We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skeptical at first but would go back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days for a family vacation. We had two concierge level rooms so that we could have some extra privacy from our teenage daughters. The beginning of the week was very pleasant the hotel was not too crowded and stay was fairly friendly. Towards the end of the week as more travelers arrived things got really hectic and stay seemed to be spread way to thin. As I saw other people review, some of the staff were great, and some appeared to not really enjoy their job.

Hotel location is great, but there not many options for hotels along the beach. Most of the other are motels or small rentals. I didn't see any that met my critieria to stay. It was nice having access to the concierge for snacks and drinks. The hotel bar are restaurant are convenient, but access to the pool and beach have a very weird set up. You have to walk through the restaurant to get out to the beach and the pool only had one way to get in.

Lows: lots of staff using elevator, Lobby was not that great, never saw anyone at concierge desk, balcony was way too small to enjoy.

Highs: Young man working the pool area was very attentive and friendly, concierge lounge staff are very friendly, beach is close to hotel, easy to take drinks to beach from the bar.

We would consider staying their again.

Room Tip: Partial view is just as good as the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Micardika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staying at the Marriott was an experience in contrasts:

Day 1 brunch waiter sat us down and only reappeared twice (once to bring us coffee and once to bring the check), even as dishes piled up.
Day 2 brunch waiter sat us down at the same table, saw that it wobbled (and fixed it), was attentive without hovering, and promptly removed dirty dishes as they were set aside.

Day 1 receptionist was friendly, polite, handled our minor problems, joked, and went above and beyond in getting things done (I believe her name was Antonella).
Day 2 receptionist was bored, plastic smiled, and was just going through the motions.

Many more examples of this hit and miss: wallpaper peeling in the bathroom but the beds were divine. Constant housekeeping traffic on our floor with heavyduty chemical vapors (maybe it was carpet cleaning time?). Staff were present in almost every elevator ride as there is no staff elevator; they were friendly but the extra presence made rides take much longer. Poor initial impression with traffic cones outside the lobby entrance and the doormen waving "no" when we pulled up (I had to shout we were staying at the hotel from the car window and then they gave us big smiles and let us in), definitely not a friendly welcoming. Hardworking cheerful waitress who came out on the beach for drink orders and brought us extra glasses of ice water without having been asked. Another receptionist offered us a glass of champagne as we walked by and we said "thanks, that's so sweet," she shrugged and said she "needed to get rid of it." Another hotel employee (but in a dress, not a uniform) saw me looking for a luggage trolley and went out of her way to find one for me.

The hotel stay as a whole was wonderful. You cannot beat the location of the hotel to the boardwalk or the layout. But some of the staff need to learn basic graciousness and there needs to be a different way to deal with general beach parking and hotel guest parking that doesn't make one have to shout in order to be admitted.

Four stars because of the hotel as a whole (location and upkeep) but I wish I could give three stars for staff.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spring from an oceanfront room, choose a partial view on the south side but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stormseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, on the beach, about 15 minutes south of Ft. Lauderdale airport and 30 minutes north of Miami airport. However, it was not what my wife and I are accustomed to with Marriott. The lobby is small and uninviting. To get to the beach, you have to walk through the restaurant, which is kind of weird. The pool is very small and unappealing. The balconies are pathetically small, not even worth venturing out there. My room also had some things that didn't quite match the Marriott standards, like chipped paint in the bathtub and holes in the curtain.

I still loved the location but wifey would rather stay someplace else next time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the south side, the view is more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marriottbeachfront, Manager at Hollywood Beach Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Greetings and thank you for your opinions. You are right, we are not a "typical" Marriott...we are a touch more casual and have a true relaxed feel on the beach, as Hollywood is such a hometown, beach town. As you mentioned our Lobby, well, exciting news! We will be reinventing this area to make it amazing. Plus, our indoor and outdoor restaurant will be transformed to an even more enticing dining and drinking experience.
We hope you shall return and check us out again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great Hotel right on the beach, what Hollywood Bch calls the Broadwalk. They have a parking garage which is great because parking at all these other Mom and Pop hotels is a bit difficult. Pool is a little small for a hotel this size, but everything else was perfect. Next time we book will be when children are already back in school as they monopolized the pool, the rules were not enforced either by the pool attendant or the parents, couldn't even enjoy the pool the 2nd day at all, tons of kids. My Husband, Myself and another couple went for two nights last weekend. We loved our rooms, the view of the beach was awesome.
EVERYONE that works there is so professional and pleasant from the check-in, the Resteraunt and the Bar.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mary-ellen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

If you want a great beach. Great outside restaurant. Great international clientele. Great pool. Great bar. Walk everywhere. Here it is. 5 stays and more coming. Don't need a car. However, if you hate shopping and music and if you want tranquility and no one to talk to, then try somewhere else. By the way do not trust photos of other near hotels. Most are terrible.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caryfcindyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked three rooms for a couple nights at this hotel, one room for mother and sister, one room for my nephews and one for me. Check in was quick and the front desk person was helpful in finding rooms for my mom and sister to connect with nephews; i was placed on a higher floor which i appreciated. The rooms were clean and a good size. We all found the bedding very comfortable and ACs working really well considering it was in the 90s outside. The bathrooms were well stocked and clean; I like the shower with the nonslip tiles; great water flow from shower head. The staff are friendly and helpful all around from check in desk, to restaurant to pool staff and we had the breakfast package and the scrambled eggs were great along with the fruit selection, sausages, bacon was out of this world and service from south african guy and then next day from a lady from Colombia was exception; I loved the United Nations people; includind the older gentleman who sat us; he is very spirited...location, wow, walk up and down the broadwalk, across is the beach and the water was crystal clear, could see our feet and schools of minnow swimming around us...really great experience, would recommend and will go back for a timeout as I live locally. The rest of group are from out of town. Kudo to the Management Team, good manager, happy staff...Thanks for the nice couple of days.

Room Tip: higher up facing north or south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2BIGBOYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice location, friendly and helpful staff.
We booked for a long weekend getaway and at first, I was worried about the hotel. Though it is an older hotel, it is well maintained. It is right on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk. It has a nice restaurant and bar with outdoor sitting which makes it perfect. While at the beach, we could run up to the bar and get a drink or have lunch right on the boardwalk.
The beach was beautiful. There were vendors renting out chairs/umbrellas. It was nice because we could charge it to our room.
The staff was very friendly and always ready to try and accommodate our requests.
The pool was nice and well maintained though a bit smaller. We really only enjoyed it towards the end of the day after the beach.
Our suite had 2 balconies facing the ocean. The bed was comfortable and so was the pull-out couch our son slept in. The bathroom was up-to-date, big and spacious
Overall, great accommodations. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyJoy876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hollywood Beach
6.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#7 of 73 in Hollywood
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Marriott

Address: 2501 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3604
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range: £194 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hollywood Beach Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hollywood Beach Marriott, a South Florida boutique hotel that is situated directly on the famed Hollywood Broadwalk and on the Atlantic Ocean. As the only Marriott hotel on the Broadwalk in Hollywood, Florida, and only five miles from Fort Lauderdale International Airport and eight miles from Port Everglades, Hollywood Beach Marriott is nestled away from the busy strip of tourist hotels near Fort Lauderdale, which captivates a true hometown, beach town experience for the best in accommodations. The Hollywood Broadwalk is rated as one of the best beach boardwalks by Travel + Leisure magazine and USA Today, offering almost three miles of strolling, biking, dining, and nightlife, all connecting to the hotel so you can walk to so many attractions. In walking distance, Florida action awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hollywood Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hollywood Beach Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing