We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Florida”
Review of Sun Burst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Burst Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Rockmart, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Vintage Florida”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I wanted my grandchildren to experience staying ON the beach, and this little place did it! The room is compact and old school - TV is an upgrade - but the beach is the focus. It was paradise. We had it basically to ourselves. There were floats, buckets, shovels, and chairs for our use - no fee. The staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is tight. If you are looking for luxury - this is probably not it, but for a few days of Old Florida and a perfect beach in just steps - it is the Sun Burst.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haleyssong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
I'm so happy you and the kids had a great time. Who knows, maybe they'll become loyal guests and bring their kids to stay with us. It's all about the memories.

I hope you can come back soon and often!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    60
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
84
88
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Directly on the beach, perfect for watching the gorgeous sunsets off Indian Shores beach. We enjoyed the white sandy beach and warm waters of the Gulf of Mexico just steps from our room. Impeccably clean accommodations with full kitchen and separate bedroom with an original wall fresque done by a local artist and furniture and décor reminiscent of old Florida charm. Perfect place for a getaway to enjoy the beach and simply relax. Friendly hosts and management team attentive to their guests.

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon suite and the view is GREAT- fabulous sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi

Thanks for the great review. I am so glad you had such a good time and hope that you can come back many times in the future!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived late to find the owners waiting for us, We were greeted very warmly, they were extremely friendly and helpful.
The owners thought of everything, provided beach chairs, umbrellas. beach toys., gas grill.
We were just steps from the beach, had an amazing and relaxing time. The room was clean and comfortable, the outside deck was facing the Ocean and the sunset was amazing
The owners were so friendly, will definitely be back.

Room Tip: rooms 20,21, 22. face the beach and were incredible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We always strive hard to make your stay as memorable as possible.

I look forward to your coming back soon!

Michael Marilyn & Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnemede, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived early and were able to check in, we actually were given an upgraded room on the beach!!! We were also able to check out a little later, due to my grandson being extremely hard to wake up in the mornings and 10 am is his usual wake up time. The beach was five minutes from my sister and her and her husband came to visit, took us to dinner at the Salt Rock Grill, which was an easy walk and had Wonderful food!!!! Having the beach right outside your door is heaven to me, and taking my morning tea and watching the water was Awesome!!!! Very clean rooms with very comfortable beds, even the pull out couches. Amy was very helpful, but came across a little unfriendly, or maybe was just having a bad day. All in All I would totally recommend this place and will probably return for a longer visit next time I go to Florida to visit my sister.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room on the second floor with a sea view...we stayed on the bottom, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We always appreciate it when our guests have a good time at our place.

If Amy was a little off while you were here it was probably because of the room #16 renovation not going quite as planned LOL!

We hope you can come back soon!

Michael, Marilyn, Amy & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sun Burst Inn for 5 nights in a one bedroom unit, which also had a living area and small kitchen. We wanted a place that we could walk out our door and be on the beach, and this was it, right on the beach - no more than 10 steps and on the sand! Not a brand new 6 story condo across the street from the beach, but a little, older, perfectly adequate place. Although we did not travel with pets this time, the Sun Burst Inn is pet friendly, and the office staff - Amy - was very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. I hope you can come back often and soon!

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Dale, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The owners, staff & other guests were all very friendly. Pretty much had the beach all to ourselves in the immediate vicinity. Steps from the beach and the hotel allows for travelers to use their beach chairs, umbrellas and beach toys while you are there -- which was great for us since we couldn't bring all of that with us. Elvis greeted us a few times when we were on the patio!! A heron visited our section of the beach about 3 times daily--beautiful creature. All in all---great location, value and people!

My only cons would be parking is tight and the pillows could use updating. They were just way too flat. For other reviewers who have griped about the rooms---i don't know about everyone else, but, I don't typically go to the beach to sit in my room---We only use our room to shower and sleep basically--so for us, it wasn't a problem. We stayed in Room 14---The room was small but clean...and steps from the beach. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassymadreof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
So glad you had a good time. It's all about relaxing when you come visit us on the beach!

Yep, we are tight when it comes to parking, one of the downsides to the old style hotels from the 1940's. Part of it is because they had smaller vehicles back then LOL.

Anyway, I hope you can come back soon and Elvis (The Roof Cat) and Big Bird (Great Heron) say HI also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived very early in the morning, before checkout. We knew our room would not be ready so we couldn't unpack. They gave us beach towels and let us change in the office bathroom and hang out on the beach till our room was ready.

Located right on the beach. The have beach towels you can use as well as chairs, umbrellas, and various sand castle making items for the kid in you! The EFF room we had was still stocked with dishes, small fridge, and hot plate for cooking. Outdoor gas grill is also available for free. Super friendly and helpful staff.

Our room was just renovated and very nice, they even rearranged it so when we pulled out the sofa to a bed we had more room.

Just 5 minute drive North to 5th avenue and several places to eat. 10 minute drive North to Clearwater with all kinds of shopping and restaurants. 15 drive South to St. Pete for more shops and places to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms 20, 21, and 22 are upstairs and have a small deck to sit on and great for sunsets. Little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trenton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrMichaelFlorida, Owner at Sun Burst Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for the great review and we hope you can come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Shores
1.7 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
418 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clearwater Beach South Harbourside
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Clear...
#2 of 4 in Indian Rocks Beach
818 reviews
5.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Resort
Barefoot Beach Resort
#1 of 21 in Indian Shores
605 reviews
2.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Burst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Burst Inn

Property: Sun Burst Inn
Address: 19204 Gulf Blvd, Indian Shores, FL 33785-2113
Region: United States > Florida > Indian Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Burst Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Families & pets are always welcome! We want you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Weddings, renewal of vows and memorials on our beach are welcome. We have had more than one happy event here and, in fact, the owners renewed their vows after over 30 years of marriage. Sun Burst Inn is located in Indian Shores, Florida directly on the beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our hotel is within easy reach of shops, restaurants and all you need for a wonderful vacation experience with a regular bus service at your door step if you need it. Our inn has eleven units, all with either kitchenettes or full kitchens, so it's your choice depending on what you feel you need. All units in our two story beachfront facility are either directly facing the world famous Gulf beaches, or a few steps from the beach. Enjoy Florida at its best the way it used to be: quaint hotels, friendly owners AND with all the modern conveniences. That's what you'll get when you visit The Sun Burst Inn. Pristine white beaches, splashing Gulf waters, and spectacular sunsets. All just steps out your room. Visit us soon and find out what the "real" and "friendly" Florida is all about! Lounge chairs, beach umbrellas, coolers, beach towels & beach toys all supplied with NO RESORT FEE. The Gulf Beach area provides many fun things to do because we are within easy driving range of attractions like Busch Gardens, Clearwater Aquarium (Home of Winter the Dolphin), The Salvador Dali Museum, Lowry Park Zoo and for shopping there's John's Pass Village and the Ellenton Outlet Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sun Burst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Burst Hotel Indian Shores
Sun Burst Inn Indian Shores, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing