We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holmes Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sailfish Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2011

To be able to step through sliding glass doors from your living room directly onto a patio that fronts right onto the white sand beach of the Gulf of Mexico is what makes Sailfish Beach Resort on Anna Maria Island a truly unique and enviable vacation destination. And to also be able to view the amazing sunsets over the Gulf from your living room is icing on the cake. There are only four suites, all on ground level, in this family-owned beachfront resort, all are spacious and comfortable, clean and nicely furnished, so we are tempted to try to keep it a secret. An added attraction is the daily visits to the patio of Harry the Great Blue Heron, who had been rescued from an injury by resident Sailfish manager Jeanne. Jeanne makes you feel immediately at home upon your arrival, and is always at the ready to answer any and all questions and provide insights into local attractions and eateries. Anna Maria Island and the Sailfish have become our much anticipated annual destination to escape from the ugly winter weather in NE Ohio.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Sailfish Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Sailfish. It was quiet and very clean. Jeanne , the manager was extremely accomodating and gave us many tips for enjoying the island.
The view from our waterfront unit was outstanding and we enjoyed the patio in the mornings and evenings. We certainly would recommend the Sailfish Beach Resort to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the water and sandy white beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cec025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

A "girls" trip included my mother, who just turned 86. What a perfect place for her to be able to enjoy the beach. She could sit inside and enjoy the view or only one step down off the patio and be on that incredible sand! The accomodations were clean and attractive, with all the comforts of home. What a picturesque place! I took a ton of pictures and have some worthy of framing to display at home to remind me of this beautiful spot. What fun having evening visits from Harry, the Heron.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Hobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My husband and I have been to AMI many times and we've tried a different place (for lodging) on each visit. This place was fantastic! I normally like a pool, but on this trip (for our anniversary), I figured if I'm going to the beach why not be RIGHT ON THE BEACH?! I was definitely not disappointed and I can't wait to return. I booked one of the two units that are directly facing the beach. The manager was great to work with - super friendly on the phone. And upon arrival, she was there to say "hello" and make you feel welcome and then she was out of your way and let you be!

The place was super clean and decorated very nicely. It felt very quaint -- just like a beach cottage. The bedroom was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. Having a separate living area and bedroom area is great (especially for couples like us where one wakes early and the other wakes late!). I loved having sliding glass doors that led you on to the patio -- with only a few more steps, you were on the sand! You could even sit on the couch in the living area and see the beach/ocean. It was great to have lounge chairs and there were several Weber grills also. It was also nice to have a DVD player.

This is a place with an authentic ol' Floridian feel. Very relaxing! Ultimate beach spot!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

After discovering Sailfish on the internet, we were sold on the simple picture of a house on the beach. The reality of finding Sailfish exactly as its portrayed was beyond delightful; it nestles neatly between larger properties and sits within the dunes as a tranquil hideaway. We spent twelve days and nights and seldom felt the need to wander too far from the property itself. It is truly well-appointed and lacks for nothing that you would want for a beach holiday and also offers all of the comforts of home. The ambience of Sailfish is superbly created with the help of Jeanne G Scott, who welcomes visitors with a charm and hospitality seldom found these days. The evidence of how we felt about the Sailfish was in the recently processed photo album where the majority of our pictures were taken from the beach directly in front of the property, either of the location itself or the fantastic sunsets. Never have I felt so at peace on a vacation and when we had to leave Sailfish, it didn’t feel like we were saying farewell to a hotelier in Jeanne, but to a new friend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lozzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We have been vacatiioning on Anna Maria Island for years. We spend 2 weeks every year at the Sailfish and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanGIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Sailfish was a wonderful step back in time------ a time to rest and relax! The private beach made for perfect breakfasts on the patio and then lounging on the beautiful white sand. The accommodations were terrific. It was clean and had everything on hand to give the comforts of home----without the work!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
0.8 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
1.3 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
1.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Bungalow Beach Resort
Bungalow Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Anna Maria
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sailfish Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailfish Beach Resort

Address: 3718 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1907 (Formerly Sailfish Gulf Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range: £100 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most wonderful place to stay when you want to be directly on the Gulf. Our patio doors open right up to the beach - enjoy your morning coffee on the patio while the dolphins swim along the shoreline or enjoy a glass of wine while watching the most amazing sunsets. This is paradise . . . Sailfish Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sailfish Beach Hotel Holmes Beach
Sailfish Beach Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing