We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TacoLu

TacoLu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Late night dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't get there until around 8:00 PM on a Wednesday night and there was still a 20 minute wait so we sat at the next open high top in the bar area.
The wall behind the bar is full of different bottles of tequila, vey nice variety.
The choices of tacos is quite impressive. Since I had never had fish tacos I figured this was the place to give it try; I was not disappointed.
I don't know when I will get back to Jacksonville but when I do this is a must stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    182
    67
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rita, Guam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crazy/Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

When we first walked in the door, I debated whether we made the right choice for lunch that afternoon. The place was packed and we couldn't even get through the door to request for a table. After a little bit of patience, we were seated and finally understood the utter insanity that made this restaurant a fire hazard: a World Cup match. The staff managed the crowd with ease and soon, it had dispersed.

Our server (I forgot to get his name), was wonderful. He apologized for the wait and was extremely helpful when we had loaded him with a ton of questions.

The food was great! I had the stacked enchiladas and the Mexican street corn. It was a fresh, interesting take on the typical Mexican food.

Sure, our meal was punctuated by random yelling by soccer fans, but it added to the excitement that was lunch at TacoLu's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great tacos!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Funky eclectic atmosphere followed by some amazing taco choices, great chips and salsa and guacamole. Service was excellent, Thanks Lizzy!!! And for your recommendation of the Carne Royale taco, so good we ate 2 and then ordered another!!!

Helpful?
Thank Tmorrison70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“With grapes???!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great place! !!! Never imagined that a taco with grapes would be so delicious! !!!!!! We are from Orlando, Fl and this is definitely a place to return to.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isramilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We've heard so many great things about TacoLu and finally had the chance to try it. So glad we did! We timed it perfectly and arrived just before noon on Sunday. We didn't have to wait at all and had a great table on the deck. The salmon taco and red snapper taco (both specials today) were our faves. The guacamole was fine, but not amazing or worth $5.99 for a tiny bowl. Our server was very helpful and attentive. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mandaringirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TacoLu also viewed

Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to TacoLu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing