We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Get-Away in Homossassa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chassahowitzka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chassahowitzka Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Homosassa B&B and Inns
Dundee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Get-Away in Homossassa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Miss Maggie's House and thoroughly enjoyed it! Excellent facility, 2 full bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms, 2 sitting areas with TVs, a full kitchen and wonderful wrap around bar. We only spent 2 nights, but it was great. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northfla
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We Have been to this hotel a few times with our children and I must tell you that we love this place! The hotel is a remodeled property from the turn of the century and they have done a wonderful job. When we stay there we always stay in the first floor room next to the kitchen. It is very large and it has plenty of room for the kids. The kitchen is "HUGE" and the family area is great for the kids and us to watch TV and relax.One morning the kids found a grasshopper on a leaf off the front porch and took a picture of it. David is great, helped the kids a lot. Every-time we go to CHAZ Annie calls David for the first floor room and a boat to go cave diving. My daughter loves to swim in the crystal clear water and swim in the small caves just a short walk from the hotel. The breakfast was great. The front porch was the best place for relaxing. The fishing from the pier at the marina is fun for the kids.The price is very reasonable. We will be back as often as we can.

Room Tip: First floor is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phlebotomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had 12 guys going on a golf trip and I was looking for accommodations. World Woods golf course (8 minutes away) referred us to the Chaz Hotel. Planning a trip for 12 is not an easy task. I called Dave, the owner, and told him what we were looking for. After a couple phone calls and e-mails, the trip was planned. As the date got closer, I started to get a bit edgy..hoping it would be as nice as it was in the photos, because if not I was going to hear about it from the boys. Let me say that it was not only nicer than the photos, but by far exceeded our expectations. Dave took care of everything from tee-times to meals, even kept our adult beverages iced down. The meals were delicious and generous, be sure to request extra biscuits. The staff (Jeff, Debbie and Carrie) were always there to help and couldn't be friendlier. We couldn't ask for more. One thing I do recommend is karaoke night at the local watering hole, Jake's. It's about a 200 yard walk from the lodge so you can stumble home. Good conversation, cold $1 drafts and a lot of laughs...what more could you ask for. We haven't stopped talking about what a good time we had. It appears as if this will now be our annual golf outing. Kudos to Dave and the crew.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ACGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Chassahowitzka Hotel is a unique little piece of history from the early 1900's, tucked away in the Crystal River region of Citrus County. The facility is comfortable, clean, charming, and the room rates were very reasonable. The owner David is easy-going, good-natured, and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the handicapped room downstairs which was spacious and had its own large bathroom. The area itself is ideal for people that like to fish, kayak, hike, birdwatch, sightsee, and best of all swim with the manatees -- and the hotel is centrally located to access all of it. It's a paradise for the eco-tourist, outdoor enthusiast, and angler alike. Definitely recommend! My only criticisms that subtract a point are that the included breakfasts could be improved with healthier more wholesome options, and that the bed was a little bit uncomfortable.

Room Tip: The handicapped room has a private bathroom. The other rooms didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank exoticdvm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

My sister and I visited Chassahowitzka because we had spent many childhood days there with family and friends who lived there. We loved the spring fed river, the woods, the wildlife presereve, etc. and wanted to see "wild florida" again. June is Not the best time for fishing back bay, but we wanted to experience the river and outlying area. We stayed at the Chassahowitzka Hotel because it was center stage for our activities (and there are many more activities you could do). The owner, David Strickland was there to greet and check us in. He was gracious, helpfull and you could tell he took pride in his hotel. He recommended a wonderful restaurant nearby callled "Pecks Port of Call, in Ozelo, and it was OUTSTANDING! I'm a florida native and the seafood platter (grouper, shrimp and bay scallops) was perfect, just superb. Driving out the 9 miles is an adventure in itself, winding roads barely above the backwaters. Pretty. The hotel accommodations were extremely clean, neat and "homey", with modern conveniences and plenty of charm. The beds are on the "firm" side, but we slept well. You could see the pride of ownership and the loving way this 100yr old hotel was refurbished. I understand they get most of their business from golfers. Some take over the whole hotel and it's a bargain and close to the courses. A friend had a family reunion there and it's a great idea, everyone staying close together and all. It helps to go to the Hotels Facebook page. They can have dinner provided for parties of 8 and up. Also, David got us a fishing guide that was moored at a dock only steps away. Many people love to kyack, canoe and enjoy this wild river. And there are parks/preserves and the like nearby. Homosassa Springs has a nice nature park where the fish are up close and personal, too. Well, I'm just saying, if you want to enjoy a simple, nature themed vacation or excursion, check the area out. Check out the areas around and you'll see that this hotel and small town (next to Homosassa) is a great starting point or destination. It's for nature lovers, there's no spa or bar or the like.You can find that in the near vacinity. But we got what we went for, and then some. Hope you go and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Our group of Memphis area golfers loved the facility, food and outstanding service provided by David and his staff. Look no further for the perfect golf get away!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoHillyGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
11.7 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
14.4 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chassahowitzka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chassahowitzka Hotel

Property: The Chassahowitzka Hotel
Address: 8551 W Miss Maggie Dr, Homosassa, FL 34448-5316
Region: United States > Florida > Homosassa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Homosassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Chassahowitzka Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned and operated, lodge style hotel gives you the opportunity to experience "old Florida" but with modern amenities. We specialize in golf tours, fishing tours and even manatee swims. Located close to the unspoiled, Chassahowitzka River makes us the ideal location for your eco vacation as well.Whether it's a vacation, stay-cation, man-cation, girls weekend away, family reunion or corporate retreat, make it happen in Chassahowitzka, Fl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Chassahowitzka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chassahowitzka Hotel Homosassa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing