We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Year after year...our tropical getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haleys Motel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Year after year...our tropical getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

Everytime we come to Anna Maria we stay at Haley's! It's charming, quaint and quirky...just like the island! Only a short walk to the beach and you can hardly get closer. The condos are about that far off the beach anyway! Year after year we have clean rooms and excellent hospitality. If you ever need a suggestion for a place to eat or for something to do, you only need ask Sabine or Tom, our gracious hosts! We've never had a problem at Haley's and unless you bring your problems with you, you won't have problems either! D.Dens4d.

  • Liked — The hospitality, it's quaint and close to a great beach
  • Disliked — Better cable TV but there's probably not anything they can do about that and besides you won't be in the room that much!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank atlanta30316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    85
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
54
138
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

In 1994 Delta offered round trips to Tampa for $89. I walked into a local bookstore, picked out a Florida guide and opened it to Haleys. I've gone back to Haleys for a week every year since--I wouldn't stay anywhere else. I've been there for a week in Jan, Feb, March and April, weather is always fine. Charming old Florida rooms and so close to the beach, the little car room signs, the flamingos. Bikes, beach chairs, the Sandbar and the fishing pier, dolphins. Haleys is wonderfully centrally located for beach time, inexpensive, welcoming. Real island feel, a place to go if you need a vacation! Their beach view is my laptop screensaver. We're booked for early april, can't wait.

  • Liked — new wifi available everywhere (we used to have to go around the side of the motel)
  • Disliked — absolutely uncritical about it, sorry
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank artdept122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

If you like old furniture from garage sales that is moldy to boot, this is the place for you. Flea infested rooms, rude hosts, I could go on. We paid for a week stay,but after 3 days of bug infestation we moved to another place on the island.
My advice, find another place!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — fleas
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

We booked this motel back in March for our 10th anniversary in September. When we left, I actually cried because we were leaving a bit of paradise. Sabine and Tom are gracious, friendly, hardworking owners who want only the best for each guest. They work long hours each day to upgrade each unit and it shows with each renovation. Guests need to remember that this motel is 50+ years old and it's a throw-back to earlier times.So many innovative ideas have been added like the pool room and the gardens and so much more.Tom upgraded us to a bigger room at no additional cost since our first room had a slight plumbing issue. Please don't be quick to discount this motel because of its age. Give this vintage bit of paradise a try and step back to a time over 50 years ago when Florida was a less populated, more laid back and a friendly place to visit. Don't go expecting anything and revel in what you find. It's paradise and its owners are wonderful. If your want one of those large chain motel rooms, fine, but , you are missing out on a special type of place that is fast disappearing in our state. By the way, our dogs loved it too!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamzelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2007

A small complex of about 15 units - whilst the buildings are quite old it is obvious that the owners - Tom and Sabine have lavished lots of love and care into developing the complex. We stayed for 4 nights in a resently updated room. The facilities were excellent - dishwasher, Char-broiler outside, air conditioning, dimmer switches for lights, beautiful soft furnishings. An unexpected bonus was access to a PC for using the internet. The pool was heated and Sabine arranged water yoga.
Staying here was a refreshing change to the group owned motels as the service was really friendly and personal. Take a look for the web site and see what you think.
Easy walking distance to the popular Sandbar Restaurant and the trolley service stops nearby. Excellent beach at end of the block

  • Liked — Homely
  • Disliked — I guess some units are in need of updating as ours had recently been completed.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnPDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2006

This is a pet friendly motel and believe me you can smell the flea powder in the rooms. I didn't realize this until it was too late. Didn't sleep a wink! Hard bed, funky smell and just plain uncomfortable. I wouldn't stay here unless I had a dog.
The owners were great. For the money...forget it, I'm still scratching!!!!!

  • Liked — Free Bikes
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to the Chamber of COmmerce. Hotels call in with availability and deals
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank kittykat98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2006

Where to begin?

We chose Haley's Motel as the palce where all of our wedding party, closest friends,a nd some family would stay for our wedding which was on November 13, 2005 at The Sandbar (Also great!). We visited Haley's prior to making the arrangements and were taken by surprise at the willingness and kindness of the staff to help us with every little detail.

Haley's offered their entire property to usl including their two largest beach houses, for parties by the pool, and even our REHEARSAL DINNER! They contacted a local BBQ joint "Mr. Bones" (the best in Sarasota) and arranged to have our dinner catered, with tables set up, etc. They even got us a keg of beer for the evening! Also, no detail was left un-done... coolers filled with ice were available for sodas, refrigerators to store cold food, etc. They even let us hire are own steel drummer Clarence Brown who is now a regular entertainer for parties at Haley's.

I could go on and on... the short stroll to the beach is beautiful as well. In minutes (or less if you want to borrow one of the motel's bikes) you can be on beautiful Anna Maria Island Beach. White sands, and usually very un-crowded.

Any negative reviews of this motel are picky, snobby, or just plain not able to appreciate the paradise that is Haley's Motel.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PianoDan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.7 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haleys Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleys Motel and Resort

Property: Haleys Motel and Resort
Address: 8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleys Motel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haley's offers two room studios, motel rooms, one bedroom cottages, 2 and 3 bedroom homes. Entire property is SMOKE and PET free. The sandy path to the Gulf of Mexico is only about 100 yards from your door. No roads to cross (except from the Gumbo Limbo House) Free use of beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and beach carts. Heated Pool, AC/heat, basic cable, TV, gas grills. All rooms and property have free wireless Wi-Fi. Free island wide trolley to dinning, shopping and all kinds of activates. Coffee makers with coffee and bath amenities. Most units have full kitchens except for a few motel rooms. They include Cook top or stoves, dishes and serve-ware and more. All rooms have a minimum of coffee maker and small refrigerator. Family owned and operated Book Direct for Best Deals. See "Specials" on our website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haleys Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel And Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing