We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anna Maria Pirates Den
Nearby Hotels
Haleys Motel and Resort(Holmes Beach)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Water Beach Club(Holmes Beach)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
199
21
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
21
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsher momacross the streetwithin walking distanceanna mariaapartment was spaciousnext yearus feel at homeprivate patioshort walkheated poolin a heart beatbeautiful beachour favorite place to staythe kitchenperfect locationold floridathe cottages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stayed at Pirates Den for nine nights at the end of April / start of May 2010. Even before the stay we had a very positive impression of the establishment, based both on the reviews and Maree's flexible, friendly and very helpful attitude when we corresponded with her before the trip.

We were not disappointed. First of all, Maree & Dave were very welcoming hosts, generous with their local knowledge and providing little extras for our comfort and convenience. The two-bedroom ground-floor apartment was perfect for our needs (with two little children): spacious, with an enclosed outside area, clean and tidy, while not being decorated so expensively that we lived in fear of breaking things. We were offered beach towels and toys. The pool and barbecue further enhanced our enjoyment.

Pirates Den is conveniently located: just across the road from a lovely beach and five minutes' walk from Manatee Public Beach (with life guards, playground, restaurant) and close to a Publix supermarket and other shops. It is also within walking distance of the free trolley stop.

We loved every minute of our stay on Anna Maria island, and I have to say that Pirates Den played a full part in this. We firmly intend to return to Anna Maria and as long as it is under the same management we'll return to Pirates Den.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Liliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We stayed in one the the cottages and found it had everything we needed.The cottage has more than enough room for the three of us and is well equipped. We really enjoy having a private patio to sit out morning and night, just for alone time. Pirates Den is located within walking distance to shops, restaurants and of course the beautiful beach. We honestly haven't found anything we don't like and highly recommend the Pirates Den to everyone. Dave and Maree(the owners) are wonderful people and are always around if you should need anything.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukestergolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

This is one of the best little spots I have ever been to.The locaton is great,the rooms are clean...charmingly decorated with a lot of care.It's location is perfect.
The couple who run it are true professionals in every sense of the word.They are the reason we went back the 2nd time and brought our friends along.We felt we were going to see people we KNEW...they are helpful,kind,interesting...there if you need them...but discreet: you feel taken care of.They make up part of the charm of AMI.WE already have our reservation for next year.
Don't hesitate GO...and reserve as soon as you can : O)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAiA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Dave and Marie are like staying with "family" - you feel like you've knoun them your whole life. They are very accomodating. We were going to Key West previously - they are part of the reason we keep going back to Anna Maria . The location is great, the accomodations have everything you could need - they are like being "home". Our friends came with us this year and felt the same way...we're already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotia57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

My husband and I have spent three fantastic vacations at the Pirates Den and the accomodations have always been great thanks to Maree and Dave, they could not be better hosts. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Everything is right there shopping, beach, fishing and dining.

Barb and Bill Rosar

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williammcgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews