We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hollywood Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hollywood Gateway Inn
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked through hotels website. Pictures seemed good - we just needed one night before our cruise.. but our room was NOTHING like the pictures. The room was literally falling apart - I was disgusted to touch the light switch or outlet (to charge phone). We immediately got a refund and left. NOTHING like the pictures. Holes in walls and ceiling, fan vent falling off, dirty. Also it's a very sketchy area. People were standing and watching a car on fire. Police all around the city (but didn't care about the fire). If you plan to go to the fort lauderdale area - stay OUT of Hollywood, FL. Leason learned for us!

Room Tip: Don't go here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, Guest Relations Manager at Hollywood Gateway Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you coming to our property. I do apologize for the opportunities faced during your stay. We are committed to upgrading and updating our hotel. Although we can not control what happens in the city that surrounds us we take pride in out cleanliness and friendliness inside out hotel. We hope to earn your business again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    51
    48
    22
    86
See reviews for
66
65
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Though the staff was very friendly, the place was full of shady peeps looking like dealers or addicts. Poor people who scare the hell out of you. Just trying to keep cool everytime I passed them. Locked the door immediately when I entered the room and left the lights on when I had to leave the room. This motel is just off the interstate with no descent place to eat. Had to drive for about 15 min. with heavy traffic untill I find some food. Will stay somewhere else when I'm in the neighboorhood again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyblue52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hollywood hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff was great especially when the key card would not work. Could use some updated bedside lamps and brighter bulbs for reading. If you do not have a problem walking up and down the stairs it is ok. More variety or better reception for the basic cable is needed. This is my second time here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Place is run down, if they have renovated? it still has a long way to go. Ceiling leaks in main stairs and hallways, pool was under construction, not near anything! $30 cab ride to anywhere decent. Bar is across the parking lot and very noisy. Only restaurant near by was an i hop, target was the closest shopping center. Not in a 'good' location. No airport transportation available as stated. Tv was fuzy. Pillows are flat. Internet is VERY slow! Staff was not friendly. There was writing and engraving into the table and night stands. No plug for the sink or tub (not that I would take a bath in it anyways.) Overall, a terrible hotel. The pictures and reviews are missleading. If youre driving through and need a cheap quick place to sleep, then I would say this is all its good for. For those that left good ratings, I think they were at a different hotel? Seriously, would not recommend this place at all!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmw325es75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent attention. Good breakfast and clean rooms and bathrooms. Absolutely comfortable. Price and quality. Hotel absolutely recommended. Quiet neighborhood and good location.
Good place to be for business or rest. The stay was perfect. Absolutely comfortable. Price and quality.

Very good predispocsicion of Paz & Jen to help in any way necessary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Right as we arrived, we noticed how trashy the place was. People were sitting in the halls using the internet. There were ROACHES in our bathroom! We checked out within the first hour of arrival and found somewhere else to stay!

Room Tip: Roaches--Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nationwide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

GOOD MORNING SIR ,

I REALLY LOVE THE PRICE OF YOUR ROOMS AND HOW SPACIOUS THEY ARE .....
tHE POOL IS NICE AND Plenty of parking ....My only concern is the maintance guy who dumped two buckets of urine from the Balcony above us ....First the man apologized for doing it , Then he poured a second bucket which had splashed on my Girlfriends legs .....She was so upset she started to cry and shaking but was soon able to calm her down ..... She complained to the front desk in Which Our stay was Partially refunded . Which should have been fully refunded in my opinion as a professional in the hotel and restaurant business of almost 20 years . I understand this is not a Trump Tower or a Relais & Chateaux castle but still no matter what star or diamond your hotel is ,....Professionalism should be Always at it highest . I am writing you today to let you know about the renovations that have been going on that we have ignored UNTIL this morning around 9 am when it was someone right above our door hammering shaking the whole wall we banged on the wall and nothing stopped so People from other rooms were all in the hallway asking the house keepers will they stop and they said no they are renovating .....REALLY ???? No ???? its 9 am and checkout is at 11 am . I do understand the job must be done , but not by waking the people who possibly are paying for their checks . Maybe its not important to you folks at this establishment , But to me waking up a guest has always been a bad thing .
Finally , you have huge huge roaches here that are able to climb under the giant gap under the door . I have taken some pictures of them and the gap under the door and will forward them in a text or in an email if you would like . I really like your place here just a few things should be a little more convenient for the guest , please .


Thanks for lending your Ear ,

Room Tip: sorry no tip ...ur on your own here ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChefNationwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
Ramada Hollywood Downtown
#31 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
3.1 mi away
Hollywood Beach Hotels
Hollywood Beach Hotels
#28 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#51 of 66 in Hollywood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.1 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#19 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Curtis Inn
Curtis Inn
#30 of 66 in Hollywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Gateway Inn

Property: Hollywood Gateway Inn
Address: 2900 Polk St, Hollywood, FL 33020-4231
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollywood Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hollywood Gateway Inn is the prefect place to relax and rest up.The Newly Renovated Hollywood Gateway Inn is located in a wonderful location right off I-95 and within minutes of Fort Lauderdale international Airport, Port Everglades, Hollywood Beach, Downtown Hollywood.The property recently underwent full renovation and is a now a beautiful modern boutique property in the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hollywood Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Gateway Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Gateway Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing