We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Turtle Reef Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Reef Club
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just return from a stay at the Turtle Reef Club in December 2013. This resort is in need of a major renovation. It was fine 20 plus years ago when the furniture and everything else in the units was new. The units are dirty and not well maintained. After taking a shower and my 1 year old taking a bath one night we were barefoot in the unit and when we went to go to bed the bottoms of our feet were black. This is how dirty the carpets and flooring are in the unit. Bath tub in the master bedroom would fill with water when shower was run and not drain. The top of the refrigerator was rusty and the cookware was cheap and dirty. I only thing the Turtle Reef Club has going for it is that it is oceanfront but believe me there are plenty of other places that are oceanfront in Jensen Beach, FL that would be much nice to stay at. Don't waste you time or money staying at the Turtle Reef Club.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth A, Manager at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are terribly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Turtle Reef Club. We strive each day to improve and meet our guests expectations. We have been working on updating the resort and in March 2014 we will be receiving the brand new living room furniture. We have begin to add new bedroom furniture and dining tables to all the units as well. For the uncleanliness you experienced, we apologize, if we would have been made aware we would have gladly made sure to have someone visit your unit for an extra cleaning. We work to constantly improve our resort and do appreciate you sharing your feedback, as it is the only way for us to know what guests would like to see. We hope that you'll give Turtle Reef Club another shot in the future

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

this complex is all 2 bdrm condo's. well appointed, all units have great ocean views, fully stocked kitchens, dining room, livingroom, 2 bathrooms & huge decks. the staff are friendly, the pool is great, lots of seating and bbq with patio tables & chairs - a great place to meet other guests. Tuesdays they have a wine & cheese meet & greet and Thursdays have hot dog night. There isn't too much for organized activities, but, there is plenty to do in the area. We went into Jensen Beach and enjoyed the restaurants, movie theatre and the Pineapple Festival. I would definitely come back to Turtle Reef Club

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor and had great views in all directions, from the balcony we could see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. The room was run down but we did have a great view from our 5th floor room but that was really the only good part of the room. The in room hair dryers are sticky and gross one was broken so i let the front desk know I was told " I will let housekeeping know" never offered to get me a new one. We checked in after hours when I called to set up the lock box they didn't even get my name to make sure I was a legit reservation they told me the code and that it was changed once aweek! Thank god our keys were still there when we got to the check in office. Th kitchen cabinet was broken, the outlet in the living room was broken. A little renovation could go a LONG way with this. Staff could be a little more caring when you let them know about problems or/or offer to fix them not just let someone else know.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jaymie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Have stayed here many times, as a trade and as a rental and will again soon. We love the beach and the pool there and live within 15 miles, so it is a way to get away without a plane trip or long drive. Across the street is alberto;s not just a pizza place , great rack of lamb and asobuco.

Room Tip: Try to get an end unit, if they did'nt have screened in porches you could spit on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don08251950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments! We are happy to have you as a repeat customer and look forward to having you many more times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived after office hours....only to find our 1st floor room's sliding glass door 's lock was broken/missing....so wide open! We used a broom to prevent the door from being opened until office opened in the morning. I find it hard to believe that either housekeeping, maintenance or front desk did not know the lock was broken. Yet they rent the room to us. Spoke with office, maintenance not available until 10 am. Lock fixed. I brought all of my concerns listed in my Title to the front desk. Her response was, "Oh I am sorry to hear that." We left. NEVER to return. Will continue to steer all away from this Disaster. You can find much better on Hutchinson Island for the same price or less.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grayceey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We are deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Turtle Reef Club. We try our best to make sure 100% of concerns are always addressed as quickly as possible. Prior to your stay we do not have any records indicating that the lock was broken and as soon as you reported it our typical protocol is standard in the hospitality industry - to wait until 10 am to conduct work inside the units to avoid waking up any guests too early and disturbing their vacation with any noise, but since it was a matter of a lock it was fixed by 8:30 a.m.



If we would have been made aware of the issues with the hair and kitchen we would have been more than happy to quickly change them out and fix them or switch you to another unit if one was available during your stay. If you ever want to give Turtle Reef Club another chance we would be more than happy to give you a discount on another unit and hope you can see the beauty of the resort. Thank you for giving us your feedback and we will be sure to share it with all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Booked through our travel club, Travel Advantage Network, for the week of 30 JUN 2013 to 07 JUL 2013. Was told they have 50 two bedroom units and two three bedroom units.

We were assigned unit # 210 which afforded us a panoramic view of the ocean from the front and side. The unit was clean, the only complaint was from my guest, the second bedroom had two twin beds that needed to be replaced. My guest feared moving around in bed for fear they would end up on the floor.

There is a barbeque area with two large grills, a heated pool, but no whirlpool. Refreshments available at certain times of the day at the pool. Soft drinks, ice cream, chips. One morning free pancakes, another day $3 for hot dog, chips, and a 12 ounce can of soda. Front desk staff available until 8 PM. If there is a problem there is a number to call after that time.

The only concern to share was we were there for the July 4th, and many of the time share owners had family join them that day for a day at the beach. We had intended on going out to eat but ordered pizza for fear that we would not have a place to park. Persons were parking on the grass and double parking in some areas.

In talking the their guests at the pool learned that many were time share owners since the resort opened in 1974. They spoke well of the resort with the exception of the twin beds in the guest room, NEW Mattresses and Box Springs were needed. Being 6'5", I slept great in the king size bed.

I would highly recommend this for families. They have a nice beach access and its a quiet family oriented resort.

Room Tip: There are 25 units that look out into the ocean but sit back about 50 yards. The other 25 units off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhoDey119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Reef Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your comments! We appreciate any and all feedback we recieve and will most definitely share your comments with our staff as well as our management and board who make the decisions at our resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Turtle Reef Club has been a staple vacation spot in my wife's family (now my family) for many years. It is in a wonderful location on a quiet, not overly developed part of Hutchinson Island. The building and facilities are good, not great, but many updates seem to be forthcoming within the units. The units are only steps from the beach and all have great views of the Atlantic (the 1st floor lacks in this department). The pool is nice and the exercise facility is a plus. The staff is hit or miss, some employees are great and very welcoming, while others are less than helpful. If your looking or a relaxing vacation on the beach on Florida's pristine Treasure Coast, Turtle Reef is worth your consideration.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank cfegeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hutchinson Island
0.1 mi away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
5.7 mi away
Old Colorado Inn
Old Colorado Inn
#1 of 11 in Stuart
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
Holiday Inn Port St. Lucie
#11 of 12 in Port Saint Lucie
161 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hutchinson Shores Resort & Spa
Hutchinson Shores Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Jensen Beach
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Reef Club

Address: 10800 S Ocean Dr, Hutchinson Island, FL 34957-2609
Region: United States > Florida > Hutchinson Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hutchinson Island
Price Range: £207 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Reef Club 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Turtle Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Reef Club Hotel Hutchinson Island
Turtle Reef Club Hutchinson Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing