We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolling on the River”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homosassa Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homosassa Riverside Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my second stay at HRR. The first time was eight years ago and I was afraid it would have changed but we found it to be in wonderful condition with some updates and improvements that did not change the character. Old Florida at it's best. We had Suite 212, a two-bedroom, two-bath upstairs riverfront unit with a full kitchen and large living area, plus spacious outdoor deck overlooking the pool and the river. Extremely clean and well equipped. Weather turned iffy but we were able to take a pontoon boat river cruise for $18 with an informative and friendly guide, where we saw bald eagles, numerous wading birds, and of course manatees. The tour went upriver to the headsprings of the river, located just outside the Homasassa River nature park, which is a destination all its own. Gorgeous tropical trees and flowering plants, clear springs filled with fish of all kinds as well as manatees, shady wooden boardwalks all through the park which comprised numerous indigenous animals in native habitats. Better than any zoo! One member of our party is a wildlife photographer and he got awesome pics on this outing, also took a hike into the nearby salt marsh. In good weather there is kayaking, boating, fishing, and other water sports right outside your door. The scenery is lovely, the gulf is about 4 miles downriver, there is a public boat launch just yards from the resort and you can tie up to the resort docks. Good restaurant and bar on-site. We had a few issues that were satisfactorily resolved: hot water heater went out and was promptly prepared, and our downstairs neighbors became a bit rowdy as they partied into the night only a few feet from our bedroom window. A compromise had to be made here *(this was the second night, Thursday before Easter. On Wednesday night all was peaceful and relaxing, wonderful to sit out on the deck and watch the river roll by.) Nearby is an artisan's shop with beautiful pottery, glasswork and art for sale as the artists produce new inventory in the adjoining studio. Colorful, picturesque, totally charming and the art on offer was appealing and reasonably priced. Close to Crystal River, Rainbow River and numerous other inland Florida activities; Would love to go back soon without an agenda, just to relax! I give it an excellent rating - however, be advised there is no "room service" per se. I gave high marks to the housekeeping, generous supply of towels and other necessities, comfortable bedding and other nice touches. There is no spa. There is a nice pool with ample lounge chairs on a deck overlooking the river. Grounds are well manicured, beautiful green grass and landscaping, palms and mossy oaks, the views across the river are lovely and the place abounds with character.

Room Tip: Have heard that the single rooms are not desirable. They are located away from the river and appear...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkhousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Homosassa Riverside Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Rooms are outdated!!! Left behind a pair of sandals called to try to get them back and house keepers claim they found nothing. Kind of crappy to take someone's shoes.......so be careful not to leave anything behind if you want to see it again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is very comfortable and affordable. The on site restaurants and bars are very
nice and reasonable. Friendly people are everywhere, and are eager to assist. Also don't wait until the crowded scallop season to enjoy this property. I was here in April and had a lot to do with minimal crowds

Room Tip: the large 2 room/bath is huge
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Booked a standard room and upon checking in was given Villa II room 209. WOW full kitchen two double and very comfortable beds. newly updated and the best part a spacious deck overlooking river. could also see monkey island. now this is the way to go. peeked in at standard rooms and don't think I would have stayed. very old. so impressed we bought can of coffee and doughnuts for a.m. and sat on deck for a few hours I the morning. also full fridge had working icemaker. while waiting to be checked in went for a boat ride in the river about 11/2 hours but well worth the modest price. would definitely go back but only to a villa.

Room Tip: had to use stairs for second floor but better view. kids would be better on lower level as it had ni...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw our room. It was a little older but very clean and comfortable. Check in and out was smooth. I was concerned that our door and frame were not flush, you could see outside and I was afraid that bugs or something could crawl in.
Had a standard room and will defiantly stay there again. Nice ambiance.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is the second year we returned to Homosassa Riverside Resort. The standard rooms are a little "tired" and could use some updating, but other than that, it was adaquate. The beds were comfortable and the refrigerator was very cold. The rooms were clean. The location is great because it is close to many activities. We rented a pontoon boat that was very reasonable (it also could use some repair on the seats), but it was the best thing ever. We went right toward the end of the river (at the suggestion of the attendant at the marina) and we certainly had a treat. We saw at least 100 manatee that came right up to our boat. Some of our guests had never seen a manatee so the thrill was incredible. For sure we will do this next year. In agreement, we all said it was the best weekend ever!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in a one bedroom/one bath/kitchen/living room suite at 108$ tax incl. That's a good deal, I think, and it's even the rack rate. Only downside was lack of crib (first time we experience after travelling 2-3 months in Florida), and they tried blaming the government. Also, walls separating the suites where thin, so we could have taken part in the next door conversation. Decent restaurant on site (see separate review) and funny monkey Island. Pool looked nice, but we didnt try it out.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homosassa Springs
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
813 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
345 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
263 reviews
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
9.2 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homosassa Riverside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homosassa Riverside Resort

Address: 5297 S Cherokee Way, Homosassa Springs, FL 34448-4424
Region: United States > Florida > Homosassa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Homosassa Springs
Price Range: £48 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homosassa River's Most Famous Waterfront ResortFeaturing Florida's Majestic SceneryYou don't have to enjoy great food and fun. You don't have to share a sunset or riverside cocktail. You don't have to spend any time dreaming by the pool. You don't have to be entertained by the antics of the monkeys, the manatee or the passing dolphins..... BUT YOU CAN IF YOU WANT TO!AccommodationsRelax at the pool, on the docks or the patio of your waterfront suite. Absorb the wonder and beauty of The Homosassa River.Riverside Crab HouseThe beautiful, family-friendly, main dining room has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the Homosassa River. Fresh blue crabs caught from the river by local fisherman are served daily.Yardarm LoungeCitrus County's oldest and most favorite riverside lounge. Floor to ceiling glass, second story panoramic view of the Homosassa River. Featuring entertainment and history. Make new friends while enjoying your favorite cocktail at the 65' cooper bar. What a beautiful slice of local history.The Monkey BarFun in the trees! This double-decker tiki bar overlooks our very own Monkey Island. Enjoy cool island drinks and entertainment while watching the antics of the monkeys, the passing dolphins, the jumping tarpon, playful otters, manatee, and many native birds... including Bald Eagles. Oh yes, and the people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homosassa Riverside Hotel Homosassa Springs
Homosassa Riverside Resort Homosassa Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing