We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homosassa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homosassa River Retreat
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Homosassa
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited on a Saturday during the annual Copia Tournament. We were on a road trip and only there for 1 night, which is actually all we could have tolerated any way. I did not have high expectations since I knew it was basically a fishing camp, but from the descriptions of the hotel rooms, I did expect clean and functional. My husband cannot walk long distances so I first called in April and made a specific room request to be as close to the restaurant and bar as possible. When we checked in our room was the furthest room from the restaurant as you could get. It all began with check in.The tournament head quarters was actually across the street at another motel / marina, but cars and trucks were parked all over the property, No parking was available anywhere near our room. When I asked where we could park I was told to find a spot anywhere I could. No parking was reserved for hotel guests. I guess we should have left right then, but we had driven several hours that day and were tired. After we checked in we went immediately to the restaurant for a couple of before dinner drinks and dinner. When I explained my husband could not climb stairs,the restaurant manager was very courteous and let us sit inside and relax before dinner instead of having to go to the bar upstairs. After dinner we returned to our room to wash up and retire for the night. This is when we discovered there was no running water in the sink. It had a rusted out hole in the sink and I guess their solution was turn off the water! It was late so I just used bottled water to brush my teeth and went to bed. When I checked out in the morning I told the desk clerk about the bathroom sink and also about a huge cigarette burn on the toilet seat. Since we were in a non smoking room with a fine for smoking ( which we do not ) I did not want to be charged for the burn. He did not seem very concerned about the issues in the room. He asked how far we had traveled and based on this information offered us a $15 gift certificate to use on our next visit. I declined since I did not see us returning from N.Texas to visit this place. I debated between this "resort" the the Best Western in Crystal Springs. We saw it on the way out and I so wish I had made the decision to stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pssprinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

we spent the day crabbing off the dock and enjoying the owner and his friends company - made us feel welcomed and at home right away - basically a fish camp so nothing fancy - clean but if a little rust on the refrigerator bothers you look elsewhere - if you like to hang out on the river and fish with a cold one this is a fun place - hard a heck to find so watch for sign or call and the owner will stand out on the road and wave you down

Room Tip: if early to bed go away from the river rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank dwbtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Have been staying here for over 30 years . Annual scalloping trip . Jeff the owner is great ! Anything you need he gets . I could fish the rest of my life on the dock .

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gobodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Nice older cottages at this fishing resort right on the Homosassa River. Fishing off the dock. Bring your boat, slips available. This is not fancy but my wife and I enjoyed it for several years.
The first revue about the monkeys IS NOT this place.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank conseidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2006

this is a wonderful low key resort. this is our fourth winter there. jeff is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank PINEBRANCHPOINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
7.3 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
6.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
859 reviews
21.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Spring Hill/Weeki Wachee
6 mi away
Plantation on Crystal River
Plantation on Crystal River
#4 of 9 in Crystal River
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homosassa River Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa River Retreat

Address: 10606 W Halls River Rd, Homosassa, FL 34448-3472
Region: United States > Florida > Homosassa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Homosassa
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new Ownership. Ulli & Michelle ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homosassa River Retreat Hotel Homosassa
Homosassa River Retreat Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing