We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a one night's stay but that's it”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I drove down from Orlando after I got off work at 9 pm to go to the Dodgers-Marlins game the next night. We got a good discount through my job and my original plan when looking at hotels weeks in advance was to stay here both nights since it was cheap, although we only booked one night. That plan changed when we got here. It's in an OK neighborhood, not like we were afraid our car would be broken into or anything like that. We were in a good, comfortable room with a comfortable king size bed. But the sheet on my side of the bed had like a baby oil stain on it. Good thing it was a king size bed so that I could sleep more on my wife's side of the bed. The carpet was clean, wasn't afraid to walk around barefoot.

When we got in the room we both looked at each other and said we weren't staying here the next night. It was weird; we both had the exact same feeling at the exact same time. So I looked for a hotel more towards Marlins Park and Miami Airport to stay at after the game and found one.

The hotel has a free shuttle to and from Ft. Lauderdale Airport and a shuttle to the Ft. Lauderdale cruise port for $5 a person. This motel is good for something like that--a cheap stay when getting into FLL late or an early flight the next morning or a cruise the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Good thing I only stayed here for a day! The ONLY good thing about this hotel, is the free shuttle to/from the Fort Lauderdale airport. When we pulled up, I was extremely disappointed that it was a motel and not a hotel. They didn't mention on their website that if you came early, it was an $10 early check in. Breakfast was horrible. It supposed to be complimentary but they watched you like a hawk while getting the food. The pool is too close to the street. Nobody went in it. The internet was extremely slow. Made you feel like they were using dial-up. Loud noises outside. The whole place including the room, needs Nate Berkus to do an EXTREME makeover to this motel. Oh, and by the way. all of the "hotels" that I saw in Hollywood, were motels.

Room Tip: staying on the first floor was the only plus. There are 2 floors. Not elevators so if you have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniedi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This hotel very neat and reasonable price.

We stayed one night and room are very clean.Its okay to one night stay and free shuttle from Airport .Breakfast was good and the parking is very limited.Nice people around the area

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TULASEE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The airport shuttle was always there, so that would be ok if you were on your way to or from the airport. We stayed for 13 days. The rooms were clean but really needed be updated. Holes in the curtains, ripped furniture, no water . Our kitchenette and bathroom were in the same room. The towels felt like sandpaper. The a/c was high on the wall and you had to get up on a chair to adjust it. No elevator so you have to carry your bags upstairs. The safe didnt work, the internet service was slow, and the breakfast was next to nothing, although the coffee was good. The electric outlets were sparce, so we needed to borrow an extention cord to pulg in our computer and charge our phones. The neighborhood was very seedy. I was very surprised that this place was a "Choice Privileges" hotel.

Room Tip: First floor, in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broxmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Pro's
Not too expensive, very friendly/nice personnel, the people at reception specially,
breakfast is included
have a pool but didnt feel like using it.
About 10 blocks to Young Circle.
Down's
Very little breakfast items to choose from.
Pool was too close to the street
There's no elevator.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, consider that If you got heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canessnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, mid February. The room was average, very little natural light, very dark wall colors, carpet and bedspreads. Excellent free internet access, mini fridge and microwave are also pluses. The room could have been cleaner, saw crumbs and cigarette ashes around the table. Came back at the end of the month for a one night stay, had to switch rooms because the dresser drawers were out of track and could not be opened. The shower stall in the room had no light, and the floor was so inclined, you had to hold on not to fall. Took a second look at the neighborhood, quite seedy. Lots of shady characters walking around at all hours of day and night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeWoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here one night at beginning of trip and one night at end of trip. They picked us up at FLL airport in the complimentary shuttle. Waited about 25 minutes after getting luggage. Pretty standard. Van was not very nice but driver was. Motel is very dated. Our first night's room was on second floor and not too bad so we decided to stay here at the end of our trip too. We were on first floor and it was not as clean and noisier. It looks like they try to keep the rooms clean and freshly painted but it is so old and falling apart that it is a never ending job. I didn't see any bugs - always a plus. Our first floor room was quite noisy so we used earplugs. All staff was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. 'Breakfast' bar didn't open until 6am or so, but our shuttle was at 5am so staff kindly turned on the juice machine for us upon request. Ate at the grill nearby for dinner and breakfast, was passable. On second stay we had more time so walked down to the Main Street (about a mile) and found it was Happy Hour! Sat outside with margarita and apps. Walk was okay. Would not have done it alone, though it looked safe enough by day. Went to dinner at El Paso II near motel. I do recommend this highly if you are looking for a place near the motel and like Mexican food. Authentic, inexpensive, attentive waitstaff, and even had an accordion player. This Econo Lodge is fine for an overnight between flights or cruise, etc. if you can suspend your hotel/motel standards and take it for what it is. I would never expect to pay so much for a night in a place like this. I have stayed in 5 star hotels for far less, but I guess it is the going rate in the FLL area.

Room Tip: Second floor was quieter and cleaner when we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hollywood Boulevard
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
1.7 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#30 of 73 in Hollywood
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Lauderdale Hollywood/Airport South
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South
1.8 mi away
St Maurice Beach Inn
St Maurice Beach Inn
#14 of 73 in Hollywood
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1725 Taft St, Hollywood, FL 33020-2883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range: £56 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Hollywood
Econo Lodge Hollywood, Florida
Econolodge Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing