We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haleys Motel and Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Holmes Beach
Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Laid back and relaxing”
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This is a cute place to stay with different room options. We just rented a small unit, but it has great charm. We had a place to keep our boat/trailer and our pet was welcome. The staff and owner are such wonderful people. We were always made to feel at home. They were helpful and accomodating.
The price is very reasonable and the place reminds me of the islands with the waterfalls, plants, flowers, tropical trees. There are little decorations of statues peeking around and several outside tables to sit and have a drink etc.
The units have window units which worked well; I'm easily hot and I was ok with the unit. This place is old and has gone under renovation in 2002, and they are getting ready to do more work again.
There is a swimming pool and plenty of beach towels. There are bike to use as you like too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueabyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    85
    17
    12
    12
See reviews for
54
139
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, TN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We arrived on the island without reservations late in the afternoon. After driving around for a while, we decided on spending the night at Haleys. We stayed in unit #1, which was immaculate - probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed (and I'm very picky about that kind of thing). Our unit had a very comfortable king size bed, small but fully stocked kitchen, and a small but clean and fully functional bath. I thought the decor was a charming mix of retro antiques. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Haleys.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Booked for three nights, stayed one ! oh what a night ! first thing that hit us on opening the door to our room was the stench, musty moldy mildew smell. The bed was like trying to sleep on a slab of concrete it was so hard ! After a few hours our clothes reeked musty and moldy! The room was so small but the smell made it worse. As for the bathroom which was clean, but so small could probably have taken a shower at the same time as using the toilet ! the website told us we had a french door leading out to a backyard sitting area, NO FRENCH DOORS ! but a door that did open into a tiny unkempt area, even an old rusted metal headboard propped up on display... The pool looked murky , no way would we use it or even sit around it , did not see any other guests near it either !! No refund on the money we paid , and so totally overpriced. Would not go there again even if it was free !!
Anna Maria is a beautiful Island., would recommend it for a vacation. But don,t stay at Haley,s Motel unless you don,t mind being bitten alive !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joanne060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biels123, Owner at Haleys Motel and Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
We are sorry to learn that you found your room unsatisfactory. Had you informed us immediately, instead upon check out, we would gladly have offered you another room that may have suited you better. You are correct in stating that some of our rooms and bathrooms are small-Haley’s was built in the 1950’s and it was a conscious decision to try to preserve some of that “Old Florida” feel in both the room as well as the furniture. We are also sorry to learn that you did not appreciate the funky art pieces placed around our gardens-most of our guests write us to comment favorably on this particular aspect. You mentioned that we advertise French doors, but we have never done so, simply because we do not HAVE French doors, We are sorry to learn that this contributed to your dissatisfaction. Finally, our pool is cleaned and serviced on a regular basis, but most guests prefer to swim in the Gulf, which is why they came and why you may not have seen guests at our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed at Haley's for a family vacation. Smelled musty and old. The bed had two dents, one for each side. The mattress must have been 50 yrs old! The bathroom was smaller than my closet at home. I could have washed my hands and gone to the bathroom at the same time. My kids slept on the pull-out couch. In the morning they had something brown at their heads. We called management and found out it was termite dung. They said they had sprayed for termites earlier in the year. We left after 4 days it was so bad. We had booked for a week. The manager said she'd give us a refund if she rented out the room again!!! She certainly had NERVE. Needless to say, we didnt get any kind of a refund. This place was very run Down. Please don't stay there!!!!!!

  • Liked — It was fairly close to the beach
  • Disliked — Smelly, dirty and gross!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank junielittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

I hate to write really negative reviews, but this place absolutely deserves it. Please do not stay here. I read through all the other positive reviews and just do not agree with them. Our group's experience was absolutely horrible.

If you get a "regular" room or suite, they are tiny. I literally had to climb over the sink to get to the toilet in Unit 10, and I'm not a very big person. Although the decor in some of the regular rooms has been updated and could be classified as cottage chic (although a bit overboard with colors), cleanliness seems to be an issue.

Our group stayed in Unit 11 at first, which is supposed to be a "condo". Umm, not so much. I've stayed in frat houses that are cleaner. One of the windows was broken, the sliding door was being prevented from falling off the frame by a metal prop, the kitchen was infested with ants, the mattresses were plastic, and the air conditioner made the entire building shake and wasn't very successful in lowering the temperature below 78 F. The only funny part was the dilapidated gas grill on a second story deck. When we asked the manager about it, she insisted that there was no gas grill there. This is while the gas grill is clearly visible to all of us and her.

When we suggested to management that this wasn't exactly what we expected based on the descriptions on the website or what she actually told us, she begrudgingly agreed to move us to Unit 21 and 22. These might have been even worse. While the kitchens were marginally cleaner, the fridge had unidentifiable stains on the front that made me very suspicious for previous flood damage. The plumbing was literally held together with electrical tape (not even duct tape). The bathrooms were ridiculously tiny (I didn't have enough room to get my arms above my head in the shower). The beds were just too horrific for words. Flea market furniture abounded, and the couches looked like they hadn't been cleaned since Nixon was in office. The whole place smelled like a dead cat. The window A/C unit sounded like it was going to take off for outer space at any minute and again, didn't even cool the tiny bedroom down at all. There was a screened in porch, which is nice in theory. Several panels of the screen were missing, so we had to fight off the crazy squirrels who got stuck in there. One of our party sat down on the couch on the outdoor porch and was immediately engulfed by insects and larvae. There was a single light on the porch that had frayed wiring and was clearly a safety hazard.

I did see the inside of Units 8 and 10. They are updated and kind of cute, but incredibly tiny. The pool area is actually very nice and has some shade and vegetation instead of just a slab of concrete.

Overall, I would never stay in this place or recommend it to an enemy, let alone a friend. The thing that makes the place even worse is how expensive it is. The per night rate is comparable to some of the nicer resorts in the area that I visited during my stay. The management of Haley's is totally clueless and could care less about our most basic complaints such as "hey, for how much we're paying, can we at least have a window that's not missing huge chunks of glass?". Don't stay here.

  • Liked — That I got to leave
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank senor_boom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I chose this hotel due to the cheapest rates available on the island and after our experience realized it was ridiculously overpriced for what they offer.
We arrived when it was down-pouring and a hurricane had been issued earlier that week in the carribbean, but we took a chance on the weather. We were lied to by management saying that this is Florida and it rains everyday and that eventually the rain would subside by sunset. Again we took a chance and found our room which was absolutely gross. The brochure and website photos are completely misleading and make the hotel look like it's a pricey resort. The clock on the wall was wrong and when I went to change it the nails fell out. There were 3 areas of black scuff marks along the walls. 2 of the 4 windows were dented as if they'd been broken into and our front door had a half inch crack where you could see outside even though it was locked.
Deciding to make the best of the dump, we received an emergency call and had to leave the hotel/island. When we mentioned it to managment nothing was refunded to us despite only staying for 1-2 hours. Not to mention the lie about the rain stopping was further proven when we overheard the same guy say to someone else that a storm was coming and when we left found the island nearly submerged. Absolutely rude, misleading and uncomfortable place to stay. I suggest the Hilton for $45 less.

  • Liked — That we left
  • Disliked — The hotel room, hotel service, misleading information
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Nico2514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biels123, Owner at Haleys Motel and Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
We would love to be able to control the weather-if we could, we would have it rain for two hours from 2-4AM every night and have all sunny beach days for our guests! Unfortunately hurricanes in particular are unpredictable, and often change course many times. When we spoke to you, the hurricane was on a different path, and changed course which then suddenly made it dangerous for anyone to stay on the island, including all of our staff as well. This was a mandatory evacuation for everyone on the island. Since this is an island it floods quickly. We are not in the habit of lying to our guests and would have been in business for all these years if we were.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2008

My two kids (ages 8 and 12), my husband and I loved our stay. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, our room was clean and ready upon arrival. Although we did not request the optional housekeeping, they did come in during our stay and provided clean towels. The premises and the furniture show their age and are not upscale, but it was more than adequate, clean and relaxed, much more enjoyable for a beach vacation than being in a traditional bland hotel. They have fabulous charming gardens with several fountains tucked in here and there, and funky art work around every corner. One morning a turtle walked through our garden while we sipped our morning tea on the patio and sifted through shells we had collected. We used the pool room every night, we used the free bikes to tour around, the fabulous beach was a short walk. They provided boogie boards, towels, chairs, goggles, umbrellas. We loved every minute and will go back again.

  • Liked — Different and relaxed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FunkyKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
2.7 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
2.9 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.7 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
3.7 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#7 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haleys Motel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haleys Motel and Resort

Property: Haleys Motel and Resort
Address: 8102 Gulf Drive North, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Holmes Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haleys Motel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haley's offers two room studios, motel rooms, one bedroom cottages, 2 and 3 bedroom homes. Entire property is SMOKE and PET free. The sandy path to the Gulf of Mexico is only about 100 yards from your door. No roads to cross (except from the Gumbo Limbo House) Free use of beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and beach carts. Heated Pool, AC/heat, basic cable, TV, gas grills. All rooms and property have free wireless Wi-Fi. Free island wide trolley to dinning, shopping and all kinds of activates. Coffee makers with coffee and bath amenities. Most units have full kitchens except for a few motel rooms. They include Cook top or stoves, dishes and serve-ware and more. All rooms have a minimum of coffee maker and small refrigerator. Family owned and operated Book Direct for Best Deals. See "Specials" on our website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haleys Motel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel Holmes Beach
Haleys Motel And Resort Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing