We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great price , but be very careful for what ya pay for” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Gateway Inn
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
nationwide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great price , but be very careful for what ya pay for”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

GOOD MORNING SIR ,

I REALLY LOVE THE PRICE OF YOUR ROOMS AND HOW SPACIOUS THEY ARE .....
tHE POOL IS NICE AND Plenty of parking ....My only concern is the maintance guy who dumped two buckets of urine from the Balcony above us ....First the man apologized for doing it , Then he poured a second bucket which had splashed on my Girlfriends legs .....She was so upset she started to cry and shaking but was soon able to calm her down ..... She complained to the front desk in Which Our stay was Partially refunded . Which should have been fully refunded in my opinion as a professional in the hotel and restaurant business of almost 20 years . I understand this is not a Trump Tower or a Relais & Chateaux castle but still no matter what star or diamond your hotel is ,....Professionalism should be Always at it highest . I am writing you today to let you know about the renovations that have been going on that we have ignored UNTIL this morning around 9 am when it was someone right above our door hammering shaking the whole wall we banged on the wall and nothing stopped so People from other rooms were all in the hallway asking the house keepers will they stop and they said no they are renovating .....REALLY ???? No ???? its 9 am and checkout is at 11 am . I do understand the job must be done , but not by waking the people who possibly are paying for their checks . Maybe its not important to you folks at this establishment , But to me waking up a guest has always been a bad thing .
Finally , you have huge huge roaches here that are able to climb under the giant gap under the door . I have taken some pictures of them and the gap under the door and will forward them in a text or in an email if you would like . I really like your place here just a few things should be a little more convenient for the guest , please .


Thanks for lending your Ear ,

Room Tip: sorry no tip ...ur on your own here ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChefNationwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    48
    22
    86
See reviews for
66
65
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have traveled and had no hot water, but great ambience. I've traveled rough and enjoyed every minute. This hotel had hot water, no ambience, and plenty of hookers. Oh, and people smoking crack in the parking lot. Lots of that, too. Construction? How about 7am sharp, in the room next door? Solid banging on the walls for over and hour. A donut box in the pool area that laid there for 3 days without being cleaned up, a pool with no working filtration system, gravel and dirt and nails and old boards everywhere, so wear your shoes. It's cheap for a reason. It is nowhere near the beach - you're just off the 95. 30 minute drive to the beach with the time it takes to find and pay for parking. The pictures shown here are not to be believed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 161JulieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hollywood hotels

Bethpage, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Pictures look better than actual hotel which is in great need of a complete makeover. Bed was clean and fairly comfortable, but that is the only thing nice. Things looked like they were ready to fall apart, dull, dingy and dreary. But almost expected creatures to scurry around in the middle of the night.Did not happen, but could have.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abridalmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

The two things going for this motel are price and location. Being near the Fort Lauderdale Airport and literally just off I-95 was a good thing. What I need in a hotel is a clean bed and shower. These things I did get.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stay at your own risk...checked in after coming back from Jamaica - the hotel is VERY old and run down - we checked in- CARRIED our bags to the 2nd floor (they don't have an elevator) and walked into a room that you would expect to pay this price for - but it smelled musty and when we looked in the bathroom/bathtub it looked like it had not been cleaned for quite a while
If I would have been there by myself passing through - it would have been different but i could not have my wife and child stay in this room - neighborhood is very scetchy - didn't look safe
Now, that being said - we asked for our money back and to have a taxi called for us - the lady at the front desk was VERY helpful, kind and understanding. We got our money back and moved to the Holiday Inn Express

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

First of all let me say that we stayed at this hotel during the busiest week of the entire year. Every hotel was atleast $650 for the 4 nights and this one only came to $397 for the 4 nights so the rate was awesome. I read the reviews and expected the absolute worst. Upon arriving, my first thought was "oh no!" because the pictures of the outside are deceiving. Needs a new roof, in a bad neighborhood, needs painting, just looks bad. Check in was alright, Martha at the front desk and the younger gentleman (didn't catch his name) are both awesome. When we get into our room (i emailed the owner, Paz Patel, before arriving and he said he would make sure to put us in a newly renovated room) well our room was pretty bad. It smelled horrible, the carpet was so dirty with huge stains, big stains on the curtains, a hole in the ceiling, tables had writing all over them. That night we found a cockroach as big as my entire thumb (no exaggeration) and i could not sleep the entire night.

The next morning i emailed Mr. Patel again and told him the situation and he said that i would be moved to a newer renovated room. This room was great for the money. It had new tiled floors, more modern refridgerator and microwave, bathroom was better, everything was more clean. We enjoyed our stay in this room for the next 3 nights and this room was definitely worth the money.

First room (bad) was room number 116. Second room (good) was room number 130. The only thing is that the GOOD renovated rooms are in the back of the building which the hallway isn't renovated like where the first room was located. But DEFINITELY pick the newly renovated room.

My advice to you is to email Mr. Patel the manager (his email is on the hollywood gateway inn website) and ask for a newly renovated room with the TILED flooring. They were renovating a room right across from ours so hopefully there will be more of this kind.

PROS (in the good room): price!!, around 4 minutes from ocean and 25 minutes to south beach miami, great water pressure, clean, great staff love Martha, great parking, you can walk to Miami Subs and Ihop, good help from staff, Coffee always available in lobby, the maintenance man is outstanding and very nice and helpful. good wifi. good cold air.

CONS: not in a good neighborhood, outside looks bad, if you don't get to the continental breakfast before 7:30am it is all gone (just donuts and bagels), if you get a room with carpet i feel sorry for you.

Overall we had a nice stay after the first night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttruesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I was looking for the cheapest accomodation in the area and found this. Still came rather pricey at 70$ plus tax for a single room! I would have expected lower prices, but maybe it was due to high season.
This accomodation has nothing fancy about it. The rooms are in okay shape, and more or less clean. Staff is not overly helpful or friendly, and the internet connection is of very poor quality and did not work at first.
This place can be quite noisy: If you are sensitive to noise, go somewhere else. There are two major roads nearby (well heard) and the other guests are of the noisy type. Also some loud cars moving around the car park in front of the rooms at night.

There is nothing romantic or else special about this hotel. Stay there if you don't mind all of the above and if you get a real good deal on it.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the first floor for some extra safety feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
#31 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
3.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#28 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#51 of 66 in Hollywood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.1 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#19 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Curtis Inn
Curtis Inn
#30 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Gateway Inn

Property: Hollywood Gateway Inn
Address: 2900 Polk St, Hollywood, FL 33020-4231
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Gateway Inn is the prefect place to relax and rest up.The Newly Renovated Hollywood Gateway Inn is located in a wonderful location right off I-95 and within minutes of Fort Lauderdale international Airport, Port Everglades, Hollywood Beach, Downtown Hollywood.The property recently underwent full renovation and is a now a beautiful modern boutique property in the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hollywood Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Gateway Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Gateway Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing