We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Elegance on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Au Gres, Michigan/Seaford, NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Casual Elegance on the Beach”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Harrington House Bed and Breakfast complex is one of our favorite places to stay on Anna Maria Island. It's location is ideal--away from traffic, quiet and private and directly on a lovely stretch of uncrowded Gulf front beach. Everything about the Harrington House is perfection from our quarters in one of the "old Florida" units to the wonderful breakfasts on the terrace. Having an uncrowded beach just outside your front door is pure pleasure. The privacy is a luxury that cannot be found in the more crowded areas on the island. Staff are exceptional, very accommodating--especially Anne who makes everyone feel comfortably at home instantly. The ambiance is warm and welcoming from the instant you initially set foot in the living room and continues throughout your stay as you become part of the Harrington House "family".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    79
    19
    15
    1
See reviews for
66
470
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Most awesome place ever! Our room was great, right on the beach, beautiful view. The staff was marvelous. And the breakfast was the greatest way to start the day. I highly recommend this as a very calming peaceful pleasant area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We recently spent 6 nights here after many years of knowing that we had to come back. Everything was just as we remembered - and better. Stepping into the living room was like coming home just as we had left it. We even recognized a few faces after these 15 years of being away! The house, staff, breakfasts, location are all wonderful. The beach location and views from most rooms make it the perfect vacation spot. In spite of a couple of rainy days, we were able to enjoy Anna Maria and venture over to Bradenton for a couple of movies. We are going back!

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that as a B&B owner myself, we had high expectations of this place after reading the reviews and looking at the online photos. This was an absolutely wonderful choice for us and the Harrington House delivered in every way! We wanted beachfront and we got it! Our room (Carriage 2) was so lovely and the private porch/balcony was teriffic for late afternoon/evening wine with the lovely sight and sounds of the ocean. The staff was courteous and engaging, the Main House and our Room were immaculate and the breakfast was just perfect! We enjoyed the Beach and the convenience of having lounge chairs, umbrella and towels at our fingertips...all you would need was provided!

We look forward to returning and making this beautiful place our 'go-to' whenever we need to escape our own B&B and the Jersey Winters. Thanks Anne and staff for making us feel so welcome! We totally enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We loved Carriage House 2..breakfast is included and a nice view of the ocean. Sleep with the slide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barefootinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Spent two nights in the main house in a cozy room, with a little balcony overlooking the Gulf, and a supremely comfortable bed. Welcoming hosts and afternoon cookies greeted us. Though the weather was overcast, we found a full day's activities in Anna Maria Island, and so didn't miss the tempting (heated) pool. We did have a nice walk on the beach. Breakfasts on both mornings were prompt and delicious. Spent some wonderful hours in the common room reading in between forays around the island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

An amazing Breakfast every day overlooking the Gulf the staff took care of every need. Walk to the beach, restaurants and shops! We'll definitely be back. Looking forward to our return stay very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooz0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It's been 10 years since we started coming to Harrington House. First it was a couple of days in a small room in the main house. Thrilled with the place and its people, we returned in follow-on years to stay longer in bigger rooms in the main house. Then, for the past 5 years, it’s been 3 weeks or so in the adjoining fully-equipped bungalows and more remote multi-room buildings. Great breakfasts and the beach right there are a huge draw, of course, but the warmth of the Harrington House people trump those.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaltCulver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
1.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
957 reviews
2.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#12 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#6 of 16 in Holmes Beach
286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5626 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing