We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Marina Hotel

Casa Marina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Had lunch there yesterday & it was great....on the beach...this place has been around for a long time...not sure why it wasn't on your website.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Tried the brunch for he first time and we're very pleased. Unlike some other reviews, we were seated immediately (called ahead to reserve) and were promptly treated to the first of several mimosas and champagne. All the food was good. Especially enjoyed the pork with sundried tomato cream sauce, the shrimp salad with dill and of the peel and eat shrimp were to die for - big and very fresh. Prime rib was great too. Hubby had to wait a while for his omelet, but it was delicious. Only bad dish, unfortunately, was the whole snapper. It looked beautiful, and I was lucky to be standing there when they brought out a new one, but it was very dry. Desserts are to die for, especially the chocolate mousse. Great location to go for a walk after meal to work off some of the calories. Nice little hotel with interesting history. Will definitely return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    15
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ok, but overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Went here for Sunday brunch with the wife. Waited about 20 mins. after our 12 o'clock "reserved" time to be seated. The dining room is one large room with food tables set up in the middle. If you're looking for any privacy, this isn't the place. The prime rib and the large shrimp were awesome, while the fish was OK but not hot (or even warm). They put out on the table a whole cooked fish, and you just have to pick off the "meat." Unless you get to it soon after they bring it out, it gets to room temperature quickly. There were lots of decent breakfast foods, and an awesome dessert table too. I guess the high price is because of the prime rib and shrimp, because if you take away those two items, you're way better off just going to a Golden Corral or similar, where they have many more choices, and at less than half the price of this place. We went in January and sat inside, so I guess if we would have gone when the temps were in the 70s or low 80s, we could have enjoyed the oceanfront setting, which I'm sure is part of the reason for the high price

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went to Sunday brunch yesterday, and it was like a mixture of very good and awful at the same time... The breakfast "staples" (bacon, homefries, sausage) were good, the grits were excellent, and the carving station (roast beef) was awesome. The fish florentine was very tasty as was the different 'salads' and shrimp.

There were however detractions: The eggs Benedict had been sitting out way too long and should have been removed. Unfortunately there was only one server working the carving/omelette station--and he was overwhelmed (my omelette was terribly overcooked). I was really looking forward to the whole snapper--which unfortunately had been sitting out for a long time--and never got replaced the whole time we were there.

The desserts were great--chocolate fondue (marshmallows and fresh strawberries), cheese cakes, peach cobbler, and apple pie...

I also have to mention the service--which was outstanding--our glasses (water, coffee, soda and mimosa/poinsetta/champagne) never emptied without being immediately refilled.

Even considering the free alcohol and beverages, overall I'd have to say I was disappointed--especially for $26.95/person.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very dissapointing Thanksgiving Dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just got home from the $100.00 ( $38.00 per person plus drinks) , Thanksgiving buffet..
1) Staff was excellent.
2) Food was cold, average tasting, and very ill presented.. Golden Corral does a better job. The cranberry sauce was canned!! Breakfast potato's cold, Stuffing tasted like stove top etc....
3) Set up was bad. Had to walk into other peoples tables to get to the other side of the buffet.
4) Sat next to a table doing shots, having bud lights in their camouflage Florida Gator hats

Overall experience was bad. Feel ripped off. Don't waste your hard earned money there

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rooftop Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I have only eaten and had drinks at the rooftop bar which has terrific martinis...Happy Hour every afternoon when martinis are $5. The bar staff are friendly and attentive and the tapas are very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KVC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Marina Hotel also viewed

 
Jacksonville Beach, FL
Jacksonville Beach, FL
 

Been to Casa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing