise colored water. There was lots foot traffic on the boardwalk, right outside our window, but it mellowed to a trickle by 10:00 PM and was not an issue. There were BBQ grills right outside the door but we didn’t use them. I thought it was a little bit weird to have a have to sign an agreement that I would pay totally ridiculous prices for any lost/stolen items from the room. They told me Housekeeping inventories everything everyday so they know it is all there, but I wasn’t given a checklist in order to verify. Not really a customer-friendly way of greeting the guest, however it may be the norm in a Spring Break destination.

That said, we really enjoyed the short time we were at the Riptide, and wished we had time to stay a few days longer. At half the price of big chain and boutique hotels around the area, the charm and location of the Riptide can’t be beat. We’ll be back!
Additional thought: There are quite a few restaurants along the boardwalk but beware that at the restaurant we chose, our party of four was charged an 18% gratuity that we were not made aware of, and therefore almost tipped 38% (service wasn’t THAT good!).

Room Tip: Room 24 was ground floor, far enough away from the bar but with an awesome view of the beach/ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trueKLfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We ended up here by accident because it was raining and hung out by the bar...we loved it. Tarah was super friendly and the live music was great. We will definitely be back. Thank you Tarah for making us feel like one of your usuals

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good little hotel on the beach. We had a first floor room right on the courtyard. Room #4 was clean and in decent condition, beds were good, bathroom tiny with shower only, and it had a kitchenette that included a larger fridge. Bring your own drinks out to the courtyard/bar area, we did. Being 20 steps from the Tiki Bar the room was a bit noisy until about 10 pm but no big deal. We were the ones making the noise! Live entertainment was good quality especially for week nights. Good and friendly service from all the staff. Well done.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildonesminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy N, General Manager at Riptide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay in Hollywood and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards,

Jeremy Noy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Address: 2300 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £78 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located on the broadwalk in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. It is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV's with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. Daily parking fee of $10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing