We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The absolute best place on the Gulf Coast!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Cozy Cottages
New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The absolute best place on the Gulf Coast!!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just returned home from a week long stay at Sunshine Cozy Cottages and can't wait to return next year!! The owners Chuck and his wife are some of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. You can tell that they take pride in their ownership.
We stayed in cottage #12 which was in the rear left corner of the property. It was kind of secluded, which we loved. The cottage was completely knotty pine and was decorated in a french country theme. It was furnished with everything you would need....towels, dishes, utensils, micro, stove, fridge, even pot holders and dish towels....the didn't overlook anything!!!. There was also a broom and dustpan and vacuum which made daily upkeep a breeze.
The weather was great during our visit...mostly mid to high 80's, so it was great beach weather. The AC units in the cabin did a great job of keeping everything cool and comfortable inside.
There is a nice courtyard with plenty of picnic tables and assorted grills which were great for firing up some bugers and dogs when we didn't feel like going out to eat.
Also in the courtyard are beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and other assorted beach items which are there for you to use at your convenience.
We could see the water from our front porch. It was a short stroll across the street. The beach was wonderful..... not crowded like most beaches in the area, it felt like our own little paradise.
The cottages are centrally located between Clearwater and Madeira Beach / John's Pass. The big box stores and grocery stores are also just a few miles away.
There are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance. A little place down the street called The Kooky Coconut became our favorite place to grab a bite ... and their ice cream was to die for, especially the mango sorbet.
Sunshine Cozy Cottages has every amenity you could ever need to make you feel like you are at your "home away from home"
I wish I could stay there year round!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crickett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
31
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carl Junction, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed there from June 21 through June 28 --- there were 4 of us girls (ages 27, 28, 28 and 46) ..... We had cabin number 16 ...located at the back of property ... two bedroom one bath cottage. When we open the door it was very cute and quaint cabin. Chuck and Denise are very laid-back mellow people. We chose sunshine cozy cottages because of the price it was a great deal and well worth it. It is a very peaceful area to vacation in.

As all the other cabins, they come stocked with dishes, pots and pans, everything you need to make this your own little house during your vacation. It also contains necessary towels in the bathroom and for the kitchen as well.

We came by plane and took a taxi to cottage so we walked to a lot of places and use the beach trolley for transportation. The closest grocery store is 1 mile away. You can walk to several different style of restaurants, donut shop, a coffee shop, bike rentals and ice cream shop.

The beach is right across the street and it is fantastic. Chuck and Denise have a supply of chairs, umbrellas, noodles that you can take with you to the beach and bring them back. Also in the courtyard of the cottages you can find a charcoal grill and gas grills and patio furniture to sit down and relax. And if you want to catch the beach trolley the stop is right there in front of the office. If you don't have a car you can use the beach trolley running north and south to all different kinds of beaches for $4.50 per day for a one-week pass for $20.

We found it necessary to keep the window air-conditioner units running 24 / 7

This is the only cabin that does not have a roof over the porch (just in case you were wondering)

Our cabin is attached to the laundry room -- 1 washer and 2 stacked dryers. $1.00 per load / and each dryer --- I found these to be out of date. I washed one load and when I raised the lid to add softner the water looked dirty in the rinse cycle.

I have 2 request -- there is a wooden raised sidewalk leading to our cabin which had raised nails and loose boards that we continued to trip over ... I wouldn't mind seeing that removed and our bathtub needed a face lift pretty bad.

Over all, We enjoyed ourselves very much and would return without any problem.

Room Tip: This place was pretty quiet and peaceful when we went --- this was our 1st time there and think ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I was on work assignment in Tampa for the month of August. We stayed at Sunshine Cozy Cottages in Indian Rocks. My commute into Tampa was well worth it. The cottages were fantastic, very comfortable, quaint, and very nicely decorated and very clean. Fully stocked with everything we needed for cooking and daily upkeep. Chuck and Denise were absolutely awesome to deal with. The beach is just a very short walk across one street and easy to get to and not crowded like the public beach accesses are, just up either side of the road. Very pet friendly, as long as you control you pet. Dog park is within easy walking distance as is a very nice ice cream shop and oyster pub. We give it our highest recommendation.

Royce and Natalia

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NataliaMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just want to say this was without a doubt the best vacation ever very clean home a way from home everything you could want near by right across from the beach just beautiful friendly and just minutes away from many other beaches great places to eat are just head to one of the near by stores and prepare your own meals in your well kept and supplied cottage chuck thank you for being so helpful we hope to be coming back next year
The Caples, and esquevil family

Room Tip: Just call chuck his place is the best any room will be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendell c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trimble, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend time in the Indian Rocks Beach area. This has been a favorite area of ours since his folks retired there many years ago. The cabins are very nicely decorated with a seaside, country theme. We rested so well in their comfortable beds and the kitchen and bathroom were very nice with everything we needed. We would definitely stay at Sunshine Cozy Cottages in the future and we do recommend it to anyone who wants to be close to the beach, but not pay the high price of beach front rentals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is not that far from John's Pass in one direction and Clearwater Beach in the other direction. I hope this property continues for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We decided to rent a cottage this summer for 5 weeks instead of staying in a condo in Clearwater Beach. We were so happy we stayed in the cottages! We stayed in 2 different 2 bedroom cottages and both were awesome. They both stayed very cool with the air conditioners. Both were decorated very nicely. We felt at home. The courtyard is great for grilling, the kids playing, meeting people and then socializing. We met so many great people. Chuck and Denise are both great. They have done so much work to fix these cottages up. It is old Florida and comfy and cozy. We already plan on renting cottage 16 for 2 months next summer. We got so close to another family that they plan on meeting us back there for 4 weeks also. We are also bringing my mother to rent a 1 bedroom next summer for 2 months. So to say these cottages feel like home is the truth! We were there in June & July. It rained almost daily, but there were only a few days that it rained most of the day. Usually it just rained for a bit (usually late afternoon or evening) and cleared up. The beach is just a couple minute walk to get to. And is beautiful! If you have ever rented a newer condo close to Indian Rocks Beach or anywhere on Gulf Blvd you will know that the condos are very expensive! Yes they come with more, and are newer. But I wouldn't go back to one now that we have stayed at Sunshine Cozy Cottages! Being from Minnesota we have spent much time at cabins. We felt so comfortable in these cottages. We cannot wait to return and spend next summer there. I would recommend these cottages to anyone going to vacation in Indian Rocks Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobynL38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I found this quaint community of cottages by asking around to my friends for a less expensive option to the high rise hotels on Clearwater Beach. We live locally and just like to "get away" without the hassle of a long car ride.

Last summer we stayed for two weeks and fell in love with the Sunshine Cozy Cottages! The wooden cabins are sweet and the decor is amazing! The beds are very comfortable, as are the couches and chairs. Plus the air conditioners do a very good job of keeping the house cool in the hot summer, which is a must for me.

This summer we decided to visit twice and have been able to try out two different cabins. Number 6 is our new favorite, having two bedrooms and a perfect table for our board games. We walk across the street to the beach everyday for a swim and play games at night. It's the perfect holiday!

I highly recommend these cabins for anyone who would enjoy an old fashioned wooden cabin with all the modern appliances we've come to depend upon!

Room Tip: We really liked Cabin #6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
818 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gulfside Resorts
Gulfside Resorts
#1 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
218 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
606 reviews
2.6 mi away
Belleair Beach Resort
Belleair Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Belleair Beach
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Cozy Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Cozy Cottages

Property: Sunshine Cozy Cottages
Address: 701 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-2622 (Formerly Uncle Milt's Courtyard Cottages Inc)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Indian Rocks Beach
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunshine Cozy Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our sunny cottages are clean, cozy, and reasonably priced, with modern conveniences such as AC and cable TV. Why stay in a cramped motel room? Instead, come and stay in one of our cute, cottages where you have more privacy and the additional space to stretch out relax. All of our cottages come with fully equipped kitchens ready to cook, saving you money on meals. Each cottage also has a separate living room, bath and bedroom and most cottages have a covered porch and private parking. Sit back and relax on your porch while the kids play in the family friendly courtyard where we have a picnic area with grills and picnic tables for our guests to enjoy. There is also a laundry room on site for your convenience. We are located on the corner of 7th Ave. and Gulf Blvd., just across the street from the beach, with easy access, where you can swim, fish, walk, soak up the sun or just watch the beautiful sunsets. Within a short walk to restaurants, shops, or to bicycle, boat & fishing rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sunshine Cozy Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Cozy Cottages Indian Rocks Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing