We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great shrimp tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TacoLu

TacoLu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great shrimp tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Tried the carne Masada, carnitas, and Bang Bang shrimp taco. By far the best were the bang bang shrimp. Margaritas are a perfect compliment to the spicy shrimp or try them with the mezcalita. I think these are the best in Jacksonville (we stopped here for drinks and tacos 3 days in a row!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    184
    68
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tacos worth a 30 minute wait?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The entirety of Jax Beach and maybe even Jacksonville loves TacoLu. This means you will absolutely wait at the very least 30 minutes and this at any given time. The "cool" thing about the wait is their technology and they text you when your table is ready. So plan on sitting out on the benches and listening to Adventure Landing go carts screaming around the track 10 feet away. Also hope you have legit cell service and your ringer high is on so you don't miss your table text. (Screaming go carts)

Now the tacos. They are delicious. The fish tacos may just about be worth waiting for if when I got them, the tortilla wasn't soaked an split through. I love tacos, taco salad not so much.

The street corn is great. The queso is excellent. The prices cannot be beat and is probably the most surprising thing about eating there. The service is what you would expect from a beach restaurant/shack/log cabin. Lots of charming attitude.

Do not let your kid order the Harry's queso crunch. Unless they like a pile of chips, some drippy queso cheese surrounded by the tiniest tortilla in the kitchen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They're just tacos, people!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I'm not a hater or anything, but I just don't get what all the fuss is about! It's always insanely packed so I thought I had to try it. We waited half an hour for a table alone. The tacos start at $3 for a little baby taco and, yes, they are good, but they're just tacos! The place has a fun atmosphere which is why people go, but I think it's overrated. If long waits and okay food are your thing then this is the place for you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food reasonable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Food was good, drinks were weak. Ww had a party of 4 and had to wait 30 minutes to be seated and 15 minutes before our server came to take our order

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A vibrant place to enjoy some amazing and creative tacos with friends. Their drink menu is a hit also! Not to be missed in Jacksonville Beach!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TacoLu also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to TacoLu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing