We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Rod n Nod!”
Review of Rod 'n' Nod

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homosassa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rod 'n' Nod
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Very nice and comfortable acommodations right on the water. Living area with complete kitchen is a big plus and use of boat (a gheenoe) makes a stay at the Rod n Nod a terrific value. Hosts John and John Sr are very pleasant and helpful (listen to John's tips on where to fish!). Also just a short walk to the Marguerita Grill. A great retreat for wildlife viewing (manatees, dolphins and wide variety of birds) and fishing. Look forward to vacationing there again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kdbweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2008

My family just can not get enough of this place. Homosassa is "Old Florida" at its best and the Rod N Nod has become our home away from home. John does a fantastic job at making your stay as comfortable as possible. His units have all the creature comforts you could possibly need. I'm fortunate to travel to many exotic locations with my job, but when my family has time off, it's Homosassa and the Rod N Nod.

Btw… Not many places you can pull your boat up to your back door!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jamie5942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

My wife, father, and I had an excellent experience at the Rod N Nod. The quiet setting on the canal has very good access for kayaks, canoes and boats. We were cool and comfortable with ALL of the ammenaties of home. There were manatees, dolphin and birds around and it was nice to just relax on the porch and enjoy the area. The owner, John was very friendly and helpful with local knowledge and he even took us out for a ride on his boat to view manatees and fish. There is plenty of parking. I parked a boat trailer (17' Carolina Skiff), 2 bicycles and a Jeep Grand Cherokee. There was also a carport where additional visitors parked next to our 2 bikes. An R/V could have easily been parked where I parked my Grand Cherokee. Easy kayak trip to the springs and enjoyable boat trip to the gulf. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scalawag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

I have stayed at Rod n' Nod twice. It was great. It is two houses connected by a tiki lounge. It is right on the water (a canal off a large river)-we saw manatee and dolphins swim right by our place-3 feet away from us!

We have stayed in both apartments-the smaller one is really best for 2 adults, maybe 3. The larger one has 2 bdrms-one with twin beds and another with a king bed. It also has a couch.
Both have full kitchen and baths.

The owner is around a lot, so if we needed anything (extra towels, a lamp, fishing lessons, boat ride) he was right there, eager to help.

also included in the price is use of a canoe with a trolling motor, so we were able to explore the river each day. We didn't have to pay to "swim with the manatee" because we could take our boat there ourselves.

We had a great stay. Everything was in tip-top shape. Everything worked-if it didn't, the owner took care of it for us. He even sent us home with grapefruit from his trees!

I recommend it. It is a great bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank travellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

I took some friends from England to hopefully see "the real Florida".
None of us could believe the beauty, general ambience (and hospitality of our host), coupled with unbelievable relaxation!

We were treated to a comfortable and clean place to stay, with MANY extras, not least of which was a boat trip on the river (where OVER 24 manatee swam around the boat) but also a super breakfast dish, beautifully cooked by "mein host".

This stay "MADE" the vacation for my friends, and I. It meant so much to experience genuine hospitality coupled with a GREAT place to stay.

What a wonderful advert for "The Spirit of America"

2 small words, but genuinely meant - for you John "THANK YOU"

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

Our stay at Rod n Nod was awesome, very quiet, very comfortable and very clean.
Our host "John" bent over backwards to make sure we were happy during our stay.
There was nothing better than sitting out on the deck in the morning with coffee and watching the manatee swim through the canal.
We look foward to our next stay.

Ed and Suzie

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fishinged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
818 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
5.8 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Spring Hill
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod 'n' Nod? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod 'n' Nod

Address: 10234 W Grotto Ct, Homosassa, FL 34448-3408
Region: United States > Florida > Homosassa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Homosassa
Price Range: £95 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Rod 'N' Nod Homosassa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing