We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home.”
Review of The Lake House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lake House
Ranked #1 of 4 Inverness B&B and Inns
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt right at home.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am new to B&B's and if this is any indication of how they are all i am in love with them now. We jus tspend to wonderfull days with Cathy at the Lake house and we felt right at home. I highlight was hearing a soft bark at the door of our room and being greetted by Baby the cutest litle dog you will ever meet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haygar2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crystal river
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were looking for a place to stay while our close friend was home on military leave and The Lake House was absolutely perfect. It was true southern hospitality at it's finest. We've all got plans to stay there when he comes home again. I'd recommend this lovely place to absolutely anyone looking for a getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaylerWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What can't you like about 'old Florida'? Majestic oaks; long rolling lawn to the lake; Florida native plants abound the gardens . Inside, Cathy has taken this 1930's hunting lodge to new heights of elegance. Soaring stone fireplace in the main living area with a wagon wheel chandelier. Many comfortable setees, cushions and 4 large skylights bathe the room with light. Because this home has had many owners and each added a piece, there are many little hallways and rooms tucked here and there each with their own charm. Breakfast was like a family with all homemade, quiche, fresh cinnamon cake, sausage and grits and yogurt fruit. Yummmmm. New screen room and separate room for private parties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSK328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you think you'd enjoy a sumptuous breakfast served by a host with a ready wit after having spent a restful night in a comfortable bed, then give Cathy a call at The Lake House. Cathy's lake side home is a fabulous retreat from a chaotic world, all within easy reach of the charming downtown of historic Inverness, the Withlacoochee Rail-Trail, and Florida's Nature Coast. Like many, you may initially come to simply visit, only to end up hoping and planning a permanent move to this most pleasant regions of west central Florida.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Old Florida style with a great hostess. Property sits right on lake quiet and quaint. Stayed May 23rd till May 26th 2014. You may enjoy a evening boat ride with the hostess. Breakfast is fantastic and always includes fresh fruit!

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs and want a lake view take a upstairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 170Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Another great stay at the Lakehouse at Inverness, FL. Sunset over Lake Henderson was beautiful - Ref sky I'm the morning, sailors warning. Red sky at night, sailors delight. Dinner at the house with Cathy and Debbie. Evening boat ride tomorrow with dinner on the pontoon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DBTraveler4-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is one of the nicest and friendliest places we've ever stayed and we travel a lot. The property is unique, kind of like staying at a European villa. Its especially nice if you're in the area for bike riding. Its a fantastic value and a place you'll remember.

Room Tip: The lake view room is grand, but there all different and great. The common areas are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Conference Center Citrus Hills
2.9 mi away
Central Motel
Central Motel
#1 of 2 in Inverness
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House

Property: The Lake House
Address: 8604 E Gospel Island Rd, Inverness, FL 34450
Region: United States > Florida > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Inverness
The Lake House Inverness, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing