We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Way!”
Review of Laughing Lizard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Rocks Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laughing Lizard
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Way!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our two night stay at the Laughing Lizard was supreme! We were greeted graciously by our hosts, Bill and Cindi, enjoyed happy hour with them each night, and fantastic breakfasts. Our room, the Shy Salamander is well appointed, comfortable and serene. We'd stay here again in a heart beat and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Shy Salamander was the one for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our four day stay at the Laughing Lizard B & B could not have been better. Our room, The Shy Salamander, was spacious and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linens and the bathroom with double sinks and a wonderful shower was awesome. We enjoyed our conversations with hosts, Bill and Cindy, in addition to the incredible breakfasts and afternoon wine tasting. A short walk to Guppy's Restaurant and across the street to the beach made this a very convenient place to stay. The Laughing Lizard with its array of delightful lizards throughout was amazing! We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

The B&B is wonderfully located across the street from pristine beaches. Walking distance to great restaurants as well. The owners are friendly and gracious. Wine tasting is enjoyable and breakfasts are delicious! Clean, open home with all the amenities. I would recommend to anyone staying in the area. We went to Clearwater beach for the day and was a short 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

My wife I just spent the weekend in Indian Rocks Beach. We stayed at the Laughing Lizard B&B and loved it. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The B&B was also clean and well decorated. Breakfast was awesome. Beach is a short walk across the street. Nightly wine tasting was a way to meet other guests and hear Bill's stories.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alachuagoulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

What an amazing gem on the beach. Bill and Condition are great host and the rooms are so pristine and whimsical. Very very clean, friendly, great location and an amazing breakfast. Two thumbs up, we will definitely be back and can hardly wait.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tsnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were here for 2 nights for just ourselves at the end of a family celebration in Tampa. We stayed in Shy Salamander and found it relaxing. The shower was great! We enjoyed the wine tasting and conversation with Bill and Cindy,altho' few guests attended. They offer beach amenities of towels, chairs, and umbrellas which was nice. Delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My Husband and I stayed at The Laughing Lizard for one night as a quick get away. The room "Shy Salamander" was spacious and clean as were the grounds. Loved the walk in shower. The afternoon wine tasting had a few children present even though the B&B states no one under 16 years old. We chose to skip it since it was loud and it was kids we were trying to get a break from. Cindy was very nice but we were both turned off by Bill who immediately corrected me on the name of my travel partner (I told him Rob and my Husband said his name was Robert,,,,does it really matter?). The 8:30 breakfast was too early for us and there were no other options so we skipped that too. Our room was directly above the kitchen / dining area and breakfast was loud. I should note from 10:00pm until 7:00am the place was very quiet so if those are your sleeping hours you're in luck. It was a very nice place but we wouldn't stay again. Would rather pay less for a private hotel directly on the beach.

Room Tip: there are NO Gulf views, unless you count a slight strip of ocean in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank goodgrief1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Rocks Beach
5.5 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
806 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Clearwater Beach Marriott Suites on Sand Key
1.6 mi away
Gulfside Resorts
Gulfside Resorts
#1 of 5 in Indian Rocks Beach
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
Sheraton Sand Key Resort
#14 of 98 in Clearwater
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Lizard

Property: Laughing Lizard
Address: 2211 Gulf Blvd, Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785-3823
Region: United States > Florida > Indian Rocks Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Indian Rocks Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laughing Lizard is a laid back, tin-roofed, island inn built in 2005, 400 feet from the beach in Indian Rocks Beach--termed by USA Today as "the best beach town of all." The Laughing Lizard includes three creatively eclectic self catering residential options. 1. The Island Iguana Studio Apartment. Sleeps 4. 550 sf with king bed; double bed futon; walk in shower; sitting area with flat screen TV; wifi; cable; kitchen with full size fridge, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, toaster, dining table, dishes and flatware; washer/dryer; free parking. 2. The Lizard Loft two bedroom two bath apartment. Sleeps 4, 900 sf with queen bed; double bed futon; twin bed futon; full kitchen; dining area; great room with 2 flat screen TVs; wifi; cable; all under 12 foot or vaulted ceilings. Covered parking. 3. The Lizard Lair three bedroom three bath, 3100 sf with large great room, full kitchen, dining and game table, 4 flat screen TVs; wifi; cable; all under 12 foot or vaulted ceilings. Garage parking. Stroll the beach, ride the trolley to wonderful restaurants, parks, etc. then, sip afternoon wine, experience the sunset with the famous "green flash." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Laughing Lizard Hotel Indian Rocks Beach
Laughing Lizard b&b
Laughing Lizard Indian Rocks Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing