We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Holmes Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ncanton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

After reading the reviews of Harrington House on Trip Advisor, we decided to visit Harrington House as part of our week long vacation to Anna Maria Island
We were very dismayed to find that the Harrington House did not measure up to the reviews.....and the MONEY they charge! This B & B is in dire need of updating! We are frequent travelers and have stayed in many B & Bs over the years. We know that "old" can be very "homey and quiant". But when you pay $329.00 per night (plus tax) our expectations were running a bit high. As they should for this price. I am sorry to say that the quaility of the furnishings, carpet, paint, accessories, ammenities, etc. were far below many of the B & Bs we have visited at half the price. We stayed in the Huth House and could not believe our eyes at the quality of the facility. While the location was great (on the beach) it was a old lackluster track home that had been divided up into small rooms. If you decide to stay there, be sure to get rooms central to the inn and not off the property! Anna Maria Island has many more accommodatons better than the Harrington House. We reccommend Anna Maria Cottages. A great find!!! Great Location!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travelncanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    77
    18
    14
    1
See reviews for
63
455
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
upstate, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2009

I enthusiastically recommend the Harrington House! From the gorgeous location, to the homey accomodations, breakfasts to-die-for, and owners and staff that are attentive to your every need - this place is a gem.

I was very impressed with the proprietors' ability to make you feel right at home, while giving you the room to do your own thing. They take a personal interest in you yet are respectful of your space. They are helpful in suggestions for meals and entertainment - the perfect hosts that treat you like family.

The setting is splendid - right on the gulf. The beach was never crowded - beautiful clear blue water. Loved that you could borrow bicycles and kayaks anytime, at no charge. And after you take in the magnificent sunset, you can relax, pop in a movie from their library, and grab a homemade cookie or two to make the evening complete.

If you're interested in the "other side" of Florida, give Harrington House a try - you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larrym_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the HH for three consecutive years, in February, as a mid-winter getaway. We love it. There isn't a lot "to do" on Anna Maria Island but that's how we like it. We sit on the powder-white beach, watch the pelicans dive in the turquoise Gulf water, bike around town, eat in the many excellent restaurants, and occasionally go for a day trip to a museum or state park on the mainland. Great quiet vacation for couples without children.

The level of service at the HH is amazing. Helpful, kind, friendly and attentive, without being intrusive.

The one thing I would advise before booking a trip (well in advance!) is to make sure you understand all the different options for rooms, both in the main house and in their nearby buildings. There can be a large difference in the price-per-square foot, so to speak. Here is what I mean:

The first year we stayed in a bedroom in the main house overlooking the garden (no water view). It was all that was available when we tried to book at the last minute. It was perfectly nice, but a bit small and dark. A typical bed and breakfast room.

The next two years we stayed in another building, one of the two bungalows the owners have across the street from the main house. There, we have a bedroom, a living room, a fully stocked modern kitchen, laundry facilities, our own TV and DVD player... all in a bright, new, well-decorated bungalow. We still got to have breakfast in the main house, still got to use the bicycles and the kayaks, still were just a few steps from the beach..... and yet the bungalow cost far, far less than the single-bedroom we had the year before (only about 2/3 as much). The only "disadvantage" to the bungalow is that it is across the street from the main house. So you have a 45-second walk to get to breakfast, or a 45-second walk to get to the beach. Not really a problem.

I'd also recommend that if you need a more sensible breakfast than what they offer (usually waffles, pancakes, or something equally decadent and sugary) just ask. They always have plain eggs and oatmeal available, although they don't always mention that.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneInCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

This has been my favorite vaction spot since I was a little girl. My now husband booked a weekend at this B&B where he proposed. We stayed in the Carriage Suite 1, which is perfect. I got to wake up every morning and enjoy our direct view of the Gulf of Mexico. This room also has a wrap-around deck. The B&B has a pool, and direct beach access with access to chairs and beach towels (it is right on the water). Very friendly staff, and knowledgeable of the area. We even sent my parents here for a weekend as a wedding gift. Though we now live in the area, we wil still stay here once or twice a year as a weekend get-away.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rxbecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

Great getaway!! Room with a view is a must!

  • Liked — View and the quaint feel of the hotel.
  • Disliked — We liked everything. It is a splurge pricewise, but for a B and B on the beach, worth it!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WPtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

The staff was nice enough but the rooms were a disappointment.

  • Liked — Nice Library
  • Disliked — The Room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheRonTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

We enjoyed a nice stay at the Harrington House. Anna Marie Island is beautiful and the beaches are gorgeous with Harrington House being perfectly located on the beach. The accommodation itself is clean and comfortable and the owners are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is somewhat ' Fawlty Towers' - Rickety table by the window and not much choice - omlette and lettuce with the odd strawberry thrown on - but ok. It is a lovely place though - but be careful as the grass is alarmed on Anna Marie Island to make sure you don't accidently drop any litter or breathe too loudly!

Jenette and Roger Palmer. Cannock. Staffs.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank EllyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holmes Beach
1.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
2.1 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haleys Motel and Resort
Haleys Motel and Resort
#5 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5626 Gulf Dr, Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island, FL 34217-1666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Holmes Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holmes Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come savor intimate charm and casual elegance of Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast, one of Florida’s most highly rated Bed & Breakfast Inns located on a tranquil bit of paradise known as Anna Maria Island. The stunning sunsets, soothing rhythm of waves on the white sugar sand beaches, and warm hospitality – combine to create that perfect getaway. Tropical surroundings and serenity top the list of amenities. Savor a new gourmet breakfast selection every day from our collection of recipes prepared by our own professional chefs. Relax in the living room, a gathering place where visitors become friends. All rooms have private baths, color cable TV, air conditioning and free wireless internet. Many of the rooms have French doors leading to balconies, overlooking the pool and the Gulf of Mexico. Once you visit the Harrington House, you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harrington House Beachfront Hotel Holmes Beach
Harrington House Beachfront Bed And Breakfast
Harrington House Beachfront Bed & Breakfast Anna Maria Island/Holmes Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing