We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale Airport is a bit out of the way. You can't walk to much easily but it is near a convenience store and MacDonalds. The service is outstanding, the rooms clean and comfortable and the pool area is amazing. You could easily spend the day there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2morrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
2morrows,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Yes, our pool area is one of the best around! Make sure to come back and see us again, we would love to have you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    170
    58
    31
    25
See reviews for
125
162
41
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday for one night before our cruise. We wanted a location close to both airport and cruise port, and with a shuttle service also for the airport and cruise port. We booked this room on a third party booking site and got a very reasonable price in comparison to what other hotels in the area are charging. In my opinion, this hotel was very nice and well worth what we paid.

We arrived at FLL airport at 8:30pm, I called the hotel while still on the plane and was told the shuttle was on the way and would be there in about 20 minutes. We only had carry on bags so we had no luggage to pick up and we proceeded directly to the shuttle pick up area. Having all the shuttles pick up in one location is a good idea in concept, however there seemed to be quite a bit of congestion due to shuttles waiting extended periods of time for passengers to fill up their vehicles, meanwhile other shuttles cant pull up because they are stuck behind them. In reality, the shuttle took about 50 minutes. We even made an additional call to the hotel to make sure it was coming. When it arrived, the driver loaded our luggage and we were on our way to the hotel. It was a short drive and we experienced no traffic delays. Slightly disappointed that the shuttle took so long, but we were waiting in nice weather and on vacation so we tried not to stress about it too much.

The location did seem a little off the beaten path, with not alot of other businesses around but there are a couple other hotels in the immediate area and a Denny's, McDonalds and gas station/convenience store within walking distance. There were local police patrolling the grounds in their cars, however we did not see anything shady going on and at no point felt unsafe or in a "bad neighborhood". In fact, the hotel is on a large piece of property where you can clearly see what is going on around the building, it is well lit and well maintained.

The lobby was large, plenty of places to sit and a TV. The front desk staff immediately checked us in and I advised that we needed a shuttle to the cruise port in the morning. We were offered 3 different times to ride the shuttle and we opted for the 10am pick up. Cost was $10 per person.

We got a room on the 3rd floor. The room was quite large with two queen beds, a deck/chair, a small table with chairs, very large flat screen TV. There was also a mini fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer. The sink area is outside the actual bathroom, has updated granite countertops. The hotel also offers free wi-fi.

The room appeared to be clean, however there was a used Kleenex on the floor by the bed. The room does show a bit of normal wear/tear such as cracked grout in the tiles in the bathroom and the bed skirt appeared to be ripped and was falling off the bed. We had no issue keeping a comfortable temperature with the AC unit. My biggest complaint would be with the pillows. They are filled with foam chunks.

We walked across the street to Denny's for a late dinner. The staff was quick and friendly but the restaurant was a mess. Dirty tables, dirty floors and seemed unorganized and just messy in general. But we only had pancakes so no complaints about our food.

We slept just fine that night, bed was comfortable and we heard no noise from outside our room at all.

The next morning we got up and headed downstairs to take a look at the pool area. This was a very large and impressive area with very extensive landscape flowers/plants/bushes. Lots of outdoor seating, tables & chairs, a very large pool with a waterfall. There was also a small hot tub. This would have been a very nice area to sit and relax and enjoy the weather if we only had more time here.

There is no free breakfast offered here so we walked over to the gas station and picked up orange juice. Eating was not a big deal for us since we were headed to the cruise ship where we would be fed 24/7 for the next 6 days. As previously mentioned, there is a also a Dennys and McDonalds across the street if you wanted to eat there cheaper than the hotel breakfast.

The lobby was fairly crowded with people waiting for the cruise shuttle, however it was very well organized. There was a gentleman taking names and assigning you to a shuttle based on your cruise ship. There were 3 shuttles all going to the ports, dropping off at different docks. Our bags were loaded onto the shuttle for us and we left the hotel at promptly 10am. We arrived at the cruise port in just a few minutes and were dropped off right at the front of the building where you check in for your cruise. Our bags were unloaded for us and we proceeded to the line for check in for our ship.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Griswolds198,

Thank you for your in depth & very informative review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the shuttle service to be of good value.

We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night in advance of our Carribean cruise. The room was spacious and clean and the staff friendly.. Right across the street is a Denny's restaurant and a McDonalds. The gas station across from the entrance of the Holiday Inn has a good selection of snacks and also sells wine for those wanting to take a bottle onboard your ship.
The price was reasonable and the cruise ship shuttle at $10pp worked right on time.
The passenger van picking us up at the airport should be replaced as it has lots of wear and tear.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Tippet,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the shuttle services to be of good use. Your comment about the airport shuttle has been taken into consideration for our next staff meeting.

Thank you, and come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent the night at this hotel on Feb. 2,2014, after American Airlines cancelled our flight out of Ft. Lauderdale to Dallas. The airline payed for this hotel and we have to say we found the stay here very nice. Check-in was easy and our room was very nice and quiet. They had a pretty nice bar and restaurant with prices with what you would expect. They provided a free shuttle to the airport the next day which was nice. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
MizzouLincoln,

We are happy that you stayed with us. I'm sure the canceled flight was a little frustrating, but I'm sure that our staff in the restaurant was able to make you feel right at home.

Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice clean hotel, pool area was very nice even though we did not use it. A fee of $10 pp for the shuttle to the cruise port. The shuttle was very organized. A hint, if you can take the later shuttle, less crowded! The associates at the desk were pleasant and we had no complaints. The price was more than a normal Holiday Inn, but you are paying for the proximity of the airport and cruise terminal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Lloyd,

Thanks so much for staying with us and the great review of our property! We hope to see you again soon the next time you cruise out of Fort Lauderdale.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife & I and two friends were stranded at Fort Lauderdale airport due to the ice storm in Atlanta. The airlines already took our luguage so we had nothing. The van driver picked us up at the airport and took us to the hotel. The people at the Holiday Inn could not have been nicer. Not only did they get us two rooms, they provided toothpaste & brushes; deodorant; combs; shaving cream & razors and other necessities. We ate in their restaurant and the food was outstanding. All the people working at the Hoilday Inn could not have been more welcoming. We were very thankful for the even transported us back to the airport when we were able to fly home. The manager - Shawn and desk clerk - Adriana were just fantastic. All four of us will definitely recommend this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirhcPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
SirhcPhoenix,

We are very happy that hear that you were 100% elated with your stay. When your travels bring you back to Fort Lauderdale (hopefully you wont be stranded, and have luggage this time) we hope to see you again!!

Thank you,

Shawn Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Check into to a rude front desk gentleman named Tony. I am use to being greeted and welcomed as an IHG member and introduced to the hotel. He was very a matter of a fact and no smile or welcoming. When I checked out it was the same thing, the front desk person totally blew me off as I had a compliant about how I woke up to my room smelling like cigarettes from people smoking on the deck out side my door. She said absolutely nothing and went back to tapping away at her computer. So much for their slogan printed everywhere about making sure you have a great stay or they will make it right. The only saving grace was the pregnant bartender, she was delightful and friendly. I stay in this area several times a month and was trying out a new hotel, big mistake I will continue to stay at the Hyatt Place.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayFLL, Manager at Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Kevin,

I am very sorry to hear of your less than perfect stay with us. It is true that we strive for 100% guest satisfaction, and again we are sorry you did not receive this during your stay with us. I do invite you back to visit our hotel again, to see what we are truly all about. I guarantee that this is a fluke and will not happen again.

Please contact me directly to make your reservations.

Thank you,

Shawn Townsend
Assistant Manager
954-925-9100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/South Cruise Port
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Fort Lauderdale Hollywood/Airport South
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport
Address: 2905 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL 33020-1303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel features 42' LCD flat screen TVs, microwave and refrigerators in all rooms. Overlook our stunning new tropical pool area with a large heated pool, Jacuzzi and pool bar. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is perfect for corporate travelers and families alike, the hotel is conveniently located near Ft. Lauderdale , Port Everglades, Dolphin Stadium and just 15 minutes north of Miami. There's Hollywood Beach, where you can indulge yourself in the wonderful sunshine and explore the famous Boardwalk. Also, don't forget the nearby attractions of Fort Lauderdale which bring visitors from around the world. Enjoy superb dining at our indoor/outdoor Cafe Aquatica or in the Rendezvous Reef Lounge with it's great atmosphere, whether inside or out on the terrace which overlooks our refreshing tropical pool area and waterfall. Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport is located at I-95 and Sheridan Street. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (Daily 5:00 AM - 11:59 PM).Shuttle service to the Port Everglades available for a nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hotel Hollywood
Holiday Inn Hollywood
Hollywood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ft. Lauderdale Airport Hollywood, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing