We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 708”
Review of Holiday Villas III

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Villas III
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We currently are staying in this unit. Yes several of this complaints are legit, but to imply it is not livable. Really? Furniture was cleaned prior to us arriving. It is a hub for us we have no intention of not leaving it was reasonably clean. light mold on shower curtain. View is beautiful. No bird droppings on balcony. Larry and Derrick are awesome. Pool great. Gulf beach we loved. This was the perfect unit for this middle class family. It would have been 5 stars if the shower curtain was replaced.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We rented Unit #302 for 2 weeks in February. While the decor was a little dated, the unit was clean and comfortable. We overlooked the Gulf and could watch dolphins and sunsets from our balcony. While each unit had a dedicated parking space, some were difficult to use because of the pillars. The office staff was helpful and accommodating.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We need to first commend Larry and Derrick, onsite managers, for making our stay manageable. The condition of this unit is not indicative of the facility or them. This unit shouldn't be lived in by anyone in its present state. The owner (who we understand is elderly, so we have some sympathy for that) should not have this unit on the rental market as it is. Here is an incomplete list of what we lived in for a week: shower curtain mildew; tub mildew; furniture so stained we had to cover with blankets and towels; filthy carpet traffic patterns; no sink drain plugs; deteriorating bedroom furniture; broken bed springs; bird droppings all over the balcony; dirty sink faucets; torn and stained blankets; etc., etc. It is certainly the dirtiest and most run down condo rental we've stayed in for it's price in years. The managers were sympathetic to our complaints, and did everything they could to remedy some of our complaints. But the problem for this unit lies with ownership, and we'd suggest that if ownership can't/won't fix this unit up to a liveable standard, they really should divest themselves of it. The facility itself is nice, people are friendly, it's in a good location. The management is attentive to customer service issues to the extent they have control--but they don't own this unit. Don't stay in unit 708, it's frankly not liveable for a vacation week or two.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A little longer review and in 2 parts but I feel deserving of it.

CONDO CORP.
There is an on site office that is staffed regularly daily (Sunday included) and on check in days they have extended hours. If check in is going to be late, they will accommodate you and in our case, early check in was much appropriated after the long drive.

Parking is limited and are assigned by unit, some are covered, some are by the building and some across the street. Some are tight spots but for the most spots a SUV will fit where as full size pickups may be a concern. Also, Larry and staff will work with you if you have guests with a vehicle.

The heated pool is very nice and positioning is such that in some cases the building cuts the wind so you can sit out in the sun. The pool and furniture is checked, maintained and organized daily and management tries to ensure that seating is not hogged by some at the expense of others (difficult to resolve), BUT, you have a nice beach right by the pool so why sit there like a sardine.

The Condo Corp has commenced renovations this year much to our chagrin but they are necessary, so you should have a newly painted and roofed building now. There is a single older elevator that services the building and it is in constant demand so be prepared to wait or if you can take the stairs, faster and a bit of exercise.

Three pit charcoal BBQ is located on the north side.It is kept clean but would recommend self cleaning the grate and a light is provided for late night cooks.

We have been on the east side facing the street and found that the noise level with traffic is upsetting due to the closeness of the street and the volume (bus route). The west side (gulf side) is the recommended way to go.

All units appear to be the same regarding unit security. The keys are easily duplicated and there is no night latch or secondary security method so a word to the wise, bring your own for peace of mind.

RECOMMENDATION: regardless of the unit you rent, I recommend booking through the office (Larry and staff) because if issues develop that you can not resolve, they will make effort to accommodate but in an owner rental, they can only sympathize and suggest you call the owner.

UNIT 204 (2 bedroom and 2 bathroom)

Located front and centre of the building with great sunset and beach views. Parking is a great spot without access difficulties.

Unit is large and easily accommodates 6 plus for sleeping. Carpeted bedrooms and tile through out which makes it easier to maintain.

Bathrooms are adequate and the water pressure is good but the fan effectiveness to vent steam limited and takes a while (same in other units).

Furniture, as expected in a rental, is used, adequate for the short stay but becomes uncomfortable after a month.

TV and telephone service is great. HD channels are available while the phone is internet based allowing long distance calls without cost but if the internet goes down so does the phone. Basic unplug and plug in had resolved this but in one instance Brighthouse CS assisted in resolving the problem so have a cell phone with you.

New A/C on balcony but effectiveness and noise levels unknown.

Laundry machines are provided (US quarter only and avoid jamming the machine) on each floor. For 204 they are just outside the door so use is easy and there is no noise concerns.

Beds, the all important element in any holiday, have newer mattresses, again okay for the short stay but after a month ... Though the mattresses are newer, (when I don't know) the boxes do not appear to be. The twin boxes in the smaller room squeak at the least amount of movement, disrupting sleep while the main bedroom boxes have that issue at the foot end. Though this issue was prevalent in 2013, ear plugs seemed to minimize this, this year (2014) it was a concern.(This is an owner responsibility and the condo corp can not resolve this).

RECOMMENDATION:
Yes we would certainly return to the building (Larry and staff an important element) and take our chances on another unit but only to the beach side but would return to is unit if the comfort concerns were resolved.

Room Tip: Call the management office and they will help you out. Go for the gulf side and if able, lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted5285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

this is a delayed review due to many health health issues...stayed the whole month of February, 2013...this was our second time, and already have reservations for 2014...we really like this facility, mainly for location, location, location..as mentioned by previous reviewers, the place is a little dated, but is kept in excellent condition...the facility has everything you need...the manager, larry graves goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable...the only negative, and also mentioned by other reviewers, is the women that works part time behind the desk, is not exactly miss personality.

Room Tip: I would suggest renting from their office instead of from private owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waljo12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed at Holiday Villas III over Thanksgiving 2013, which is the same time a winter storm basically blanketed most of the country, and significantly limited travel over the holiday. We were able to beat the storm, but we FROZE our butts-off. Lol...it was 30 - 40 degrees most of the weekend, but we enjoyed ourselves, regardless. The location can't be beat....the building is right on the beach, and we stayed in one of the penthouse units facing the water. The building is slightly dated, but our accomodations were nice and clean. The flat screen tv's in each room were a nice touch and the balcony view was very impressive. Make sure you go to SaltRock Grill, which is about 1/2 mile North on Gulf Blvd. A bit pricey, but some incredibly good seafood and steak. I would have given the place 4 stars, but the people in the next penthouse condo (who seemed to be the owners) acted a bit jaded that we were renting the next-door unit. Not sure if there is a rift between owners, or they just don't like renters.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Holiday Villas III property is located directly on the beach on Gulf Blvd in Indian Shores, FL. The unit we stayed in was #502. It appears that each unit is individually owned. Unit 502 had two bedrooms, one with queen bed and one with two dbls. The unit had two bathrooms and a full size kitchen just off the living room/dinning room. All the cabinets in the unit were new and good quality. There were three flat screen TV's in the unit. Unit 502 overlooks the ocean and has a lani. The Holiday Villas III building was being pained on all exterior surfaces but the interior railings were very rusty. I'm sure the railings were the next to be painted. The pool was clean. No hot tub. The front desk was mostly helpful and friendly except for on middle aged woman that was a little crusty. I told my wife she reminded me of some unhappy JR high and High School teachers I have had. The location is central on Gulf Blvd and while we were there Nov 16 -23, was very quite. Never saw more that 10 people on the entire beach looking North or South.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nielseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, General Manager at Holiday Villas III, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your review of Holiday Villas III. I am sorry that our office staff may have not provided 100% satisfaction. We do make every reasonable attempt to accommodate our guests. The Holiday Villas III building is currently being painted as stated by your review and yes the railings are next on the list. The new paint has prompted many positive comments from our guests and the finished product will be very appealing to all. The fall season is a great time to be here the weather is still amazing and rates are great. Our beachside pool and sundeck are loved by all of our guests. Our pool has 100% full sun all day. Our pool is heated and a new upgraded gas pool heater was just installed last week. The on-site rental office is open 7 days a week to assist you. If you or anyone reading this review should ever have future questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us at the Holiday Villas III on-site rental office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.2 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
619 reviews
1.6 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sand Glo Villas
Sand Glo Villas
#3 of 21 in Indian Shores
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun Burst Inn
Sun Burst Inn
#1 of 1 in Indian Shores
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villas III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villas III

Address: 18610 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Indian Shores
Price Range: £187 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villas III 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY VILLAS III is a great family vacation destination, located directly on the Gulf of Mexico in Indian Shores, Florida. Holiday Villas III offers studio, one, and two bedroom condos facing either the Gulf of Mexico or the Intracoastal Waterway. From our heated beachside swimming pool and sundeck to our private boat dock and fishing pier, you will experience the ultimate vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Villas III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villas Iii Hotel Indian Shores
Holiday Hotel Indian Shores
Holiday Hotel Iii
Holiday Villas III Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing