We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tacos!”
Review of TacoLu

TacoLu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Arab, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent tacos!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went twice while in Jacksonville. Very good brisket and carnitas. Shrimp tacos is my favorite! Good salsa and chips! The shrimp has a very good sweet and spicy sauce. We also had the street corn, not a bad product. I think on the cob is better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    187
    75
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awesome take on tacos”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Great fresh and original tacos. The vibe of the place and atmosphere are really cool and laid back. Not your standard taco. I had the brisket taco and a bangin shrimp taco. Both were very very good. So good I wanted to go back 2 nights in a row!

Helpful?
Thank cdc101379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good Mexican Cuisine”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great place for Mexican food. Good drink menu as well. I had the avocado tacos with tuna on top. Awesome!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank elwood1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great shrimp tacos”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Tried the carne Masada, carnitas, and Bang Bang shrimp taco. By far the best were the bang bang shrimp. Margaritas are a perfect compliment to the spicy shrimp or try them with the mezcalita. I think these are the best in Jacksonville (we stopped here for drinks and tacos 3 days in a row!)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tacos worth a 30 minute wait?”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The entirety of Jax Beach and maybe even Jacksonville loves TacoLu. This means you will absolutely wait at the very least 30 minutes and this at any given time. The "cool" thing about the wait is their technology and they text you when your table is ready. So plan on sitting out on the benches and listening to Adventure Landing go carts screaming around the track 10 feet away. Also hope you have legit cell service and your ringer high is on so you don't miss your table text. (Screaming go carts)

Now the tacos. They are delicious. The fish tacos may just about be worth waiting for if when I got them, the tortilla wasn't soaked an split through. I love tacos, taco salad not so much.

The street corn is great. The queso is excellent. The prices cannot be beat and is probably the most surprising thing about eating there. The service is what you would expect from a beach restaurant/shack/log cabin. Lots of charming attitude.

Do not let your kid order the Harry's queso crunch. Unless they like a pile of chips, some drippy queso cheese surrounded by the tiniest tortilla in the kitchen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TacoLu also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to TacoLu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing