We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chassahowitzka Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Homosassa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel is far better than most. Super friendly and helpful hotel manager helped us with dinner suggestions, coupons for attractions, and even helped us book our next accomodation and printed a map for us. The hotel itself is beautiful, breakfast is included, the location is quiet. Although it is technically a hotel with shared bathrooms, we were there when not many others were, so we had the upstairs bathroom to ourselves anyway. So much nicer than staying in a chain hotel.

Room Tip: there are some rooms with verandahs which look lovely, although at a busy time I suppose other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Weekend scalloping trip with some friends and brought the wife and three kids. The Chazz B&B was suggest by one of my buddies as very convenient place to the River for boat launching, (1/4 mile) and a fair price. Both suggestions were spot on! Staff was very friendly (Jeff especially) accommodating, made dinning suggestions, etc. Bathrooms and bedrooms very clean! If I had to pick on one thing...beds are not real comfortable (hard) and if you are staying with a group and get stuck with a single bed... they super small for anyone over 6 feet tall. Other than that, we would highly recommend The Chazz Hotel!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Chassahowitzka Hotel is a hidden gem on the Florida West Coast. It is not highly advertised, so you might miss it. Everything surpassed our expectations. The setting is just off the Chassahowitzka River, which is one of the few "Old Florida" non-commercial rivers left in Florida. The hotel is kept immaculately clean. The serivce was great. The staff was very accomodating and took their time to give us history on the area and suggestions on things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just stayed yet again at the Chaz' Hotel. I travel a lot for a non-prof educational org and the hotels are all the same - some worse than others - some better, but all with a sameness and no sense of "home". The Chassahowitzka Hotel is en exception. It is run by a fourth generation hotelier. The Chaz Hotel began as a fish camp about 100 years ago offering very basic lodging and easy access to fishing.

Today, the Chaz Hotel is a beautiful place, shaded by old growth oaks and is well appointed. The owners Dave and Kim are not only veterans - they are uniquely suited to a very difficult task - making people feel at home when they are not. They now have a manager to help them - Jeff, and he is also excellent.

I could literally go on and on. They have access to fishing guides and golfing. They offer meals for groups - hand prepared on site, often by the owners themselves. The entire place is always "scary" clean - immaculate and inviting. Dave and Kim have preserved the old Florida feel, while simultaneously offering all of the modern conveniences.

I hate to even write this review for fear it might attract more people and limit my own access to my favorite hotel on the planet! If you would like a weekend get away or are an avid fisherman or golfer - this is THE place to go. It is near lots of great restaurants and many outdoor activities in a place that is always green. They even manage a house nearby called "The Maggie House", with four beds and two full bathrooms - it is gorgeous and can be had for a very reasonable cost.

Tell Dave or Jeff that Trey sent you and be treated like family.

Room Tip: They offer everything from a single room to an entire house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Absolutely the best atmosphere and accommodations. The host and owner were terrific in helping us with our golfing reservations. The BnB was very clean and inviting. The breakfast was superb. We were 3 long time friends there for golf outing at nearby course. They set everything up for us. This old genuine Florida. Thank you Chassahowitzka. You guys are bodacious.
Buzz Tim Dick

Room Tip: Every room is a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funflyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband, daughter, son and I just returned from spending three nights at the hotel. We could not have asked for a better stay! We traditionally stay at hotels that are in the three star plus category when we travel, however, after reading the reviews I thought I would take a chance while visiting a new area on the Chassahowitzka Hotel. So glad I did! The hotel is spotless and I cannot say enough about Jeff, the manager, and David, the owner. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. We learned so much about the area and were given guidance about the best places to rent/use kayaks, eat, shop, and experience everything the area offers - it was wonderful! Jeff made reservations for us for Peck's one night - so good! The almond encrusted grouper was phenomenal. Another evening, Jeff suggested Neon Leon's. Again, the perfect choice. David gave us some great history lessons about the area, too. We just felt very much at home at this wonderful hotel. If you are looking to stay somewhere that is unique and a little different than the typical chain hotel, this is it. It's a very special place.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had three beds - two twins and a double. It has a shared bathroom but we did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reedinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Don't want it getting too busy there, lol. Great people, great location, no other guests were there when we stayed and we had the run of the house, can't say enough about the owners. Just called to book again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
839 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
354 reviews
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
272 reviews
14.4 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chassahowitzka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chassahowitzka Hotel

Address: 8551 W Miss Maggie Dr, Homosassa, FL 34448-5316
Region: United States > Florida > Homosassa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Homosassa
Price Range: £65 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Chassahowitzka Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family owned and operated, lodge style hotel gives you the opportunity to experience "old Florida" but with modern amenities. We specialize in golf tours, fishing tours and even manatee swims. Located close to the unspoiled, Chassahowitzka River makes us the ideal location for your eco vacation as well.Whether it's a vacation, stay-cation, man-cation, girls weekend away, family reunion or corporate retreat, make it happen in Chassahowitzka, Fl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Chassahowitzka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chassahowitzka Hotel Homosassa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing