We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Riptide Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riptide Hotel
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We had a perfect stay at the Riptide during our visit for the BCS Championship game. We were looking for a place with a good location and on the beach and read great reviews for this hotel. We were not disappointed. Location, location, location! The staff could not have been friendlier or more accomodating during our 2-night stay. Our room was just what we needed, simple and clean. The beach is only steps away, and the hotel provides bikes and beach chairs for your convenience, both of which we used. The hotel is walking distance to restaurants and local attractions and an easy and short ride from the airport. We also enjoyed the live entertainment (acoustic guitar). We are already planning another trip and plan to stay at the Riptide based on our wonderful experience.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twaller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    229
    88
    26
    29
See reviews for
232
265
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Riptide. The location is wonderful and right across the walkway from the beach. This is an older property but kept very clean. Our blinds were broken in our room but we were not too bothered by it. We also found the bed to be uncomfortable. There is a Tiki Bar in the patio area and they provide nice music by local artists almost daily, They are limited to Beer and Wine (and sodas) and do not serve hard liquor. If you want an afternoon cocktail you can stroll down the Boardwalk to a local bar or purchase your own and mix your drinks in your room. Veronica was very accomodating and works very hard to keep customers happy. We had some very cold weather one night and she lent us space heater to keep the room warm. They also have a BBQ on the patio which you can use anytime. One night we used it to BBQ chicken for dinner. This may not be a hotel for those who expect luxury. If you are a laid back person who just wants to relax - then this is a place for you. One thing their web page does not tell you is they have Wi Fi. We were able to use our laptop while there.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hotlips58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnestoa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We were here for a quick escape from the cold weather. Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, bikes, books and videos available anytime and overall relaxed atmosphere made this a perfect weekend. Easy parking, short walking distances to shops/eating and the beach right out your hotel door were nice extras!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coolazure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

While my husband and I are typically 5 star hotel types, we decided to be true "beachcombers" this holiday and stay directly on the broadwalk and beach.
Our choice of the Riptide was truly fortunate!
Our room was clean, charming, efficient, and fun.
Scott,(proud owner) was welcoming,helpful, and accomodating and his choice of staff is a true reflection of his caring.
The very beautiful Veronica, (Queen of the Tikki Hut) served as main barkeep and consierge and could advise and direct you as she did us to just about anything you could ask for and all with a wonderful smile.
Raffi (Head Housekeeper Extrordinaire) makes you feel like she's your Mom as she fluffs your pillows, tidies your room and delivers armloads of freshly folded towel right out of the dryer.
Tommy (Sweetheart Caretaker) greeted us with a smile every morning and ensured that beach chairs, umbrellas, bicycles and snorkel gear were ready for us at a moments notice.
The musicians that Scott hired (like wonferful Johnny) were supremely talented and added such a wonderful ambience while we sipped our frosty beers at the Tikki Bar by the beach.
All of these wonderful people combined with some of the friendliest local people (Bob and Mike - we love you!) and fellow vacationers we met made for a truly unforgettabe and wonderful 10 day holiday! Would we come back? YOU BETCHA!!!!
Thanks for all guys!
Joanne & Doug
Ottawa, Canada

  • Liked — The wonderful staff, the location andthe ambience
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ilovethesungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We just finished up a 5 day stay at the Riptide, and we couldn't have been happier. The Riptide is right on the beach. Bikes, beach towels, beach chairs, etc. are all available for the guests to use at no extra cost. Also, the guy who runs the place is a nice guy and always willing to help. This is not a luxury hotel, but it has everything that a family needs. I highly recommend the Riptide Hotel and Hollywood, Florida. This place is terrific for families.

  • Liked — Right on the beach
  • Disliked — Low water pressure (they were fixing the problem)
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DougL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2008

The Riptide Hotel is a small, lovely hotel with quaint rooms that offer a feeling of a bed and breakfast right on the beach. Exceptional hardwood or tile line the floors and the rooms provide everything needed for a great vacation.

The owner and employees were very nice and the adaptability of a small hotel far exceeds that of the many large hotels that line Hollywood Breach. The location couldn't be more perfect, literally right on the beach with shops and restaurants only a stroll down the boardwalk. At night the courtyard comes alive with the tiki bar and live music almost every night.

We stayed for five nights at a great price and plan to return in January. If you're looking for a getaway for just a place to stay, choose the Riptide, you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — I would have liked to stay longer
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivières, Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

December 15 and 16, 2008

We were originally booked at another hotel (terrible) which was just steps from the Riptide Oceanfront Hotel. During a walk along the boardwalk we saw this hotel with a vacancy sign. The housekeeper was cleaning one of the rooms so I went up to her and asked if I could see the room. She was nice enough to show me that one and 2 other ones that were slightly different. WOW they were nice, roomy and CLEAN. So we cancelled at the hotel we were at and booked with Riptide Oceanfront Hotel. Not only did we get a beautiful room with full service kitchinette, but also included in the price (79$US) was access to free wireless internet, bicylcles, beach chairs, beach towels, free VHS movie library, books, and some snorkelling equipment. On the Monday night that we were there, they had live entertainment at the Tiki Bar (in their little courtyard).

I don't know what their price is during prime time, but it is WELL worth it. You are only 20 odd steps from the beach.

The owner and the 3 employees are SUPER nice and friendly. I did not have my hairdryer with me so I went to the office and they lent me one.

We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — I liked everything
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lftremblay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 71 in Hollywood
1,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sheldon
Hotel Sheldon
#26 of 71 in Hollywood
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Hotel

Property: Riptide Hotel
Address: 2300 N Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-3518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#13 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riptide Hotel Tiki Bar & Restaurant is an oceanfront hotel located on the broadwalk in beautiful Hollywood Beach. We offer Live Music daily from 1pm-9pm at our Tiki Bar. It is the perfect place to relax, have a cold drink and a meal, listen to our talented Musicians and soak up the sun and gorgeous views of the best beach on the East Coast. Our rooms are simply furnished with kitchens containing all the glass & cookware essentials, flat screen TV's with cable and DVD players, WiFi, and more. We have many complimentary amenities available to our guests such as bicycles, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, and more. Daily parking fee of $10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riptide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Hotel Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing