We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private beach retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sailfish Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Understand this isn't really a resort. There's no pool, spa or room service. It's an unassuming, almost invisible, small four-unit apartment building with a sandy backyard otherwise known as a beach on the Gulf. The building is set back, so you get a feeling of privacy, even though the public beach entrance is right nearby. With an accommodating property manager onsite, there are only three units for rent. You walk right onto the beach, navigating past Harry, the resident Great Blue Heron. There's a full kitchen, barbeque grill, comfortable bed, free WiFi and ample towels. No one comes in every day to clean, so you feel like the apartment's all yours. There's a Publix supermarket just a few blocks away, so consider dinner outside at your patio table or getting a Publix sub and having lunch on the beach. Location is well positioned if you want to go north a few miles to Anna Maria, or south to Bradenton Beach.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in unit 1 or 2 on the beach side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MikeNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Sailfish Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I wanted a personal getaway place on the beach for 7 nights. Sailfish is at a great location and the beach is magnificent. The accompdations are very clean and well maintained. The only downside is that the interior is very average for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tgudorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Saw this place on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. Very glad we did. The rooms were comfortable with the conveniences we wanted. Loved the sheets and towels and it was very clean. Loved the quiet private beach area. The staff was wonderful, helpful and went above and beyond. Best of all, after a couple of days there I was actually relaxed. Recommend highly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Herder90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailfishBeachResort, Owner at Sailfish Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

I'm so glad you discovered the magic of our place!! It is so relaxing, peaceful to be there - glad you could relax and enjoy yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I am a local but love to play tourist (especially on my Birthday) with my sister who lives in the North Pole. I found this small and private resort after hours of online searches that do not respect your number one wish TO BE RIGHT ON THE BEACH. This one is and the pictures are true.
It is a resort of only 3 units, 2 are in the front with the Ocean view. Open your sliding glass door and you have your private patio and the beach 10 feet away... Jeanne, the Manager, is friendly, extremely helpful and respectful. The place is roomy, absolutely spotless and equipped with everything you need. There might be several resorts on AMI but this one is the Local's favorite... no doubt !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Localtourist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you want to be on the beach, this is it. Best location on Homes Beach. No frills,just a nice low key place for a get a way. We chose to have our meals outside on the patio watching the surf and sunsets in lieu of the multitude of restaurants . Jeanne, the manager is very helpful and does a A+ job. She makes sure everything runs smoothly. We will definitely return.
Ann & Dick
Naples. FL

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lalwaysreadytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SailfishBeachResort, Owner at Sailfish Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

I'm couldn't agree more with you that the patio is the best place to enjoy your meals while watching the surf and sunsets! So glad you enjoyed your time - it is a special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for my birthday weekend with my husband and two children, ages 3 and 5. It was magical! Truly an affordable piece of heaven! Not only was it reasonably priced, but having a kitchen and a supermarket only 5 minutes away allowed us to steer clear of pricey restaurant outings. Plus, what can be better than creating your own BBQ clam bake directly on the beach terrace while listening to the sound of crashing waves and watching the sun set? The suites were nicely appointed with coastal decor and plenty of soft towels and toiletries. There was a TV and DVD player for mom and dad breaks (aka Disney time for the kids). There were sand toys, beach floaties and umbrella patio furniture--really everything and anything you could need. The owner was incredibly welcoming and made herself very available to us should we have needed anything. We are so thrilled to have found this place and plan to make it a family vacation stop once a year.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the gulf front suites so you can see the ocean from your living space. It's a mag...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChoosyMom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is, by far, the best place to stay on AMI. The apartments are clean, the staff was very friendly and the location is perfect. We were able to sit on the patio and enjoy the gulf sunsets every night! The rooms were immaculate and incredibly spacious. I had an amazing time here and have already booked my stay for next year!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the beach facing apartments... they're incredible.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
964 reviews
1.3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
165 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bungalow Beach Resort
Bungalow Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Anna Maria
547 reviews
2.0 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 16 in Holmes Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailfish Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailfish Beach Resort

Address: 3718 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1907 (Formerly Sailfish Gulf Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range: £99 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most wonderful place to stay when you want to be directly on the Gulf. Our patio doors open right up to the beach - enjoy your morning coffee on the patio while the dolphins swim along the shoreline or enjoy a glass of wine while watching the most amazing sunsets. This is paradise . . . Sailfish Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sailfish Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Sailfish Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing